We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a 3 star at best, but the only hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maybe a 3 star at best, but the only hotel in town”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This place is okay considering that most of the people that come here stay at their own vacation homes or with friends. That's no doubt the reason this is the only hotel of any size in Paul do Mar. It's at the very west end of town but you can walk the entire town in 15 minutes so the location isn't a problem. The air conditioning worked poorly like a lot of small European hotels, and as Paul do Mar is one of the warmest villages on Madeira you will need aircon in the summer months. The breakfast is nothing to rave about but suitable. If you like to hike there is a trail across the parking lot that zig-zags up about 1500 feet to the top of the cliff where the view is sensational.

The hotel is clean and most of the young staff can speak four or five languages. If you want to swim in the ocean there is a small pier just down the street. Sunsets from the hotel are wonderful especially from a grass patio on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    73
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
60
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We had a great holiday in Hotel Paul do Mar.
Lovely weather, the serviçe was excellent , waking up with the silence of the waves was so relaxing.
Had a wonderful experience in the lovely spa wow !!! I HAVE NO WORDS!!!!!

For sure it will be recommended to my friends and family, thinking of returning very soon.

Keep up the good work.

Maggy

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggy312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpaul, Gerente geral at Aparthotel Paul do Mar, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Good Afternoon Mrs Maggy
We are glad that have you enjoyed staying at our Hotel, we now have new services, like billard and wireless.
We are hopping to see you soon.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We went for a weekend dedicated to peace. The hotel is very quiet, peaceful and sunny.
However it need of some works, and a little more attention in public areas. I made a request to the hotel at time of reservation to have a double bed and was not given, nor joined the beds.
The Turkish bath is abandoned, is not in good condition and not say how to use it.
The bathroom also needs urgent a work.
Staff friendly and very attentive to your general and even the nightauditor.
Perhaps one day we will return, but no doubt prefer to go if the hotel was under other conditions .

P.S: Wirless its not available. However they have a computer in the reception with internet but to expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrisAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paul do Mar hotels

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

After a few days at the bright whitewashed Royal Orchid in bustling Canico we found both this hotel and its location a bit disappointing. Paul do Mar village has an ends of the earth feel to it, with enough bad development and sluminess ( e.g from our hotel window we could see a rusty bed frame perched on the flat roof of a nearby shanty home) to preclude a sense of escape to the wilderness. The hotel's decor was reminiscent of the heyday of communism architecture with heavy red stone and sickly pale render on the outside competing for grimness with 1970s cubic furniture and dark wall and floors inside. The rooms were decorated in a similar style, with a shabby seen better days theme going on here too. Trimmings were down to bare minimum. If you plan to self cater here (these rooms boast a kitchenette) then do by all means bring the kitchen sink with you - or at least every single piece of equipment you might need as precious little is supplied. There is a 2 ring electric hob and a microwave. Oh, and do bring your own dishwash.ing liquid. Soap seemed on strictest rations. 'Eco friendly' (Eco', as in economy measure for the hotel) dispensers were in the bathrooms but they were either empty, broken or both and were not refilled/repaired by the maid during our 3 night stay despite lying empty and forlorn by our
basin. The pool was good (inside is heated outside not) and the view from the rooms over the ocean was superb. We even spotted whales spouting in the distance on our first night. Shame about the chain smokers in the balcony below though...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Not really a 4 star place, more like 2 star.
Very dated appearance; looked as iof it had been built in the 1970s and then had not had any money spent on it since that time. Lots of mould in the bathroom. Beds very hard.
Breakfasts were very good with lots of food and choice.
Would not go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilIrelandSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The hotel has big rooms, with big bed and a very nice view over the ocean. I don't know if at the lower floors you have the best view, but at the 3th floor it was beautiful. The food is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

At the end of road of the small town of Paul Do Mar, a quiet village along the southern coast, you will find Paul Do Mar Aparthotel. A place for quiet surroundings and peace of mind.

The hotel with it's rooms and facilities are all beyond satisfactory. Clean and nice rooms with a lovely ocean view. The kitchen can be a really nice money saver if you enjoy preparing own meals.

The hotel has it's own restaurant wich also serves the morning breakfast. The breakfast buffét is very satisfying. As for the Ala Carte' and Dinner buffet the dissapointment is big. Arriving at the hotel we chose to have our dinner at the restaurant. Without having any real expectations except fresh and tasty food we were in for a real doosy. My table ordering only meat, we were surprised by the chef. The amount of garlic used was horrific. Lamb Chops drenched in garlic didnt taste much different than the Beef Espetada. The mixed salad starter was just as bad. Nothing fresh about it at all, salad could have been prepared the day before.
As for the dinner buffét, a New Year's Eve Special, it was outrageous. Dry and chewy pork steaks, texture less fish and boring, soft and wet sidedishes. Even the desserts we're a dissapointment.

As for the service from the hotel and restaurant staff it is nothing bad to say. Happy and Helpful sums it up.



Without a car you will be stuck near close levada walks, hekkuva surf spot and the quiet village of Paul Do' Mar.

The serene sounds of the ocean and beautiful scenery are anyhow a certain winner.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cuisine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paul do Mar
5.1 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
4.8 mi away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
#55 of 156 in Madeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Paul do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Property: Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Address: Avenida Pescadores Paulenses 168, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-545, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Paul do Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Paul do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ApartHotel Paul do Mar, situated in the picturesque and tranquil village of Paul do Mar is a very special hotel, ideal for those who want to feel the real Madeira. With such a wonderful setting, the building of Hotel Paul do Mar was carefully designed. It's a lovely hotel just a stone's throw from the sea and next to the Nature Park. It is a perfect place to find yourself in harmony with nature, surrounded by the most spectacular cliffs and sea views. Hotel Paul do Mar enjoys one of the most impressive locations in Madeira. It is located at the base of a cliff on a gentle slope towards the sea in the quiet village of Paul do Mar... Quiet but lively with several local restaurants and bars, a small supermarket and a pleasant promenade by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Paul do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Hotel Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing