We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Fairbury, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

All of the previous reviews stating uncleanliness are TRUE!!!! This place is DIRTY! The carpeting is so nasty I wore my shoes always. The bedspread had a cigarette burn. The chair in the room had a huge stain. When i brought this all up to the manager upon check out, he just brushed it off and said he had carpet samples in the back. From reading the previous posts, he must be having a hard time making up his mind. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    21
    24
    31
See reviews for
56
14
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

never stay here! this place is a grade F dump! the comfort inn and suites on reed springs pkwy in carbondale, IL is the nastiest hotel i've ever seen and/or slept in (and i've stayed in plenty). the carpet in the halls and rooms was so visibly old and dirty, that we did not dare walk anywhere without shoes. the one and only time i did, i practically had to peel my feet off the sticky, filthy carpet. the bedding was filthy, as well - dirty, off-white sheets and torn and repulsive comforters.

it is also situated on the shady edge of town and conveniently located to nothing desirable in carbondale. we did not feel safe parking our newish car in the parking lot and did not dare venture outside after dark.

with a rate of $80+/night i expected a much, much cleaner and safer place than this hovel. so do yourself a favor and find different lodging, if you ever are forced to stay in carbondale(a dump of a town in its on right), unless you like staying on the edge of the hood, nasty and dated carpet and bedding and being overcharged for a very substandard room.

and to those who wrote positive reviews about the comfort inn and suites of carbondale - thanks for nothing. i suggest you get out and travel more to find out what an acceptable hotel really is. because this place is far from ok and doesn't deserve even a 1-star rating, as far as i'm concerned.

once again, never book a room at the comfort inn and suites in carbondale, IL, you will regret it upon arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank looped2367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carbondale hotels

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here when visiting some friends at Southern Illinois University. The guy at the front desk was talking to a buddy when I arrived to check in and acted like I inconvenienced him in some way by making him do his job. The room was okay but nothing that great. The breakfast was average at best. This place is very overpriced for what you get find other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunder31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Rooms and common areas are clean; breakfast is marginal.... but be careful about trying to book a room on a football or parent weekend; the usual $106 price is triple! Not worth $300+/night when barely a continental breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The carpet in the halls and some of the rooms were dirty. Room 315 had a puddle of water on the floor under the air conditioner on Friday night. On Saturday night, it was given to another family member. NOT FIXED. The elevator did not work Friday night. was fixed after about 2hrs., but on Monday morning the call light wasn't working on the 3rd floor. Someone had to go down and ride the elevator back up. A whole string of lights were out in the breakfast room. Saturday a family member was given a dirty room. It was changed. We complained someone came and replaced 2 of the lights. The pool area was the worst. I wouldn't allow my grandkids to swim. The stench of clorine burned your nose. There appeared to be mold on the wall. Pool & hot tub dirty. Kid at desk great

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The carpet was filthy in the hallway, but was worse in the rooms. It was stained, worn, and sticky. The toilet in the bathroom was not clean. The hotel was sold out for move in weekend at SIU as we're the other hotels in the area. We had come to associate the Comfort Inns as being a great value for the money, but at $110.00 for the night, not so much. Oh yes, we only had one complete set of towels and when we requested another two sets, we only got two bath towels.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can until they update this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ree12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was typical breakfast food. Cereal, muffins and juice and yogurt. The only downfall was the carpeting in the hallways really needs to be replaced! We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deenakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Carbondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Carbondale

Property: Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Address: 2400 N Reed Station Rd, Carbondale, IL 62901-7200 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Carbondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Carbondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Comfort Inn And Suites Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing