We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roger Bloss, CEO needs to Audit this Blight at Carbondale!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lobby door propped open with rock as the door handle was missing. The check-in attendant was pleasant. We inquired about breakfast and was advised in AM between 7 and 11, in the lobby. The 'manager'(?) came from the back room to say that the control for the AC was on the wall. There appeared to be only 1 other vehicle in the whole parking lot. Although there was a pan-handler who just happened to be walking by as we parked. Room was in an uncomfortable state of disarray...as if someone(s) had just vacated the room and left the bed in shambles. AC was not on at arrival and took a long time to cool down the room. The TV did work and there was hot water. Yes the tub was chipped, but it held water. Tub grout was moldy and blackened at spots.Toilet wanted to overflow from the get-go. Beat Tired, we slept as best we could.
In morning(7 am), went to lobby for breakfast. Door locked. No one there and No Breakfast as was promised. Went back to room to pack and was locked out of room. Pounding on several 'staff only' doors and lobby windows finally got a response and a new key. We packed and vowed to "NOT BE FOOLED AGAIN." Wickedly poor, Mr Bloss, for hometown experience and personalized service. <Forwarding review to Mr Bloss and to his Guest Relations staff>

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel in area are a preferred choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alice_on_a_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place needs to be shut down. It's not motel but a crack house. While walking to our "suite" we passed an open room and it looked like something that would be on Hoarders! There was garbage literally piled to the ceiling. Our "suite" want much better. The placed reeked of urine, a tweeker asked my 16 year old for rolling papers, there were dead roaches lying around and I couldn't tell if it was feces or blood stains on the bathroom walls but didn't stay to find out. Got my money refunded and high tailed it outta there!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crabbyoldfatbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was looking for a hotel, coming from Chicago to take my son for his New Student Orientation at SIU. I booked this room on their website based on its affordability and closeness to SIU. 1. They did not have my reservation. 2. The room still had someone else's belongings in it and some mouse droppings in there.
3. The unsavory hotel clientele, that apparently lived there, were not real quiet and also had a dog locked in what sounded like one of the bathrooms.
4. There was one single blanket for the bed (no sheet, except the fitted) and I was unsure if that blanket had been washed since being used recently.
5. My face and my son's face (both which are normally pretty clear) had terrible break outs of zits from using the pillows!
I am a skin therapist, this is caused from bacteria ridden pillows and linens. This place was disgusting!!! They offered a continental breakfast the next morning, my son and I didn't even want to look out of fear.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelakelly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My family and I got back yesterday from this place. When I say it was horrible, that's an understatement. The outside itself will scare you off, but the inside is much worse. The walls were stained. The sheets were filthy. And the shower... I had to wear my flip flops IN THE SHOWER. The "white" towels were literally black. When we went up the stairs to our room, a pile of garage and a pissy carpet greeted us. I would've rather slept in our car. An inspector seriously needs to go and shut this place down.

Room Tip: Rooms outside are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miracle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place was DISGUSTING, and that's putting it mildly. Now, I understand why they were the ONLY hotel in the area with a room available during graduation. The concrete floors on the landing for the second floor was covered in urine. The room was filthy. I walked in, walked through, and immediately returned my keycard to the Bates Motel-like innkeeper, telling him that the room was filthy and there was no way I could stay there. Needless to say, his response was "OK." Do yourself a favor and stay far away!!!! GROSS!!!! They want to charge me for the room because they couldn't find anyone else to take the room. BULL!!! They couldn't give that room away for free. Needless to say, there is no way that AmEx will require that I pay for this room. Charge dispute coming. . . love AmEx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momof2boys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is indescribably HORRIBLE! So much so that had I not arrived at 3 in the morning there is no way in hell I would have stayed here! This has to be the nastiest place that has ever put up a sign and charged people to stay. I found out from a family member that one of the rooms on her side has police tape and a no trespass sign on the door because the room had been used as a Meth Lab!

The sheets and bed covering (no way could you call that thing a comforter) were absolutely FILTHY. They were some sort of gray dingy color and had stains AND holes and smelled really bad. It was so was bad that I slept in my clothes in the chair that was only slightly cleaner. I could not, would not under any circumstance use the tub to shower, I really didn't want to use the toilet but I had to. Fortunately I had my own towel to wash up with, I didn't trust theirs.

Free is too much to pay for this place! Do yourself a favor and DO NO STAY HERE. A park bench in Central Park at night would be a better alternative! I was able to save two families from this hellish place when I was at front desk getting info on the owner and I hope you will take this review to heart and GO ANYWHERE OTHER THAN HERE!!!

I gave this place one star because it is the only I can submit this review!

Room Tip: Go to a different place! Free is too much to pay to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place is awful. It is dirty, the beds are stained, and the bathrooms are gross. The "fan" in the bathroom recycled air back into the room. The TV didn't work--no remote. The pillows, well, let's just say I wouldn't sleep on them. You would be better off sleeping in a tent.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Ndubld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Carbondale
19 reviews
13.4 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#5 of 15 in Marion
674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
422 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Carbondale
Super 8 Carbondale
#3 of 9 in Carbondale
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale

Address: 700 E Main St, I-57 at SR 13 West, Exit #54-A, Carbondale, IL 62901-3107 (Formerly Motel 6 Carbondale)
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range: £44 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing