We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stopped late without a reservation, the front desk was welcoming, was very helpful and very accommodating. My room was clean and very comfortable. When checking out the bill was not under the door but again, the front desk could not have been more helpful in my check out. A very good experience for a weary traveller. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchell2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear guest:

I'm thrilled to see your enjoyed your stay at our property! Thank you for your compliments on our front desk and housekeeping staff. I will be sure to pass your comments along to both departments. I'm glad to hear my staff took care of all your needs and gave you a great experience after a long drive. We look forward to seeing you return!

Sincerely,
Matthew Graham
AGM, HI of Carbondale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    41
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
58
18
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The front desk staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a whirlpool room, which was a bit of a disappointment. The whirlpool isn't in the bathroom; it is in the room about ten feet from the bed and five feet from the TV. One person couldn't watch TV while the other was in the tub. It was too noisy. This HI doesn't have a free breakfast. You get a $4 coupon for breakfast at the restaurant that is in the same building. We stayed on a Saturday night and the restaurant closes for Sunday breakfast at 10:00 AM. So no breakfast if you sleep in.

Overall,not bad. But it could have been better.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the whirlpool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchell2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your feedback concerning our property. I love hearing that you enjoyed our friendly staff & clean accommodations! I do apologize that the whirlpool tub in your room did not live up to your expectations, and I will forward your comments to the head of our maintenance department for review. We strive to offer the best breakfast options available to our guests and complimentary breakfast choices are available Monday-Friday at our hotel's attached restaurant.

We would love to see you again if you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Matthew Graham
AGM, HI of Carbondale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Overall I was impressed with this Holiday Inn in Carbondale, IL. The hotel was built in 2006 making it one of the newer hotels in the area. The lobby is spacious with high ceilings and marble floors. Check-in was quick and easy. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds were quite comfortable with soft bedding and nice pillows. The bathroom was clean and updated. This hotel was very well maintained and exceptionally clean. Based on some of the other hotels I saw in Carbondale this seemed to be the best in the area.

The room included free wifi and cable television. The cable t.v. was actually kind of difficult to navigate due to several channels that didn't work. Management should probably work on setting up the t.v properly to eliminate channels that don't get a proper signal, but overall this was a minor issue. The staff was generally friendly and I didn't have any real complaints. The hotel includes an indoor pool and very small workout area. I felt the room was reasonably priced given the accommodations. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoehr-Grenzhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed with 5 other guys on a BBQ tour through some states for 3 days.
The Hotel seems to be very new and so we had nothing to complain.
The staff was very friendly, the rooms were well cleaned and the beds were comfortable.
Will stay this year again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avr4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

While the room was nice and smelled "clean" but not "perfumed", the bed VERY comfortable and the desk staff friendly and helpful, I was disappointed by several aspects of our stay. The room was very noisy, Every person passing in the hall talking in more than a whisper was heard. The toilets flushed using a vacuum system and every time a neighbor or upstairs room flushed, it sounded like the Jolly Green Giant was using the room as a bowling alley. Movement from upstairs room was heard through the floor/ceiling. The heater in the room worked well, but there was no "fan" option on the heat/cooling system. Housekeeping was diligent about making the bed and changing the towels every day, but during our three day stay, the room was not vacuumed (crumbs from a midnight snack the first night were still there when we checked out) and the floor in the bathroom was never swept/mopped (I have long hair and it's very obvious on the floor). Good choice of TV channels, but no TV listing or TV guide channel so to find programming required channel surfing. The restaurant attached to the hotel, Houlihan's, was great. Breakfast was prepared quickly and served hot, and the dinner choices were varied and tasty. Prime rib is available after 5 pm but not listed on the menu. Golden Corral restaurant withing walking distance, but other eateries were several blocks/miles away. When I visit this area again, I will check out other hotels before booking at this Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, I assume less noise from toilet flush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear MikiG,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is really nice to know that you found the bed very comfortable. However, we are sincerely sorry for the issues you had especially with the noise and some other aspects during your stay. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with my husband who had a meeting at SIU.
The hotel was good, as to be expected from Holiday Inn. The front desk staff was exceptional. Very professional and attentive to our needs. The location is not the best unless you have a car. Their are shopping centers within a few mils with many stores.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

About the only drawbacks I can come up with are...adjoining rooms are nice when booking two rooms (we always do, required with +3 children)...and did they miss the memo about complimentary breakfast now being the standard expectation?
Who really wants to go sit in a sub-par hotel restaurant for a mediocre buffet, slow service, and pay for beverages/fruit?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateParticipant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.4 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
10.7 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Address: 2300 N Reed Station Rd, Carbondale, IL 62901-7117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. We have received Holiday Inn's Service Excellence and Torchbearer Awards. Guests appreciate how our corporate atmosphere makes comfort and convenience a top priority. We are just 5 miles from Southern Illinois University and are located 12 miles from I-57. We offer the finest in upscale hotel services in all of Southern Illinois. Relax, It s Holiday Inn. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or unwind in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our business center. Houlihan's serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, where Kids Eat Free. Houlihan's is perfect for dining or for watching your favorite sporting event.Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Carbondale the Southern Illinois elite meeting venue. Our meeting planner coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for all your conference and banquet needs. Businesses near hotel: SIU, Carbondale Memorial Hospital, Comprehensive Center, Carbondale Clinic. Near hotel: Shryock Auditorium, Race to Race, DuQuoin Fairgrounds, Giant City Park, The Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. Everything you expect, and a whole lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Carbondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing