We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best you will find in Carbondale...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably the best you will find in Carbondale...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Overall, a clean hotel with comfy beds, just not the 4 and 5 star hotels that I am used to staying in. Staff was friendly, bathrooms have been updated. My room had a funky smell to it though...
The king bedroom was huge with a lot of empty space! A rather noisy place - I thought there was storm during the night, but it was the old style window heating/cooling units. Attached restaurant was good. If I had to return to the area, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_HICarbondale, Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Mary,
Firstly I would like to apologize our property was even a little bit noisy. I had maintenance take a look at the A/C units in the rooms and do maintenance as needed. I am very glad you found the rooms clean and our staff friendly, we strive to provide an excellent service environment for all our guests. Let us know next time you are in the Carbondale area and we will be happy to accomadate you again.
Jane Kearney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    40
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
58
18
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I'm used to a clean house and nice bed. So I appreciated the nice mattress for my aching back. And walking in to clean smelling room. The staff was delightful. I appreciated the nice mattress for my aching back. The staff was helpful and delightful. I was well
pleased with my stay. Nice seafood restaurant attached. Also a free breakfast. I assumed a three star had a hot tub but they just had small indoor pool. Cold :-((( yikes. My assumption and no big deal. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_brothersinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_HICarbondale, Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind words. I am so happy that you took notice of our dedication to cleanliness here at the Holiday Inn Carbondale. I'm sorry we didn't have a hot tub for you but am more than delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining at Boondock's. Every day we work hard to ensure that our guests feel appreciated and well taken care of and your review is evidence that it is paying off.
Jane Kearney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

In town for business, great hotel, comfortable, clean, nice location. I see others complaining about the lack of a breakfast, but there are plenty of options nearby for a breakfast. if you are staying in the area, it is a great option for that stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsf80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_HICarbondale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Bsf80,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoy staying at our property and look forward to your next visit.
Jane Kearney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was in the area for business. The hotel is near the local mall and multiple restaurants. I didn't realize that this was not an Express until I checked in so they did not have the typical free continental breakfast but they do have an adjoining restaurant. If you have status, you are given vouchers for a free breakfast meal. I did not eat at the restaurant. The room was large and included a microwave and small refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. This hotel sits back from the main road and my room faced the back of the hotel so I had no road noise. The business office was very clean, well supplied and the PCs/printers worked with no issue. I did get disconnected from the internet multiple times in my room one evening and when I checked wth the front desk they told me they would re-set the router but had no other customers reporting an issue. I did have another small issue with my room during my stay but it was very quickly addressed by management. If in the area again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the back of the hotel for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_HICarbondale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear FENTON64, Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to try out Boondocks our attached restaurant. They've been working hard over there to bring great food to all our guests. I'm glad to hear any issue with the room was quickly addressed and have also spoken with our wireless internet provider and had them fix the internet dropping out. We look forward to your next visit.
Jane Kearney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

VERY upset with this hotel! I booked (via Hotels.com) a room for 2 nights so that my husband and I could visit our son at SIU. It clearly indicated the rate INCLUDED breakfast, which is the ENTIRE reason I booked this hotel. The first morning we were there I called the Front Desk and asked how we went about getting our FREE BREAKFAST-that was included and was told "Sorry, that is only during the week". I told them it WAS clearly included in my rate when I booked as well as when the room was confirmed. The answer I received was "We have NO control over what Hotels.com puts on their site"!!! That is the most ridiculous answer I could of ever imagined. And basically I was told that there was nothing they were willing to do about it. Rude, rude, rude. PLEASE-do yourself a favor and find a cheaper hotel where you can't hear the toilet's flushing all through the hotel and who stands by their "advertised rate"

Room Tip: You can hear toilets flushing all night long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank puckhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_HICarbondale, Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Puckhead,
I am appalled to hear we did not take care of you for breakfast. I have personally called Hotels.com to have them update their website to accurately show our breakfast offerings. We do offer complimentary breakfast items during the week, or four dollars off menu items. On the weekends we offer the four dollar off coupons to members of IHG rewards, our loyalty program. I agree that it is ridiculous that we didn’t stand by what was advertised on Hotels.com’s website and assure you that this has been addressed with our staff. Next time you come to visit your son in Carbondale and choose to stay with us, let us know and this time breakfast is on us.
Jane Kearney
General Manager
Holiday Inn Carbondale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

New carpet and very clean.

This holiday inn is spacious and has new carpet and decor in the common areas and hotel rooms. I have seen my share of the -nice lobby but old rooms - hotels, but this is not it. Very clean.

The guest room I had was a double bed - and it also had a chair in the room. The bathroom could have been a bit larger, but it was clean and had newer linens, and the standard toiletries.

The wi-fi was average.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that had a sea food theme. The hotel gives you a coupon for your breakfast - and you enjoy the complimentary breakfast there. It was above average. You can order from the menu that they have also.

Nice stay and nice attention to detail.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had a reservation (with a confirmation number) for a 2 queen beds nonsmoking room. My son and I checked in about 45 minutes before a reception at Southern Illinois University with the plan to go up to our room change into our dress clothes and leave in plenty of time for the reception (we drove 4 1/2 hours to get there). When we got to our room it was a King Smoking room. We went right back down to the desk and let them know their mistake. They did some searching and informed me they must have overbooked, and that was the only room they had left. I told them we are non-smokers and there was no way I could stay in a smoking room (it had smelled AWFUL!!) By now we were running extremely behind and still needed to change our clothes for the reception at SIU. They said there were rooms available in the Marion Holiday Inn if we wanted to call a make a reservation there and they would not charge us for our room in Carbondale (DUHHHHH!! Really??). I asked them where we could change our clothes and could they make the reservation for us as we were now running late. My son and I had to change into our dress clothes in there public bathrooms. What an awful experience, the worst I've ever had!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmj283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear tmj283,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
10.7 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
10.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Address: 2300 N Reed Station Rd, Carbondale, IL 62901-7117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. We have received Holiday Inn's Service Excellence and Torchbearer Awards. Guests appreciate how our corporate atmosphere makes comfort and convenience a top priority. We are just 5 miles from Southern Illinois University and are located 12 miles from I-57. We offer the finest in upscale hotel services in all of Southern Illinois. Relax, It s Holiday Inn. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or unwind in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our business center. Houlihan's serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, where Kids Eat Free. Houlihan's is perfect for dining or for watching your favorite sporting event.Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Carbondale the Southern Illinois elite meeting venue. Our meeting planner coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for all your conference and banquet needs. Businesses near hotel: SIU, Carbondale Memorial Hospital, Comprehensive Center, Carbondale Clinic. Near hotel: Shryock Auditorium, Race to Race, DuQuoin Fairgrounds, Giant City Park, The Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. Everything you expect, and a whole lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Carbondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing