We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devil's Kitchen Cabins
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Saluki Inn(Carbondale)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Carbondale)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Carbondale)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
16
7
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
7
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed at the cabins now for many years. Our first was cabin #1 very enjoyable first experience. The rest of our stays have been at cabin #2, we love the privacy of being way back to the back of the property. for several years we would fine places we wanted to see while we were in Carbondale. We made it a point to eat at Newell House while we were there for at least four of those years. We had excellent servers, great food and warm atmosphere. It is a little expensive, but we were there Celebrating our Anniversary. This year was a shorter stay as we were returning from a trip to visit family in OK so we just enjoyed our quiet time and great Hot- Tub time before we headed back home! We have not made any plans for the up and coming year as of yet! I would recommend the cabins to any friend that wants a quiet wilderness experience and have as a matter of fact!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We called to book the cabin for two nights for fall break...The man who answered the phone said to go online and make our reservation. Which we did. After waiting for the 48 hrs for some one to call me back, we called and called and called and finally reached someone who told us she had booked the cabin over the weekend and she was sorry. We had called on thursday and booked on line on that day. Guess it really doesn't matter if you reserve a cabin on line or even call to make a reservation. So now I have a really disappointed little granddaughter. We enjoyed staying at the cabins, but guess it is time to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Linda195625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our daughter attends SIU in Carbondale, about 20 minutes from the cabin. We brought our other two teenagers down and the four of us stayed at the cabin while our daughter came out during the days/evenings to spend time.

The cabin is absolutely beautiful with everything you could need right there. The smell of pine wood as you walk in sets up the tone for the whole weekend. The area is silent except for the sounds of nature. It's darker than dark at night. But we were comfortable and cozy and very happy in our little hideaway in the woods.

There is a VERY steep gravel hill leading up to the cabins. We navigated this (in a minivan) late at night in the middle of a serious downpour of rain and I did have a moment or two where I was sure we wouldn't make it. It can be a little scary and I can see how it would be very difficult if not impossible if you were towing anything. Once the weather dried out, though, it was easier to navigate. And we made it safe and sound the night in the rain.

The cabin is equipped with everything you could want, right down to the mosquito repellant! The gas grill is plumbed in. There are pots and dishes galore in the kitchen. There were more than enough clean, white towels and we went through a number of them between showers and the hot tub.

The hot tub was glorious -- clean and well maintained. It's sunken into the back screened porch. Soaking up the warmth on a cool fall evening with raindrops pattering the woods around you -- bliss. We also enjoyed the fire pit when it wasn't raining.

There isn't any internet available and cell phone reception is weak. However, in getting away with our teenagers it was fantastic that they really had to "unplug" and we enjoyed watching movies together, hiking, playing board games (available in the cabin) and talking over the campfire. It was a great opportunity for all of us to reconnect a little. And there is cable TV and a CD/sound system that reaches the porches and hot tub area as well as the inside of the cabin. So the kids had their tunes to soak in the hot tub with, and I had music to cook by, since I can't seem to cook well without good music!

We will be back to stay again, I'm sure. I would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0ri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I really wanted to stay here, but I didn't get any response from the internet reservation system. I did speak to a person several days ago who took my info and said they would get back to me later that day....nothing. That's ok, we are going to stay at Giant City Lodge in one of their cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Ryansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was our first visit and the cabin was perfect!!!! Very secluded, very clean, excellent location to downtown Carbondale. The owners were very helpful with questions we had. The hot tub was very clean and nice to unwind in at the end of the day. The satalite tv was perfect to watch movies and shows on. The kids loved having us build a fire every night to roast marshmallows. Our family will definitely go back. There was a comment about the hill that you drive on to get to the cabin and we drive a little 4 door car and it was no big deal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews