We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Saluki Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
minooka, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We always enjoy staying at the Saluki Inn in Carbondale. The staff is friendly, helpful and kind. The cleanliness of the hotel is superb. I really like the fact that they use "green" methods for their operation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so happy that you enjoy your stays with us! We can't wait to have you again.

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    123
    36
    25
    10
See reviews for
206
53
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel was newly remodeled and clean. Room and amenities very nice. Internet a little slow, but not really an issue. Staff friendly and helpful. Great free full hot breakfast. Would definitely return to this hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel! I am sorry about the internet being slow, we will work on that. I am happy to hear you enjoyed everything else. We hope to see you again in the future.

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbondale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

do not stay at this hotel. the only reason they are still in business is because they are 6 minutes away from southern illinois university, move day for the beginning of classes, and graduation parents and family stay at the hotel. another reason is giant state park where hunters go to hunt deer. i will never stay there again. the rooms are way way over priced for what you get. the bathroom fan didn't work so there was a lot of steam in the room after a shower very uncomfortable, the safe didn't work, the hair dryer didn't work, the iron was broke.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for telling us what we can improve on. I wish you would give us another chance. Let me know if I can help you with any future stays.

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLINOIS
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We traveled to the Carbondale area for a family reunion. I bid a room on Priceline and we landed the Best Western Saluki Inn.
Rooms- Clean, comfortable, plenty of electrical plug ins, great bed, roomy, large screen TV, good lighting, nice desk, comfortable chair, lots of pillows. Our only complaint about the room was that the AC is set with a motion sensor so if you leave the room, the AC will soon shut off. We were anxious to get back to out cool room after a hot day on the run and were pretty disappointed to find a hot room. If you are going in the summer months, request a room that the AC is not set by motion. As long as we were in the room, the AC kept the room plenty cool.
Staff- GREAT staff. The gal at check in was kind enough to let us check in early. Very friendly, even when I complained about the AC.
Lobby- lobby is small, but has nice seating, a TV, free internet/computer, well lit, clean
Breakfast- Complementary. Waffles, hash browns, sausage, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, juice. great coffee
Location- location has something for everyone. Lots of shopping, gas, restaurants, a theatre across the street, Kroger nearby. There is a shopping mall within walking distance to the hotel.
Overall, we were pleased with this hotel and we would return.
I would have rated it with 5 stars but the AC situation made it drop to a 4 star since it was such a hot weekend.

Room Tip: If you visit in the hot months, ask for a room that does not have the AC with a motion sensor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargainbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again.

Thanks again,

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens,OH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed 3 nights while in town taking the School of Barbecue class with Mike Mills in Murpheysboro.
Great location in Carbondale. The mall is just across the intersection. It's a busy and broad intersection so I wouldn't recommend walking over but you could if you had to. There are several restaurants on the same side of the street such as Moe's Southwest and Buffalo Wild Wings, so that was nice. There is also a Pier 1 Imports beside the hotel that you could easily walk to. The property is well lit and seems safe, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was very friendly. You can either walk through the main lobby and take the stairs/elevator or you can walk in a couple side doors to access the interior staircase and hallways.
My only negative would be that the side and back doors that access the stairs and interior hallways were not locked. Anyone could come and go as they please at all hours as I did. There is a door card lock installed at the doors but they were not needed as all I had to do was pull the doors open although it seems like a very safe area, but they should lock those doors anyhow.

Room Tip: Only three floors. All seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nskitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, and rooms. We hope that you will come stay with us again for Mike Mill's next class!

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The building is aging and some repairs are needed. For example, the bathroom door was binding and would not close. Very friendly and helpful staff. Standard breakfast, but skip the eggs.. Great rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the response for our hotel. We take preventative maintenance seriously here and are working on remodeling the hotel. I hope that you will come stay with us again. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it!

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice accommodations, friendly staff, family oriented although I was a single traveler. Walking distance to mall and fast food chains. Didn't make it to breakfast but it was available. If you travel to Carbondale, this is a good location to get to downtown and the college without feeling like you are in the outskirts of town for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. I am glad that you had such a positive experience. I hope you enjoyed your time here in Illinois.

Ashley Peterson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Carbondale
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saluki Inn

Property: Best Western Saluki Inn
Address: 801 N Giant City Rd, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN SALUKI INN IS NEWLY RENOVATED AND UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is within minutes to the home of the Salukis-Southern Illinois University. We are within walking distance to shopping mall, theaters and fine dining. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is seven miles from Giant City State Park and closer to venues like the local wineries, golf and other local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing