We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place, Value for Money, Great People”
other travellers have booked this property
Bed Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises Clovefield Villa front View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises
Clovefield Villa front View
Living Room
Living Room 2
Dining Area with Table Decos
Bathrooms
Mountain Biking through the Woods
Mountain Biking through the Woods
BBQ
Tea Gardens
Road towards Laxapana Falls
Laxapana waterfall
Aberdeen Falls
Warleigh Church
Adams Peak
White Water Rafting
Trekking through the Woods
River Baths
Water Sliding
White Water Rafting
River
Location
Dining Area
Sri Lankan Food
Dining rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Norton Bridge, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew R
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Place, Value for Money, Great People”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Clovefield Villa in October 2013 and we were coming back from Adams Peak and wanted to relax before heading to colombo. The Villa is located on the same route to kithulgala where the rafting is, so we've decided to spend 2 days over there.

The place was really neat and clean well managed by the care taker. The owner was very helpful, but he is not in the villa but was always there for us via phone when we need some more help or guidance related to the attractions and surrounded activities.

It's an old house turned in to a neat and clean accommodation unit. There are two large rooms with en-suite bathrooms, but the other two rooms are fairly small, with shared bathrooms. Beds are comfortable with clean linen and ideal for a good night sleep. No AC but inside the house is pretty cold even without the AC.

Kitchen is Fairly ok, but better if it has a larger fridge there. Food was delicious and the caretaker can cook well, specially the Local dishes. We loved the Coconut Sambol and the Potato Curry...with String Hoppers..

Outdoor dining area could add more spice to the villa, but i m sure the young owner will consider about it after this comment, as he seems to have spent a lot to get the furniture and beds done...and with few more bucks he can put one or two sunbrellas..with some garden chairs..which could add more value..

Laxapana and Aberdeen falls are close by about 20 mins drive and they are majestic..and owner introduced ravi to us, who does the rafting for their guests..and it was a unforgettable experience too. Anure, the husband of the Caretaker who s giving a helping hand to the caretaker have helped us too to get the BBQ going at the backyard with a fireplace and it was overall a quality stay and well satisfied compared to what we have experienced during the tour..It's typical Sri Lankan bungalow..and we felt like a home away from home..with the hospitality...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean Rooms and Bathrooms, Comfortable Beds, Calm Surroundings, So many Trees
Liked least: Fridge, Need a Bigger One Please.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skate747
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

With the hyperbole of the property description and previous reviews we were expecting a lot but things were not quite as we expected. The property is very clean and well cared for. A lot of time and considerable expense has gone into renovating the house, improving the bathrooms, buying new furniture and landscaping. We appreciated the comfortable beds and good quality linen. However, we found the following things disappointing. There is no outdoor eating area, just a couple of plastic chairs on a small verandah outside the front door. Due to the location on a steep hill there is only a very small outdoor area in front of the house. The caretaker/cook/housemaid works very hard and is a good cook and very friendly. However, our meals were sometimes 1-2 hours later than we requested (and we were a small group). We were not in a hurry so didn't mind, but I wondered how she would cope with a party of 8 or 10 people. The kitchen is right next to the main bedroom so we were woken at 5.30am when she began preparations for breakfast at 8. The kitchen, although not bad for Sri Lankan standards, seemed poorly equipped to me. Only a half size fridge, 2 burner stove and a small amount of pretty awful crockery and cutlery. Dishes were usually greasy and still wet when given to us. The dining room and living room are both unfortunately in the centre of the house with only a couple of small windows looking out onto a retaining wall, so it is dark and you get no sense of the grand views outside the house. The views from outside the house are somewhat obscured by large trees in front of the house and marred by looking across the caretakers cottage and building works below the house. As stated in previous reviews there are two large bedrooms with king sized beds and ensuite bathrooms. The other two bedrooms are very small with a double bed only and shared bathroom. The house lacks character as there are no pictures on the walls or any other decoration or colour. It feels quite stark and cold inside. In summary, this is an above average Sri Lankan rental with a friendly caretaker and helpful owner and it is reasonably priced. However, I believe the previous reviews and property description are not entirely accurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, clean and comfortable. Helpful owner and friendly caretaker.
Liked least: House lacked character, no outdoor dining area, couldn't enjoy the mountain views from the house.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Greenery around the Place, Awesome !”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of the tour which included a waterfall trek and a rafting expedition with some water based activities. Really impressive show by the operators who were introduced by the Villa Management. The two waterfalls are beautiful and no words to explain. It took only 20 mins for us to reach their from the villa, and there are so much of nature to look around on your way to those waterfalls (Laxapana Fall and Aberdeen)

The Villa was recently renovated and pretty clean and cozy. The Caretakers are looking after you with lot of love and the food they offer is Purely Sri Lankan but you can get them customized according to your taste buds and in fact we ve joined with them and cooked our meal together with them. There are two big rooms with lot of space and other two small rooms which are not that big, but have the basic needs you need to have in a room. Since we have hired the entire villa, we didnt feel that we are away from home, but was feeling fantastic at night with bit of mist and cold air keeping the environment perfect to chill a beer. One night we had a campfire at the backyard and there is a BBQ drill so we got the stuff prepared with the help of caretakers and it was a fabulous night i must say. BTW this lady who cooked our meal have magical hands because the food was simply the best i had in Sri Lanka. They do the little things right that's what makes them different from the others i guess.

All in all the last two days of our tour was the best because we stayed in this lovely villa. Planning to come back again during the adams peak season so we can stay here and climb up and travel around the area. As there is so much of nature to explore and it's a untouched area which should only touched by nature lovers like us. :)



Stay here - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding and the Villa it Self
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahiru D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adventure and relaxation all in one!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Went with a group of friends and stayed over at the clovefield villa. The views from the villa were wonderful. Nice area in the garden to chill and relax and enjoy the view while catching up on old times with the mates!. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with all the facilities you would need!

The following day we went biking to the Laxapana falls. The entire journey was spectacular and went through mountain terrain, passing lakes and mist filled roads. once we got to the falls there was a hike of sorts to get to the actual falls. And the waterfall was out of this world and we could really get close to it and enjoy the whole experience.

Back at the villa we enjoyed some more relaxing time, playing games while the in-house cook provided us with delicious meals. We also ended up having a barbecue in the night! We couldn't really go whitewater rafting, due to the lack of time. Looking forward to going there again and enjoying more of the villa and what it has to offer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and relaxation with plenty of activities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing