We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel merging jungle and beach together”
Review of Uga Jungle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uga Jungle Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel merging jungle and beach together”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautifully designed hotel that merged jungle with beach. First impression of the place with pretty pool, artistic reception on the top and restaurant is very good. Rooms were big and well spaced. Service was very good by the staff who were helpful and very efficient. Beach was pretty but had mineral deposit along the shore which gave an impression of being dirty.loved the beach bar but it was mostly closed during our stay.


It was a busy weekend the day time we were there. Big groups with kids and teens caused lot of commotion which disturbed the peaceful ambience of the place. We could hardly use the pool as it was pretty cramped n always full of teens.

The restaurant had good food but limited choice. In two days we ran out of decent choices. It will be good to rotate menu and dishes. Include some buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminigirl_2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    171
    37
    18
    4
See reviews for
301
432
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Let's start saying that this hotel is pratically a place for local teenagers to learn and practice the hotel service. They are very kind and show interest in helping you, but far from professional. The resort would be nice if : they cleaned the beautiful swimming pool always covered by thousand dead insects and leaves, the beach did not have a lot of black streaks of minerals on the shore and in the waters, their beach bar was not unattended and their restaurant was not assaulted by millions of minute flies.As somebody else wrote before us, the external shower in the room is very dangerous being on a high narrow sort of bridge and uncomfortable the position of the air conditioner in the room. All together a visit to forget !

Room Tip: It might be better to have a room near the beach and the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramli G, Director/ CEO at Uga Jungle Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and all your comments are well noted. We at Jungle Beach always aim to provide our guests a completely satisfying stay and we are disappointed to note that we were unable fully satisfy you during your stay. I have passed on your feedback regarding the restaurant staff to our F&B team which they will be highlighting during their training sessions and these comments will assist us greatly in our continuous improvement efforts.

With regards to the pool, do be rest assured we constantly clean the pool of dead leaves which fall due to the prevalent high winds. Also we do understand that for some guests, the access way to the outdoor rainwater shower can appear to be narrow and we've considered these views positively and have installed a rainwater shown in each bathroom of our cabins.

Finally the Air-conditioning units of all our rooms are located so they do not directly face guests, this is done as these are 36000 BTU units and are quite powerful and adequate to cool the cabin without directly facing the guest.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jungle beach

Ramli Ghaffoor
Director/CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

this is a real wonderful place to stay. u got your own bungalow directly at the beach. and its so quiet there. there is noone except the guest of the hotel. we have been here for 5 days and we could highly recomend it. nice food nice personal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemens l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Pros

1) such a natural feel to the hotel... because it is built nicely to blend into the surrounding jungle's trees, bushes and creepers! Very green and eco feel to it.

2) chalets are spaced out well... and you forget your in a hotel cause of this.... very quiet and relaxing. Rooms are beautifully designed and decorated. Very rustic yet quite luxurious and extremely comfortable.

3) Bathrooms... along with amazing indoor rainfall type showers.... have attached outdoor showers... for that one with nature feel. Very spacious bathrooms that are well designed.

4) The food is quite tasty.... with set menu choices.

Cons

1) Being in the jungle .... you got to watch out for snakes, wasps and bees... especially when using the outdoor showers.

2) Since the food is fixed menu..... it gets abit boring after acouple of days... even though it is tasty.... maybe a buffet day or two a week wouldnt hurt.

3) The hotel is far away from trinco town and any other activities... this is not necessarily a bad thing... if your looking for peace and quiet and want to get lost.

4) Beach isnt that great.... i found the beach / bay in pasikuda to be way better. But then again uga beach has a wonderful swimming pool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheran r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with our 2 boys in their late teens would highly recommend this hotel. Very well located on a beautiful beach close to some great snorkelling spots. We loved the rooms, the pool, the food and most of all the friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Great fun too were the secluded dining spots around a the hotel which added to our overall dining experience and provided interest for our 2 boys.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice place and excellent food!! I recommend pumpkin gnocchi or lava cake. Beach villa clean, cleaned twice a day. Very friendly staff. Surroundings were beautiful. Quiet and clean environment. Thank you so much!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristýna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No doubt a most perfect getaway for honeymooners, this picturesque little resort did not fail to charm us too during a family outing last month. We loved the secluded woody setting of our chalets with the sea just beyond. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with massive bathrooms. The pool too had a lovely feel to it, almost like a natural pool. The staff were enthusiastic, young, engaging and accommodating. A special thank you to Dinesh in F&B and Thamasha in front office for looking after us very well! Lots of little unique touches made for a pleasant and memorable experience. If you're looking for something a little offbeat and relaxing for your next trip to the beach, this one is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharSeneviratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Jungle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Jungle Beach

Property: Uga Jungle Beach
Address: 27th Kilometre Post Pulmoddai Rd | Trincomalee, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Jungle Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka, Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies; spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles.Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful bird, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uga Jungle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing