We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlyle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stayed at the cabins”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. The bed wetter amazing and super comfortable. We loved our stay. We'll stay there again in the future. Beautiful views, couldn't have been happier. Wish they would have been able to give us more than one key...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karnkrew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
13
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our second time staying at Mariner's. Very accomadating even tho we were a bit loud the first evening in the lounge. We also were allowed a late check out the morning we lefte which made it much easier for traveling. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delores Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariners_Village_01, Manager at Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Delores

We appreciate your kind words and the opportunity to host you. We look forward to having your next stay with us. Remember, you can book with us online at www.carlylecabins.com or call us at 618/594-7666.

Let us know about any area of improvements we can focus for next year,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mariner’s Village hotel over Labor Day weekend for the first time and had a great visit. The single suite room was perfect for us and our two little ones. Everyone of the staff members from the guys at the front desk to the house keeping ladies were helpful, very friendly and accommodating. Thanks for such a great stay and we look forward to lodging there again in the future.

Room Tip: The single suite provided more comfortable living space to hangout in with half the room having a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariners_Village_01, Manager at Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jill

We appreciate your comments and input. Looking forward to your next stay.


Mariner's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've been coming to this hotel since it was built and this trip was the best experience we've had. The new owners have really spruced the place up and the staff is very attentive. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariners_Village_01, Manager at Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Kate

Sorry for the delay in our response. We will be more focussed on our responses in future

We sincerely appreciate your recognition of the efforts our entire team has put in to the place in the last year or so. Lot more to come so visit again. Landscapping is the next area of focus.

Let us know of areas where we can improve ourselves and enhance your next experience at our place.

Mariner's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We needed a place to stay near Carlyle Lake at a busy time of year so despite pros and cons on the reviews we decided to take a chance. We were pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not the place for you, but we found it to be just right for our visit. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean. We reserved a non smoking room. When we got off the elevator on the third floor I smelled some smoke . One section is non smoking, one area is smoking. Once I got into our room and away from the elevator area there was not a hint of smoke. We ordered a suite which to us, was worth the small extra price. You can see photos online, but the suite was roomy, contained a small refigerator, microwave, sink and area with counter and cabinets to store items. There is a pull out couch and small table and chairs. If there is something you need, all you have to do is ask. Vending and ice machines on the first floor, and ice machine also available on the third floor. I would pick the third floor if possible, away from all of the activities of people coming in and out of the hotel on the first floor. We have a boat and there is a large parking lot with ports to charge the battery if needed. The hotel is right by the marina and that was a plus. It is a short walk to the marina or there are plenty of places to park if you want to tote supplies in your vehicle. Hotel staff told us there was a 50% discount to keep your boat at the marina and we took advantage of that. We called to book a slip for $10 a night which is a bargain when you don't have to deal with taking your boat in and out of the water each time you go out. The marina staff verified we were at the hotel and had a slip ready for us before we arrived. There is a safe place to park your vehicle and a spot to leave your trailer. There are restrooms and a galley as well as small utility type trailers to haul your supplies to your slip. There is a marina employee who monitors the area and we felt perfectly safe leaving out boat there. You can also gas up at the marina if needed. You should note that the marina closes at 4pm during the week and 5pm on weekends so you need to get there in time to find out your assigned slip or call them to make arrangements. The public ramp where you put your boat in is right next to the marina. There is an area there to clean fish if you are lucky to bring in a nice catch. The marina and hotel are also right next to a nice park and beach area. The hotel also features a basic continental breaksfast. The breakfast area was spotless. The Mariners Cafe (LIghthouse Grill) is affiliated with the hotel and the food was very good. Bring your hotel key card and you get 10% off. Breakfast buffet on weekends and specials everyday with lots of choices. Best burgers ever! With everyone coming in and out of the hotel after being on the lake, carrying wet suits and towels and sometimes mud, I was pretty impressed at how the staff managed to keep the hotel so clean. For the entire package of restaurant, access to marina and a decent hotel, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a former Microtel (basic hotel) turned into a family run hotel. The manager (possibly owner) was overly accomodating. Let us check in early to a clean room. Even told us the rates went down since we booked online and comped our bill this amount - this never happens anywhere else. You can tell they truly care. The thing about this hotel is that it is right by Carlyle Lake. The nice thing about this town and lake is you can bicycle anywhere. So our boat was right there and the kids can ride up the road to the McD too. It is an awesome location, especially if you are like us and you have family staying at the Dam West Campgrounds, but you are not a camper. This hotel is location, location, location. The other hotels in town are not near the lake, boat ramp, dam and beach like this one. Bring your bikes. The owner even let us put them in the entry during a storm. Super accomodating and nice folks. I did read a few other reviews...I will say, that it was not super busy and we had a great experience. It is worth a try.

Plus, they recently remodeled the lobby and has a full seating area for dining and the breakfast bar. We even went down in the evening and played cards here. The breakfast is basic - but free and included in the price, which is nice when traveling with a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariners_Village_01, Manager at Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks for your inputs. We are striving to make every guest experience a positive and memorable one. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

hotel was fairly nice. service terrible. checked in went to room nothing was done. beds not made,trash in refrigerator,trash cans fiiled with trash. told manager to get me another room. sorry there all booked. told it would take an hour to clean. came back 2 hours later, still not done. waited in lobby for another half-hour, finally get to my room everthing seemed very clean.problems with electronic keys (not the only). not much of an apology from manager. would like to return but management needs to change. chairs in rooms very uncomfortable, brought my lounge chair with me (stayed on a lake with a park) should not have to do this. wifi was greate. free breakfast was very good. been here before but management along with some room issues need to change.

Room Tip: pray and hope your room is done. that next time I go they get new chairs and a new manager.cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariners_Village_01, Manager at Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We regret the inconvenience you had at our place. We are striving to make every guest experience a positive and memorable one. We will assess and adjust our policies and procedures to ensure our efforts support the diverse needs of our guests. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlyle
17.1 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites Greenville
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
86 reviews
20.8 mi away
Days Inn Salem
Days Inn Salem
#3 of 4 in Salem
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
307 reviews
20.9 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake

Property: Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Carlyle, IL 62231-6487 (Formerly Carlyle Mariner's Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Carlyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariner's Village resort offers a unique but diverse range of activities within walking distance.Walk to the beach or local marina or the picnic area surrounded by tall trees with benches and grills. Golf course and Horseback Trail rides are close by. Bring your boats and sails for fun or fishing.We offer a hotel with 63 rooms, 5 rustic log cabins, conference center that can be used for events like business seminars, training, conferences, wedding, reunions or as per your creative usage. We also have our own 5 acre pond offering you fishing opportunities and a island where you can arrange for an event with up to 150 people. Onsite restaurant offers you variety of food choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mariner's Village at Carlyle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Mariner`s Village Hotel Carlyle
Microtel Carlyle
Carlyle Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing