We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter trip”
Review of A B&B by the River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A B&B by the River
Ranked #1 of 1 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very friendly and helpful German couple who ran the B&B. It is situated on the river, in a very calm and relaxed place. The room was very clean and the breakfast was great. I enjoyed the stay very much and I'm looking forward to my next visit with my whole family.

Room Tip: Stay at least two or more nights.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for A B&B by the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

We ran into this lovely B&B by pure chance. Looking for a place to stay for the weekend, we found this place on the Internet. The Owners are a German couple, originally from Bavaria. So if you are looking for a great, relaxing and comfortable place, combined with German cleanliness and Bavarian friendliness, to rest your head for the night, look no further.

The "Continental" Breakfast was a sight to be seen. Everything your heart could wish for, from Bacon and Eggs, cold cuts (cheese, pork roast and German Salami), coffee or tea, juice, yogurt and more. Best of all was Lydia's homemade, german-style bread.

Only a short drive outside the town of Port Hawkesbury, was it the ideal location for our trip to the Grand Slam of Curling which was held in town that week.

We will be back for sure.

Cheers

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'down river' room. King-sized bed, with private entrance.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silke_und_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das das B&B sehr beliebt ist, empfiehlt es sich, bei Zeiten zu reservieren.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ardbog I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ralfegeler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
6.4 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
180 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
88 reviews
60.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
167 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 3 in St. Peter's
198 reviews
28.6 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B by the River

Address: 351 Helmut's Lane, Cleveland, Nova Scotia B0E 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OverviewCome and enjoy our Bavarian hospitality!Leave your stress behind and dive into another world – you will feel like home from the first moment on…Find tranquility and peace in an environment of nature and crisp fresh air. We are situated directly on banks of the River Inhabitants and our rooms have a breathtaking view across the river.Our location offers you plenty of choices for day trips to many of Cape Breton’s attractions, all within a two-hour drive. Check out the Hungershausen gallery in Cleveland, or head out Dundee and take in some golf. You will also find living history museums to explore, including the Highland Village Museum in Iona and the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site in Louisbourg. Find traditional Celtic music in Judique and or travel to Glenora to sample the first single malt whiskey in North America.We offer four rooms with one king or queen-sized bed, telephone, Wi-Fi, fan, hairdryers, and coffeemaker. Two rooms come with a private entrance. A full breakfast is provided, served either on our deck or in the dining room. You are also welcome to relax in our entertainment room or settle back on the deck overlooking the river.Driving directions to property: From the Canso Causeway to Port Hawkesbury take Hwy 104 towards St. Peter´s, exiting at Exit 44 to Cleveland. Turn left, following the Lower River Road 5.5 km - you will see our blue B&B sign on the right hand side.You can also take NS Highway 4 and travel 11.5 km towards Cleveland, turning right onto Lower River Road. Our B&B is 1.7 km up the road - you will see our blue B&B sign on the left hand side. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing