We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A B&B by the River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A B&B by the River
Ranked #1 of 1 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The place is run by the nicest couple, Lydia and johanes go out of their way to make you feel comfortable! With a great view to the river, you can watch the tides rising and falling while sitting in bed, very clean and underpriced. The breakfast is all homemade and delicious :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheldahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing place, with a great service, you found it ! We stayed a week and if we could, we would like to stayed more time. The german couple who is runing the place are really nice people, polite, and they just want you to enjoy your time in their place. We went to buy some lobsters and we ate them together with the owners. Our time there was great ! Thanks !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMS1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very friendly and helpful German couple who ran the B&B. It is situated on the river, in a very calm and relaxed place. The room was very clean and the breakfast was great. I enjoyed the stay very much and I'm looking forward to my next visit with my whole family.

Room Tip: Stay at least two or more nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baddeck
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We ran into this lovely B&B by pure chance. Looking for a place to stay for the weekend, we found this place on the Internet. The Owners are a German couple, originally from Bavaria. So if you are looking for a great, relaxing and comfortable place, combined with German cleanliness and Bavarian friendliness, to rest your head for the night, look no further.

The "Continental" Breakfast was a sight to be seen. Everything your heart could wish for, from Bacon and Eggs, cold cuts (cheese, pork roast and German Salami), coffee or tea, juice, yogurt and more. Best of all was Lydia's homemade, german-style bread.

Only a short drive outside the town of Port Hawkesbury, was it the ideal location for our trip to the Grand Slam of Curling which was held in town that week.

We will be back for sure.

Cheers

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'down river' room. King-sized bed, with private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
6.4 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
38.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
28.9 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
17.4 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Peter's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B by the River

Property: A B&B by the River
Address: 351 Helmut's Lane, Cleveland, Nova Scotia B0E 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OverviewCome and enjoy our Bavarian hospitality!Leave your stress behind and dive into another world – you will feel like home from the first moment on…Find tranquility and peace in an environment of nature and crisp fresh air. We are situated directly on banks of the River Inhabitants and our rooms have a breathtaking view across the river.Our location offers you plenty of choices for day trips to many of Cape Breton’s attractions, all within a two-hour drive. Check out the Hungershausen gallery in Cleveland, or head out Dundee and take in some golf. You will also find living history museums to explore, including the Highland Village Museum in Iona and the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site in Louisbourg. Find traditional Celtic music in Judique and or travel to Glenora to sample the first single malt whiskey in North America.We offer four rooms with one king or queen-sized bed, telephone, Wi-Fi, fan, hairdryers, and coffeemaker. Two rooms come with a private entrance. A full breakfast is provided, served either on our deck or in the dining room. You are also welcome to relax in our entertainment room or settle back on the deck overlooking the river.Driving directions to property: From the Canso Causeway to Port Hawkesbury take Hwy 104 towards St. Peter´s, exiting at Exit 44 to Cleveland. Turn left, following the Lower River Road 5.5 km - you will see our blue B&B sign on the right hand side.You can also take NS Highway 4 and travel 11.5 km towards Cleveland, turning right onto Lower River Road. Our B&B is 1.7 km up the road - you will see our blue B&B sign on the left hand side. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing