We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a helpful and friendly person!”
Review of Karu's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karu's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Akurala B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a helpful and friendly person!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a great time, seeing a lot of Sri Lanka in a short space of time (Only 2 days!) with the help of Karu. We were able to do much more than we first anticipated, as he made it all possible for us. This included seeing temples, boat tours, turtle hatchery, moonstone mine and safari. All with easy transportation, high end accommodation and lovely food along the way. We would recommend his services to anyone wanting to see the best of Sri Lanka!

Lauren & Josh, England UK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshbaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahboula, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a fabulous time with Karu and highly recommend him! He was so accommodating and tailored to our trip even though we did not stay at his place. We saw it, and it was simple and nice, complete with a private bathroom and air conditioning, however we had already booked and paid for a different hotel. His wife and son were also wonderful and so kind and hospitable. After our meeting at his house to discuss our trip, he offered to drive us back to our hotel. On the way he stopped at the turtle hatchery and medicine garden and this was not even part of our package! Just out of the kindness of his heart. The next day, Karu picked us up from our hotel and took us on a two day excursion to see the elephant orphanage, stick fisherman, waterfall, and Hindu and Buddhist temples. He arranged all our meals and hotel and made everything very easy! Him and his driver (Sampath) were so kind and helpful and we saw so much wildlife on the way! In the end, they drove us back to our hotel and we feel completely satisfied with our trip! Highly recommend going with him! You will not regret it!

Joshua and Jillanne Lang
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillanneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Akurala is a beautiful place with silent beaches which are different from the crowded areas around Sri Lanka. You will have an almost certain chance to watch a nice sunset every day.

When staying at Karu's Guest House you will receive the chance to meet real Sri Lankan people on a very compassionate level. You will be treated like family no matter if you stay for one night or like I did extend it up to two weeks.

If you are interested in any tour around Sri Lanka Karu will offer you a tailor-made trip to a very reasonable price.

So if you are interested in learning about this country as a whole including extraordinary kindly people here is one of the few chances you will get in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS22544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Akurula Beach is quiet stretch of beach with a friendly community. Karu attracts his business by standing on Colombo Fort station, not someone I would usually go with, but turned out to be a true SL experience. His guesthouse is basic but comfortable at 2,000-2,500 rp. Cold water and fan although air con available at a surcharge. 50m from beach you are amongst the family whose original business and home was swept away by the Tsunami. Karu organizes, trips with his safe driver Sampath at competitive prices that are tailor made. He is very good at this, esp the stilt fisherman and avoiding their exorbitant charges. Mrs Karu gives cooking lessons and at the end of mine we invited all the neighbors for a fantastic party as her cooking skills is the stuff of local legend. 45 mins to Galle by bus, from outside the house - 50 rp. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupertcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

As probably most people we met Karu at Columbo train station and he showed us some pictures of his guest house. Since we wanted to stay in this area anyways we gave it a try. First we wanted to stay just one night and we ended up at Karus for 14 days.

It is hard to describe how lovely Karu and his family are. They would do anything for you and for more than reasonable prices. His wife is a stunning cook! You just tell him / her what kinda food you want and she makes the best menus.

Karu himself is able to organize anything. If you want to throw a party, tell him … and the organization itself is for free, you wanna get to know the country better, ask him as well. He gives you the best advices for trips. Just tell him what you are interested in and he will plan the best trip for you.

With them we got to know almost all the neighbors and we felt like at home. They give you the privacy you need but always have an eye on you that everything is alright.

The apartments are simple but there is everything you need … even warm water and a ven.
The beach on the other side of the road is amazing and we were most of the time by ourselves. But directly in front of the house is the reef where you should not go swimming. The swimming area is about a 5 min walk along the beach.

One of us had bad luck, climbed against the advices of Karu on the cliffs and ended up falling on a rock cracking his kneecap. Even then Karu organized everything. He brought her to hospital arranged the transfer to another specialized hospital, went there with us every day for several hours, organized a quick treatment and release and organized the trip to the airport to get her out of the country for surgery.

Because of this he even spent New Years with us in the car instead of being with his family! And he did not even charge one cent for his time! He is unbelievable helpful. Although he and his family do not have that much money he did not take advantage of this situation, in the contrary he helped us out selflessly.

If you are in Sri Lanka you should really drop by and stay at Karu’s Guest House. You will love it, if you do not expect a five star hotel.

Thank you sooo much Karu!!! Take care

Room Tip: Try to get the veranda room with warm water supply
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We met Karu at Colombo train station when we had planned to take the train to Bentota and Beruwala. He told us about his guest house in a quiet village with a beautiful beach across the road. He then showed us his book which people had written reviews in about his place. This book changed our minds and we decided to stay with him for one night before moving on. We ended up staying for two.

Karu's wife is an amazing cook with spice as you like. It was a one day holiday while we were there and Karu's family had come down. They made us feel very welcome and invited us into the main house for drinks after dinning, We had a great night getting to know them all.

Karu can arrange local trips with his own air conditioned van to the local temple, Turtle hatchery, Lagoon boat trips.

Karu's neighbour popped in with his bag of silver jewelery which was stunning, with no pressure to buy.

When we decided to move on to Unawantuna, Karu even arranged for his son to drive us there.

We recommend a trip to Karu's, you will not be disappointed. Please trust this man.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 134Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Karu, his family and the local villagers made our stay in Sri Lanka memorable. We fell in love with the people and the place. This is more than just a place to stay, if you want it to be. It's a chance to meet everyday Sri Lankans and find out what makes them tick. To get a glimpse of why the people of this small country are so open and friendly.

Karu's wife is a really great cook, responsible for some of the best and most interesting meals we had, and we had some great food.

If we are after a tour guide, you'd be hard pressed to find a more honest, knowledgeable and entertaining guide than Karu. A great option would be to spend a couple of days on Colombo, head down to Karu's to unwind for a few days by the beach, and then take off for a tour to the places that interest you most.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akurala
6.9 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
0.2 mi away
Cool Beach Hotel
Cool Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Akurala
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Beach Inn
Cinnamon Beach Inn
#5 of 7 in Akurala
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunny's Guest house
Sunny's Guest house
#4 of 7 in Akurala
10 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Amba Ayurveda Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karu's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karu's Guest House

Property: Karu's Guest House
Address: No 66, Galle Road, Akurala 80300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Akurala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Akurala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karu's Guest House is located in Akurala, by the beach between Ambalangoda & Hikkaduwa. The rooms are clean with comfortable double bed including A/C, Mosquito net, Wi-Fi and attached bathrooms with hot water. You can have the meals in the restaurant .. the sea is in front of the guest house .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karu's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing