We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Business Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was a 3 day stay.

Everything was as expected from HI. This is a full service Hotel with restaurant.

The Hotel is very large. Rooms are clean adn comfortable. Thermostat controlled heat is quiet and effective. I was upgraded to a suite, which was nice. Living room area wit kitchen type sink, microwave & fridge. Had a few kids running the hall on he first night, but that's the fault of the ignorant guest, and not the Hotel.

Beds are very soft. I prefer a firm matress, but I still slept great. No outside noise at all. Lare flat screen TV with good channe selection.

Breakfast is not free, but the Buffet was extensive. Eggs and Omlets are cooked to order in the dining room. About $9.00 and $13.00 on weekends. Weekends have a larger selection. I thought it was well worth it. Breakfast is served about 15 to 20 minutes late every morning, so plan accordingly if you have an early appointment.

Nice Business Center, and Guest Laundry.

Anything you need is only a short distance away. The main thing to watch for is the highway. It's a large, wide highway with a low speed limit. Simply put, it's a major speed trap. Be careful.

I'll definately return on my next trip to Carol Stream.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the detailed account of your recent visit with us. While it is nice to hear the kind words, I appreciated the detail and accuracy of your review. (It explains why so many travelers find your reviews helpful.)

***Great reminder to travelers about our local roadways....Rt. 64 it is a large highway, and if you just came off the tollway, you may forget the reduction of speed limits in our local towns. ***

I look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    43
    7
    11
See reviews for
45
18
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in the Jacquzzi suite. The suite was small as the tub. Room was very clean. The view out the window was of a retaining wall.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is as good as the Hampton,but same price and free breakfast at the Hampton makes it a better value in Carol Stream....unless you hate crossing te street to bowl. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

1.The room was okay and had all the basics, but nothing really stood out though.
2.There were food flies flew around the salad bar and one landed on our food. Other dishes we had were not impressive, but relatively expensive.
3. Shuttle service was not reliable. If they had a big group (such as conference) there, they just ignored the shuttle request of individual travelers. We called an hour ahead to request a service (we were told to call at least 20 minutes ahead of time), but was told there were no seats for my family of 4. We needed to take care our transportation to the train station. It costed us extra to take the taxi to and from the train station.
4.The worst was the manager named "Benjamin". We booked our room via the Holiday Inn website for 3 nights first, but then we decided to stay there for one more night. Thus, we went online to cancel the first booking and then booked again for 4 nights. However, when we arrived at the hotel, the staff told us that we had booked two rooms and we were obligated to pay for both. Of course, we needed to talk to the manager to resolve the situation. He was nothing, but rude. He said there was nothing they would do because we booked our room via the Holiday Inn Website (pay attention here: we went through the official Holiday Inn site, not any other hotel booking site) instead of via their front desk. It was not their error so we had to pay for two rooms. We requested them to check with the online reservation dept. to clear up the matter, but Ben refused and said it was not their responsibility. The highlight was when he said that the hotel had to protect its profit and would not do any refund even my family only would occupy one room. "Luckily" there was another more sensible manager the next day who was humble enough to apologize and took care of the situation. We did eventually pay for only one room for the nights we stayed. Overall, it was NOT a very good experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the shuttle service arrangement and request it way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpmmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carol Stream hotels

Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Looks and feels like a typical moderate hotel, and it is. Price was very nice, room was very nice, and the on-site restaurant and gift shop were both very convenient. Location is convenient as well, just a few minutes from I-88 and right off a major road. The pool was terrific, and the front desk staff was very nice. The restaurant doubles as a bar late night. Sunday brunch was excellent and very reasonably priced. Overall, while it ain't the Ritz, it's everything you need for a comfortable and affordable stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a suite. It was only a few bucks more and came with a separate living room, couch, chair, mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Overall experience was great! Spacious rooms, prompt service from the staff, fill service hotel I was not pleased that a complimentary breakfast isn't offered for the price per room tho.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
It is always nice to hear that another guest who has enjoyed a visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to praise our staff, as well as comment on the spaciousness of our rooms. As for breakfast, not all rates at Holiday Inn hotels include breakfast, but we do offer rates that do include not only breakfast, but other meals as well. As a tip, check for packages at our hotel(and other hotels as well) to see if you can get these items as part of your future travels.

Thank you again for your comments, we will certainly share them with the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, De
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here while visiting Wheaton Academy. The service, comfortable room, cleanliness and overall atmosphere are above and way beyond the very reasonable price. From the front desk to the on-site restaurant, everyone was friendly and worked hard to make my stay great. In the room the bed was very comfortable, the hi-speed was very fast, the bathroom was big and clean, and there was even a fridge with freezer for my leftovers from dinner. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am glad to see that our employees and hotel were "above and beyond" your expectations, and we look forward to your return. I will ensure your comments are shared with our staff. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Lisle Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing