We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud reception and stinky pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel had a great room and was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. However, we couldn't get to sleep the first night because we could hear the DJ from a reception going on downstairs even though we were on the 3rd floor. We had our 3 year old son wtih us and he was unable to go to sleep until 11. We called the desk adn they said that they had already asked the DJ to turn it down. So frustrating. The pool was our other complaint. It was stinky! Each of the drains stunk like mold and there was black stuff growing in the drain of the hot tub. GROSS! Too bad - other than these two complains it was a great hotel. However, will pick another hotel next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear you feel we have a great hotel, but saddened to know that you do not plan to return during your next trip to the area. A hotel such as ours does offer large meeting & banquets spaces to provide for weddings and other like events. At times, these events can impact the stays of other guests, even when we make every effort to avoid this from occurring. I apologize that this affected your stay, and that you found issues in our pool area. Cleanliness (Along with Great Service) is a top priority and one we take serious, so thank you for informing me of the problem at our pool. AS you can see from other travelers, even though issues like this don't happen often, I am sorry it happened to you.

While there are several options in our area on a future trip for you, I hope you will reconsider and give us another try. If you experience any issues (with us or any hotel), please let us know while you are here...it is our opportunity to make it right at that time, so you can enjoy the rest of your stay.

Thank you again, and I hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite that was located on the 4th floor overlooking a tent they had receptions in. After getting the sleeper sofa ready to sleep on, which by the way was so uncomfortable!! We tried falling asleep but couldn't. The music from the reception in the tent was do loud! You could hear the bass in the room which continued after 11:30pm. Long night!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelia1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and marks on your recent visit with us. I apologize that you found the sleeper sofa uncomfortable. While I believe there are quality mattresses in our sleeper sofas, they are still not the same as a traditional bed, especially like ours with pillow-tops. On a future visit to our area, I would suggest trying one of our 2-bedded suites, this would provide you with 2 actual beds (plus a sleeper sofa if needed), as well as a location on other side of hallway, away from the possible distraction of events at the hotel. Thank you again and I hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and again I loved it. It was very clean and bright. There is a small fitness center and the very good sized pool seems to be enjoyed by quite a few.
My room was comfortable, quiet, and very spacious. Lots of channels on the television, free wifi, and the fridge in the room definitely comes in handy.
The food in the restaurant downstairs was delicious and reasonably priced. Lots of variety.
The free hotel shuttle is very convenient for getting about (within a 5 mile radius) and that makes it handy as well to get back and forth to downtown Chicago on the train (to/from Wheaton station).
I hope to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank succeed_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Glad to have you back with us again. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed another visit with us. Consistency in our customer service & cleanliness of our hotel are very important to us, and it appears we are upholding that. Thank you for providing a review for a second time and sharing all of the areas you find beneficial to you when you visit us.

We to hope you are able to stay with us again and look forward to it. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good hotel that I would recommend.
Large rooms, comfortable beds and a good size bathroom.
The hotel was spotless and the public bathrooms in the hotel lobby were the cleanest ive seen.
The staff were very helpful and helped with anything we needed.
Free wifi and a nice pool area too.
I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere nice, comfortable and friendly without all the extra frills.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottsgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for the high marks and praise. It is always nice to hear that the efforts of our cleaning staff, as well as the friendly attitude of our employees are showing through to our guests. Your closing line sums us up nicely. I am glad you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is an oldie, but goodie. From the moment you enter the lobby, it has that old school elegance and atmosphere from the 40's and 50's. It has seen several renovations over the years to bring it up to today's standards as much as possible. The only downside is that there is only so much that can be done to the rooms as they are clearly sized for another decade. My only issue is that the bathroom had no exhaust fan and the limited lighting made it sort of dark. Staff was extremely courteous throughout and the inhouse restaurant food was above what you would expect...and so were the prices...but you never had to leave, so that would balance it all out in the end. Only unfilled "want" was the lack of providing any breakfast as part of your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and "Thank You" for that. I am pleased to hear that our staff continues to shine for our guests and that you found our restaurant to your liking as well. We often hear comments similar yours that we are doing a good job of maintaining our modern appearance, and plan to continue to do so.

Please note that our bathrooms do have exhausts, however they are constantly running, not controlled by a switch in the bathroom, so you may not have noticed. Also, thanks to hearing from guests like you, we are in the process of adding more lighting to our bathrooms.

Finally, please know that if you are looking for a rate that includes breakfast, we have them available...it is just not included with all of our rates.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were in Carol Stream for a private function and the Holiday Inn was the host hotel for the event. We arrived at the hotel later than hoped so we almost immediately changed and went to our party. The lobby was warm and inviting and I thought the aquarium and jug of fresh water with lemon were nice touches.

This hotel is designed for large events such as conferences and weddings. And it appears to have hosted many of these events. Although not run down it is obvious this hotel sees a lot of traffic. The rooms were a standard hotel room. Nothing more, nothing less. They were clean, comfortable and practical. But we were basically using it as a place to sleep so it was just fine for us.

Our event utilized the hotel shuttle for transportation to and from the party. The driver was always available and shared some good stories and laughs with us. Kudos to him!

Althoug we didn't utilize them the hotel offers a nice looking indoor swimming pool and restaurant.

We were not at this hotel for a long stay but it was a good place to rest your head for the night. In reality its score is somewhere between average and very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for completing a review of your recent visit with us. I am glad that you found our hotel "clean, comfortable and practical"...I believe it sums us up well. We do offer some modern touches and pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness. I will ensure our staff (including the shuttle drivers you've mentioned) hear of your kind words. I'm glad we were able to take care of you and your travel needs, even though your visit was short, and look forward to being that "good place to rest your head" the next time your travels bring you our way.

Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Standard issue hotel that has obviously been renovated many times.

If you stay near here I recommend Addante's pizza (Make a right out of the parking lot about a mile on the left, before the traffic light.)

The bed was ok. on the softer side.

WiFi was quick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearHug111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us and letting your fellow travelers know of your stay. I am pleased to see you found our hotel comfortable, with reliable services, and that our renovations are fresh and apparent to you as a traveler.

I look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to our area, and I know our local pizzeria will welcome your return as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
3.6 mi away
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison Area
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison ...
#1 of 1 in Glendale Heights
65 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sheraton Lisle Naperville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing