We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable suite & delicious breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable suite & delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed staying in the one-bedroom suite. It was very large & comfortable. Pam, the desk clerk, was kind enough to offer me an early check-in, upgraded room & a late 2 PM checkout the next day. In addition, the location of the hotel was excellent - close to shopping & major highways. The restaurant also offered a delicious meal, serving breakfast until noon, as well as an all-you-can-eat buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I will ensure that your kind words regarding the great service you received and your delight with our restaurants food quality are shared with our staff.

We appreciate your business and for sharing with your fellow travelers. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    53
    48
    7
    11
See reviews for
48
18
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is convenient and it was clean. The decor is good for the class of hotel. Staff was helpful and courteous. The beds are nice and comfortable. The only downside is the restaurant. It is definately a hotel restaurant and the food is just mediocre. I would find a different place to eat, especially breakfast. Try Egg Harbor in heaton, just 10 minutes from the hotel...awesome breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtRisk-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent visit with us. I will ensure that your kind words regarding both the hotels comfort and the great service you experienced are shared with our staff. I apologize that your dining experience did not meet these levels as well and welcome you to contact me with any further feedback to try to improve this for you and fellow travelers. (Just ask for the General Manager)

Your suggestion of Egg Harbor is a fine alternative if travelers are heading into Wheaton.

Again, thank you for your review and I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

My sister and I spent the weekend visiting family during a cold spell. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating, from check-in to check-out. The room was an updated standard room with a coffee maker. The room was clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We both loved the pillows. We did not use any of the amenities on premises.
We did enjoy the restaurant, Alberto's. They offer a breakfast buffet for a reasonable price that was delicious with custom omelette bar, a large selection of fruit, egg dishes, potatoes, French toast, and on weekends, fresh Belgian waffles and sliced beef. They restaurant staff was equally as friendly as the hotel staff and made a great latte.
Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hbscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Glad to see you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the detailed review of both the hotel and restaurant and your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers. Your kind words about the friendly service you received are truly appreciated and I will ensure our staff hears of them.

I hope during your next visit to our area to see your family, we can serve as your home away from California again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this nice and clean holiday inn overnight for an early morning visit for the Central DuPage Hospital. Location is easy to access, and is only minutes away from the hospital, the food from the the onsite restaurant is awesome and you do not have to drive and search for another one. Had a very short but very good experience here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yewm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your recent visit with us. While it was short visit, I am glad to see that it was enjoyable, nice and clean. Hopefully your travels will allow you a longer visit with us in the future. Glad to see you were able to take advantage of our on-site restaurant.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Employees were very helpful, friendly and room was so clean and so nice - would have liked a separate mirror in the the bathroom for putting on make up - but enjoyed my stay very much - would stay again if the need came up for this area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEC0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, both about our staff and your room. Glad to see that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable room, as well as friendly & helpful service. These are basics for every traveler, but especially nice when you are a little tired as well. We look forward to your return! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here while in training at employee HQ. Policy hotel. Short and sweet, its old, tired and dingy and smelled of tobacco, place needs an overhaul. Its used for sales meetings and small conventions and it shows, convention people trash places. The rooms are ok, but again the design is horrible and not conducive to travelers. Power outlets were everywhere but the right place. Had to move furniture to get to a power outlet and a lamp that worked. Ill stay at a good old Courtyard next time around for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKlimeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review as it allow us the opportunity to better ourselves. I apologize that you did not find our hotel to meet your needs. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and appreciate the opportunity to make things right. While we cater to many customers for both business and conventions, we want to ensure the needs of all of our travelers are met the best we can. Again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carol Stream hotels

Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

As a Consultant and a frequent traveler my wife and I have been fortunate to have visited all the Continents and now all of our States. This last auto trip was for approx 30 days and involved over 5,000 miles. My review of excellent for the staff of the hotel and Alberto’s Restaurant by no means represents that of our stay, which was terrible .

On the bright side, the General Manager was extremely gracious and understanding along with his staff and that of Alberto’s; Sara, Theus, Stacey, Nelson, Lenora and Ingrid are all truly examples of fine employees who support the goals and ideals of IHG.

As the former head of an agency, I believe in giving credit where it is due and mentioning where it is not. This is presented by the only gloom spot of our stay… THE ROOM.

We had stopped to visit our grandchildren at Wheaton College and were on the verge of traveling home after over a 5,000-mile auto trip. So we were TIRED.

After we brought our luggage up and returned from a late dinner we realized the problem. The A/C was so noisy that you could barely hear the TV after raising the volume to the highest position that would result in disturbing guests in the adjoining rooms… and we were too tired to even think about changing rooms. So it was a restless sleep that put us on the road to begin our journey back to Stuart, Florida.

We did mention this to those at the front desk and they were very sorry but informed us that THIS problem exists with the rooms that overlook the atrium (DUH). My thought then was why would you even think of putting guests in such inferior rooms.

Quite frankly at a total price of $ 130.00 per night one would and should expect better. In contacting customer relations they agreed on my points and credited us 3,000 points. I inquired and ask about some sort of a cosnideration for staying two laters in Novemeber in North Carolina. There answer was you would have to book more rooms then two for that to happen. A very poor understanding of customer relations, understanding and future stays by a customer.

Room Tip: We always first check the room and the TV,but up now have not lowered the AC to hear the noise when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for the high praise of our staff. I will ensure that you kind words are passed along to them all. As I did on your departure, apologize for the disruptive night you had due to your AC unit. It is unfortunate that an issue that could have been easily solved ruined your stay. If your travels bring you back this way to visit the grandchildren at Wheaton College again, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you, and fix any maintenance issues if they occur.

Thank you again for the praise of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison Area
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison ...
#1 of 1 in Glendale Heights
51 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing