We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for my family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
St. Clair Shores
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for my family.”
Reviewed 23 February 2007

I stayed here with my wife and two young kids (1 and 3) and we had a good time. We were looking for something outside Chicago but close enough to drive in for the day. While the hotel is all of 25 miles from the loop, it's a good 45+ minute drive in and out of Chicago. So, keep that in mind. Also, have some change for the tollways too!

The Holiday Inn was remodeled last year and the lobby, common areas, and our room looked very good. The pictures from their website are completly accurate. We had a two room suite and it was comfortable, clean, and overall in good shape. It had all the ammenities we needed: fridge, microwave, limited dishes and silverware, etc.

We used the pool and found it also to be clean, well maintained and had no issues there except maybe the size of the towels available pool side. It's a good size pool for the hotel and while we were there, was never crowded.

We visited the restaurant for breakfast and dinners just about everyday over the four days we stayed there. Kids eat free, and the breakfast buffett is pretty good. They had made to order omlets which were very good. If you're an 'egg white' only egg eater, no problem. My wife is, and they made her an 'egg white only omlet' without any issues. If I had anything negative to add, the dinner service was a little bit lacking: slow to take orders, slow to get us a check, slow to get the check paid. It didn't stop us from going back anyway.

Overall, no surprises. Their website is just about a spot on representation of the hotel. No issues with service, ammenities, or the room. We got exactly what we wanted.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Michigan_TRV311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    53
    47
    7
    11
See reviews for
47
18
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

The hotel was nice. We stayed there for a wedding that was in Addision. Very close to several large strip malls- so running to the store for something was easy.
Our room was a 1 room suite that had a mini fridge and sink. Overall the hotel was clean and pleasant. Staff was courteous. The pool was nice and always had people in it. This was not a place (Like most Holiday Inn's) that I would recommend for a romantic getaway, but for most any other reason it would be just fine.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savecal$
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

We (me, my husband and 2 teenagers) needed a place close to Wheaton College to stay for a few days while my daughter checked the college out. The Holiday Inn in Carol Stream fit the bill. We got a 2 room suite at a very modest price with a small "kitchenette" area that was perfect for us and only 7-10 minutes from the college. The room was clean and comfortable. The indoor pool area was really nice. We ordered room service from the resturant downstairs one evening and we all enjoyed our meal. It was just perfect for the price and the reason we were there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Loud music one night from an event next to our room, but it ended early.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2006

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times. They have great suites with lots of room and amenities. The bar and restaurant have good selection and the staff was absolutely wonderful. I've stayed here multiple times, and it is the ONLY hotel I will be at in West Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 November 2005

This hotel is at the Gary Ave. & North Ave intersection in Carol Stream, IL. This is a great place to stay for the money. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a night away.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison Area
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison ...
#1 of 1 in Glendale Heights
51 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sheraton Lisle Hotel
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing