We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs some seasoning”

Tapas Calpe of Cary
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Cary
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Tapas Calpe is a unique blend of a neighborhood tapas restaurant and wine bar within our full-service butcher and wine shoppe. This European old-world combination of butcher shop by day, tapas restaurant by night creates a charming and intimate environment. It's the perfect place to gather at the end of the day for an exceptional meal or linger over a bottle of wine.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just needs some seasoning”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of a friend, and I am glad we did. The atmosphere is quaint and I really like the idea of it being in a butcher shop.

They have a wide variety of tapas and full entrees that are hot or cold. My favorite was the fish cakes, but everything was pretty good. The staff was all knowledgeable and knew about the food and the wine.

The only real downside is that the food lacks seasoning. A little salt and pepper goes a long way and you would think that with the quality of the food they had that this would not be an issue, but it is. Add some other seasonings, and this would be great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4cortinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“small plates satisfy big appatites”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Who knew that small plates could satisfy large appetites? There were 6 of us and we got a variety of small plates to share. I don't think anyone went home hungry. There wine list was good too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool local place with pretty good food”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

When this place first opened a few years back it really blew our socks off. Then they got a new chef about 2 years ago, and it's still really good, but just not the same as when it first opened. I still highly recommend it though for a good meal and cool ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank Rodemstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tantalizing Tapas! (in a butcher shoppe?)”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Apparently once (just) a modest butcher shop, now emerges - Tapas Calpe. Of course, there's still a counter in the back where meat (& wine) is sold, but currently the draw is the ecclectic tapas menu, an impressive wine selection, and exceptional service - the owner actually takes the time to speak to every table (and sometimes takes a seat with his patrons).

To say that Tapas Calpe is unusual is an understatement! In all of my past food writing, this is by far the most difficult to convey (within the character guidelines). I've never been to Italy but we were privileged to be guests of a couple who had. And from what our friends described, Nick the owner, has etched a little piece of Europe near Barrington (Cary to be exact) into his restaurant.

When you walk into Nick's place, there's a definate feeling of being transported back to a different time and place. The lighting is intimate, the guests are friendly, and live music permeates throughout - it's like walking into someone's home (in Europe) where everyone is a distant relative.

The menu is not typical tapas - from my experience - it seems the food is a collection of Greek, Spanish, Italian, and American. Among those selected, we experienced; sea scallops on a bed of butternut squash, spanish ribs, chicken breast with feta & kalamata olives, and a flat bread creation.

I'm told the dessert changes often as Nick has his own Pastry Chef (his son). The cannoli cake was a favorite of mine (also served tapas style).

There wasn't anything that I didn't like about our experience. It has a great communal feel where one doesn't really care how many people are 'squeezed' into the dining area. And I believe reservations are strongly recommended due to seating limitations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmBeacher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This tapas restaurant is located in an upscale meat market. The menu was interesting although not large. The food was quite good. Unfortunately the birthday celebration was marred by an incompetent server. Although quite pleasant, she was unfamiliar with the menu and ingredients in various items. We would have ordered differently had we been informed of what they offered. With a different server the evening could have been outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusMacTavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas Calpe of Cary also viewed

 

Been to Tapas Calpe of Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing