We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious hole in the wall”

Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 321 Restaurants in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago
Level Contributor
285 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Delicious hole in the wall”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The ironclad rule of BBQ and Mexican joints is, the worse the place looks on the outside, the better the food is on the inside.

Dos Reales looks like a dump. The food is outstanding.

First off, you'll notice the menu is enormous. It takes some time to sift through all the options. On a friend's recommendation, I got the burrito bravo - just an enormous burrito. You can choose steak or chicken. I ordered steak, but my girlfriend got a taco with the chicken and it was mindblowing. (The chicken is shredded and pulls apart, like what you get out of a slow cooker.)

If I went again, I'd go with chicken for sure.

The house margarita was just so-so. A little too tart for my taste.

Service was excellent, quick and friendly.

And everything is absurdly cheap.

It's a shame they close so early, because this would be amazing hangover food. (Someone needs to throw their hours up on Yelp. The day we called, they closed at 10:30 p.m.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BowmanInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
catlin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not always consistent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have eaten here many times, but our last time I ordered a fried chimichanga and it was apparent that they tried to cook it in lukewarm oil. It was terrible, and my husband got sick from the food. Other times, we have had better results. It has made us try other Mexican restaurants more frequently.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treslynn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Way North of Philly
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Inexpensive Mexican Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This has been there for a good 20 years or so, and is always reliable. Huge portions for not much money. If you don't order beers, you can eat for under $10/person. A 32 oz. Dos Equis on tap is only $3.99 9no, that was not a mistake on the bill), so even with beer, our entire dinner bill for two wasn't much over $20. This place is very popular whenever there's an event at UIUC. This time, we stopped in for an early dinner during our long road trip back home, so it wasn't crowded. Service has always been very efficient; we were back on the road within an hour. I think it's family owned and run. Rosa has been our waitress on more than one occasion.

Used to live in Champaign, and this was always our favorite Mexican restaurant -- much better than any of the chains that claim to have Mexican fare. The chiles rellenos are wonderful, as is everything else I've ever ordered. If your dish comes with beans, they will be refried, rather than whole black or pinto beans. It's absolutely worth eating here if you pass through town and want to stop for lunch or dinner. It's just a few blocks South of I-74, on N. Prospect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RussWayNorthofPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Steak Tacos!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The service was AMAZING and the place was very busy!! The waitstaff did such a great job with all the customers! They kept the drinks coming and checked on us often. The food was so good, one of the best Mexican restaurants I have eaten at! We both loved what we had and enjoyed the atmosphere a lot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluffybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go and try.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I read review of this restaurant in tripadvisor and went to try. I enjoyed the meal and service i got there.
Not expensive price and very good meal. Advising to try Azada meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALECHKO_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing