We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
I Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed at hotels ranging from motel 6 to four seasons and I have yet to see a hotel whose design was as well thought out as the I hotel. From the trivial checkin process (I gave him my id and he gave me the keys), to the retractable cord on the iron, to the lack of a stupid "ad page" when I log on to the internet, to the location of a single switch next to the bed to kill the lights - i could go on - Everything shows a clear mark of a thought and care driven design process. My only regret is that my stay was only one night. I should come back here to stay much, much longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witch351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    69
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
117
59
18
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I try to stay in the i-hotel every trip we make to Champaign. It is always clean which is essential for me. It is quiet. The staff is always courteous. The fitness room is clean and easy to use. The lobby is comfortable as well. I really can't come up with anything negative and I am very picky about my choice of hotels!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Carbon, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The I hotel is a beautiful facility in a great location. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the champaign area for any reason.

We went for an Illini basketball game and the front desk staff could not have between more informative and friendly.

Rooms are decorated in a tasteful modern decor and beds are very comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I travel frequently for work, but stay at the "I" when I visit family in the area. Service at this hotel is exemplary. I feel that the staff would do anything I ask. They are always bending over backwards. The quality of the rooms - especially the beds - are outstanding. The vibe is Sean Connery James Bond. The place just oozes class. My wife would strangle me if I suggested staying anywhere else in Champaign.

Room Tip: I like looking out over the main road where you can see more of the college life going on around you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitaminMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels while traveling for work and this is one of my favorites. The staff in each department are so friendly, attentive, and courteous and they always have the biggest smiles! The hotel is stylish and it feels like home. Everyone slept great as we were all well rested in the morning. I recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure since it's in a great location. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
747 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked here without reading reviews and once settled in checked in TA and was very surprised to see the high ratings, here is my review

Public areas, very nice and quite stylish, bar restaurant food was ok but service was really inattentive, lots of staff floating about but took a manager to ask if we had been served, no we've been ignored by all the milling staff so far ......

Basics here are done quite well, bed comfy, wifi good, but shower seemed to have two settings, either too hot or too cold.

Room is just odd, seems to be trying too hard to be stylish but really badly finished, all electrical fittings are at odd angles and switches in odd places, difficult to turn lights off from bed for instance. Bathroom feels clinical due to subway tiles and excess stainless handles (4 in bath) for some reason and no soft furnishings. Closet has a waste height shelf meaning clothes rack is at floor level and you have to get to the safe on your knees. You step out of the shower and have to walk across the hall to the strange shelf just to get a towel, all a bit bizarre.

The thing that really made me smile was the typical 'we are committed to the environment' note when the hotel has an open gas flame at the entrance ..... Many other hotels have the sign to save laundry costs but I've never seen a hotel so blatantly saying one thing and doing another.

Really wasn't impressed with this place all in all, undeserving and pretty average currently.

Rob

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here on the recommendation of family who live close by who we were visiting. Chic feel when we walked in. Manager introduced himself and offered us water which we actually needed. Easy check in. Got coupons for some thing from their "I-cafe" for the morning which was nice. Room also has chic feel and was nice. Comfy bed and cool glass door for shower. We liked the room had a fridge which we needed for the infants milk. Used the gym which was basic but exactly what I needed with decent equipment. Also nice little touch having several papers available for free at front desk each day. Ate breakfast at houilhans (restaurant on site) only $8.98 on weekends and was good for what we needed. Easy check out. Great value and would definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champaign hotels
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
597 reviews
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel and Conference Center

Property: I Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1900 South First Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your I Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing