We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Campus Visit...but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
I Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Campus Visit...but”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for one night on a college campus tour with my son. Excellent location, easy access to campus, and, free parking. Beautiful common areas and ultra-modern sophisticated lobby. Helpful, courteous front desk staff. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. Quiet modern room for a cool and comfortable night's sleep. Very clean, fresh bedding. Good bathroom with fine toiletries.

Everything was great at the Hotel...except...the restaurants associated with the center. Breakfast voucher at Starbucks was a nice touch, and maybe it was just a fluke, but, my panini was tasteless and skimpy on ingredients compared to off-site Starbucks. And, the service at Houlihans, on a slow night, was so bad, we left after 20 minutes without ever having our order taken. We would definitely recommend the I Hotel, just skip the restaurants, and go into town for better dining options.

Room Tip: They probably all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope H, Public Relations Manager at I Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Cynthia,
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the I Hotel and Conference Center. Your comments regarding your service are very important to us. We want our customers to enjoy their entire stay at the I Hotel and Conference Center including our adjoining restaurant, so your report of a poor customer experience is of serious concern for us. Please let us express our deepest apologies. You deserve only the best service when you visit our property. We will review your concerns and will take appropriate actions. Upon your next visit, please ask don't hesitate to speak with the management team when we do not meet your expectations. Our goal is to always exceed your expectations, so thank you again for your feedback and safe future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    66
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
108
57
17
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a July 4 visit with family. The hotel is modern, beautiful, and convenient. I had two nights of the best sleep I've had in months. Why? It's the little things: a great bed; good pillows and linens; AC that cools the room sufficiently and has a fan that stays ON, so you're not awoken by the thing cycling on and off; quiet; and shades that darken the room completely. Plus, it was not super expensive and our breakfast one morning was included. I recommend this place strongly and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

...with the previous reviews--this is a wonderful oasis in the CU area. Modern design, very clean, comfortable beds. The location is nice; it was good to get away from that hotel mess north of I-74. I could see the Assembly Hall out my window and they have a green roof (LEED hotel?) There's a lovely area outside with nice patio furniture and a fountain. The fitness center had a cooler with little bottles of water. They offer 4 different newspapers in the morning, Starbucks coffee in the room, and Rusk toiletries. There are a half dozen books in the room to read,and a Wine Spectator magazine, too. The lobby has a chess set out. All these little touches add up to a superior experience.

Also, a shout out to Gabe who helped me with a room rate question, cheerfully and helpfully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adanna814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times since it was built. The staff is always courteous and helpful. The rooms are always clean. There is ample parking. It has a nice fitness room for a hotel of this size. It is very close to Assembly Hall and Memorial Stadium. They provide shuttle service to campus, but it is a very nice and relatively short walk to campus so the shuttle is not really necessary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here during a recent work trip to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and really enjoyed my time at the hotel. It's a nice modern hotel right next to campus. The staff is really courteous and professional, checking us in quickly and giving us a bottle of water, which was much appreciated after the long trip to Illinois. The rooms are about average size but very clean with a nice modern style, and with a really fresh scent, as if they thorough shampoo the carpets every day. Starbucks is within the hotel near the lobby and you get a free coffee and breakfast sandwich to redeem there with your stay at the hotel. There is also the restaurant Houlahan's that's connected to the hotel which is a solid spot for dinner. The price is also very reasonable. I'd highly recommend staying here if you have to stay somewhere near the University.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armadillo_footprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room was very clean and quiet. Important to us. However, the 2 queen beds in our room had very soft and uncomfortable mattresses even though they were pretty new. Also, the security latch on the door was not operable because it was installed before a wall was put up that prevented it from moving. TV did not work as well.

Location is ideal for those who want to be near the campus but in a quiet area tucked away from the craziness of a campus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope H, Public Relations Manager at I Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
NordDivision,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations at our property. We will review all of the outlined concerns with the room and make the necessary changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there this weekend I thought it was a lovely hotel. Small but sufficient. The added amenities in the room were nice. There were robes in the room for free use, there was a privacy screen on the window that let light in with privacy, modern clean decor, and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Starbucks coffee was available in the room and a cafe and Houlahans on the premises. We received a complementary coffee and breakfast sandwich with the price of the room for each night. A very nice choice whether you are visiting the campus or just in town. Check it out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel & Conference Center

Property: I Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1900 S 1st St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — I Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your I Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel And Conference Center
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing