We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Place Champaign Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Value Place Champaign Renovated”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

New management, new staff, new rooms. All non-smoking rooms and monthly bug sprays. The druggies and prostitutes are gone and Felipe runs a very tight ship. New house rules that are enforced. On site law enforcement to keep the peace. This hotel is mostly for long term rentals (7 days +). New staff very courteous and helpful. If you are loud, messy, rude, or trashy, you will be evicted with little notice (don't mess with Dante). I will stay here next time.

Room Tip: Get a room next to a WiFi repeater. Better signal and streaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbohacheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Greetings from the Team Members of Value Place Champaign!

We really appreciate your time in giving us a review. Apparently, you must have met Felipe, the manager. He is doing a great job in making the property a 5-star experience. Compared to what it was one year ago, the place is completely different! Glad you could stay with us and come again!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    16
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
24
10
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I had the same experience as the prior review. We booked our reservations for three rooms in September and when we got to the hotel we were told we did not have the rooms. Intially I was told that they had an internet problem and did not know about 50 reservations into their system. However, the clerk called up the reservation list and our reservation was on it. But they still did not honor the reservation. I have been told that this hotel will commonly overbook rooms on very busy weekends, presumably to make sure that the place is full. I would avoid this place if at all possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Mark,

Please accept our humblest apologies. What happened to you and your family at our Champaign location is inexcusable. We are working on training our staff so that they become skilled professionals in their treatment of our valued guests. The confusion that you and other guests experienced that day will not be replicated. Please know we are working on the booking reservation issue tenaciously. We would be happy to offer you and your family a discount or equal amenity with your next stay with us if you wish.

Sincerely,
David with VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Champaign hotels

Madison, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Sheets had globs of hair. Room stunk, literally, of smoke. 1st day we woke up to bed bugs. VP staff verified, then disappeared. They did refund my money, but did not offer use of their laundry facility to clean my clothes. They reluctantly gave me plastic garbage bags for my contaminated articles. No manager on site, supposedly a "regional" manager was contacted but no return call was ever made. One staff member said the room was recently declared safe from a previous infestation. Worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Greetings from the Team at Value Place Champaign!

Larry - It is my pleasure to announce to you that Value Place Champaign is renovated and under new management since you last stayed with us. The issues that you encountered have been addressed and eradicated. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. Now, you will find clean rooms, friendly staff and professional management. Please consider us again in the future.

Thank you,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I have been here goin on two months due to our apartment having black mold I tell what I've never been treated witth that much respect from anyone in my life I want to thank the value place in champaign ill and they had no problem with our grandkids comin over and stayin with us the only problem I see is that the windows don't open very far andd then there is no pets allowed but then there was a guy that had a dog and itt was not a service dog either but overall I wiill refer anyone to stay here it is the best in town

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradawncorbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Laura,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We can't be happier to know that we are providing for a big family while you were in between apartments/homes.

We love that you stayed with us. Would love to see you around again!

David
Value Place Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was a clean hotel and for $199/week, you get what you pay for. Internet is extra, $10 for the week. Property manager was very polite, other staff could use some help. Walls are thin, lots of various cooking smells throughout and the bed was less than comfortable. Full refrigerator and kitchen area. Checkout is different and you have to plan accordingly as you need to give 24 hours notice or they keep $45 of your $100 deposit. Again, it's a clean hotel with full kitchen area, and only $199 for the week. Personally, I'm ok paying a little more for a comfortable bed and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahnpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings from the Value Place Management Team!

You have made some insightful observation about our hotel! Our business is centered on the fact that our guests will stay with us for quite some time. This is why we have a kitchen and a laundry facility on-site. By staying a long time (over one week), this allows us to charge a very minimal price - $199/week which you pointed out (which works out to be $28/night!).

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. We value being clean A LOT. We also value safety and affordability. The staff has been replaced with a more professional staff since the time of your review. Also, we do try to keep the building quiet as much as we can.

The checkout is different because as an Extended Stay Hotel, we are different from traditional hotels. We don't have many amenities or extras but we will save you the most money! Guaranteed. Thank you for your review - you are most welcome to come stay with us again.

David
Value Place Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I'm a student at the local University so there's a week in between leases where students either go back home or go to a hotel. Unfortunately, we plan things at the last minute so a lot of the hotels were booked and the nightly fares were getting pretty high in those that were not booked.

I found a suite at value place and the price was just about right, it was 300 for the week and split to about 150 per person. I didn't really expect too much from it, since the name is value place, but I convinced my roommate that it was only to sleep.

To our surprise, the hotel was really clean, the staff was nice and the room looked like a suite. There was a good size kitchen with a full size refrigerator, TV with cable, air conditioning, stove, cabinets, bathroom with a tub, it was all very nice.

We didn't have one single problem during the seven days we stayed.
Most of the times it was quiet except for a night were one of the neighbors was being a bit rowdy, but it was a one time thing.

There is laundry on-site in the first floor, vending machines and a pool.
The only downfall was that the floors smelled like cigar/smoke and at first so did the room, but we got a good supply of air fresheners and odor absorb tablets and we were able to fix the problem (I come from an asthmatic family and I have sinus issues so it was quite a bother to walk around the floors).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ortizfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
AWESOME!

Glad you had a good experience with us and that your friends were able to join you. And thanks for taking the time to tell others about your experience on TripAdvisor.

There's a $20 off coupon on the Value Place Champaign Facebook page!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to give you a happy 1-week stay with us. Come again and good luck in school!

David
Value Place Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champaign hotels
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#16 of 25 in Champaign
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
#23 of 25 in Champaign
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Champaign
Super 8 Champaign
#24 of 25 in Champaign
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana

Property: WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana
Address: 1212 W Anthony Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. Kitchens in every room. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. - Front desk opened and staffed 24/7. - Pet-friendly hotel - Daily housekeeping included in nightly rate. - Private bathroom in each suite (ADA and ADA w/ Roll-In shower available). - Guests can book by the night. Weekly and extended stay rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Champaign Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing