We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad location and place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Corydon, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad location and place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we first got there, there was no parking. The hotel clerk was very nice though. The hotel is located slightly outside of the city; however, pretty easy to get downtown without using the toll roads.

The hotel was quiet and we had no problems; the carpet and other fixtures were a bit more used than most Country Inn and Suites hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    97
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
145
69
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Because of this property's good Trip Advisor reviews, we booked a room through Hotels.com for December 27-30. Day one was uneventful, although I agree with a previous reviewer that this property could use an upgrade. Nothing special. Surprising, in fact, due to the good Trip Advisor reviews. At about 11:30 p.m. the second night, we were abruptly awakened by a screaming fire alarm. Somehow the ceiling fire sprinkler went off in a guest room two doors down from our room and across the hall. Water came streaming out of the room and before long, two fire department trucks arrived. By the time the water was cut off, it had streamed down the hall to our room's door. We hurriedly packed the van, sloshed down the hall to check out, and met "George" behind the counter. I asked for a refund for the two remaining nights and for check-out documentation. He asked if would like to be moved to a room on the second floor. When I declined, he replied that I would have to contact Hotels.com for a refund, and further, they didn't give check out documentation in this case. After I got home, I called Hotel's.com and have received no satisfactory service from them or Country Inn and Suites Champaign-North. I called Hotels.com and when they failed to work out a compromise, I called "Penny" the manager of the property. So I ask you? You are aakened by a fire alarm, two fire trucks, and ambulance, workmen trying to stop water from flooding your room, the smell stinks and I should not be able to check out early for a refund? (By the way, my reservation was not an advance, no changes reservation!) Some service! For those interested, Wingate, right next door, was so much nicer in facilities and staff for the same price. Unfortunately, unless I can win an appeal with my Discover Card, I guess consumer satisfaction is not the paradigm with either Country Inns and Suites or Hotels.com

Room Tip: Go to Wingate. Much nicer in facilities and staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 37774ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We wish to express our gratitude to Bryan, the manager over Christmas weekend, for the outstanding service we received. The hotel was quiet, clean, and the entire staff was very responsive. Food (breakfast) was very good and the serving staff kept things clean and inviting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel was clean, but it could use an upgrade.We had a one bedroom suite.Suite size was okay, would be nice to have a better TV. Breakfast buffet was not impressive.Food did not taste good and very limited in what they had to offer as part of the buffet.

The lady that checked us in was nice, but the lady that worked overnight seemed to be having a bad night,not very friendly.

Pool is nice with plenty of room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gosox35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We recently visited Champaign, neither of us having been there before. We were very pleased when we were offered to upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi for no extra charge. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful, offering directions to local restaurants etc. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzybaby230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is one of the better Country Inns we have stayed at. Room was clean and staff was attentive.The service in the breakfast restaurant was 1st class. We spent 2 nights and were impressed with all of the staff. The night clerk even brought the cookies out for us at midnight when we came in. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room was excellent and a great value for the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David56Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I were in town for three days and very much enjoyed our stay. The lobby, halls and room were all VERY CLEAN, and did not have any "cleaning" oder. Our room was very nice, like a small studio apartment. The hall noise is the only complaint we would have, as on the weekend you could hear it in the front part of the room. The noise was not noticeable in our "bedroom" area.

There was a small fridge, small microwave, couch, chair, office chair and table with tv in the front living area. There was a small open sink and the bathroom in the middle area/hall. The bedroom area was seperated by a french style door and provide a very nice home style feeling.

We were very happy with the stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickey-n-julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 602 W Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Champaign
#8 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning property is located within walking distance of several dining choices and the Market Place Mall. Exit off of I-72 at exit 181 Prospect Ave and go north one block and turn right. Property offers a free daily Breakfast Buffet,free Internet access, Indoor Pool, 24 Hr Fitness Center, 24 hr Business Center, Fresh Baked Cookies Daily, Read and Return book library, Club Carlson loyalty program and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Champaign-North
Country Inn & Suites Champaign-North Hotel Champaign
Country Inn Champaign North
Champaign Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing