We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papa Del's Pizza - CLOSED

Papa Del's Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Papa Del's is the best pizza I have ever had. They are known for their thick crust but I like their American style which is a thin crust. Either way it is delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    64
    32
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are hunting for the best deep dish pizza, this is it. I have been to some of the best places in Chicago (Gino's East etc.) and this is my favorite. Sauce is fantastic and the ingredients are top notch. Best sausage I have ever had on a pizza. Get yourself to Papa Del's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Classic Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I always loved the pizza here. I even worked here as a delivery driver many years ago. Service was good as waitress did checkbacks and the food was cooked pretty quickly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hrw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Papa Del's deep dish is still the best pizza I have ever had, and I've been eating there for over 30 years. The sauce is amazing and complements the thick crust well. The service is always college students and you can tell that this is not their calling on life, but it doesn't matter even a little bit. The pizza is so terrific that they ship it all over the country to the craving alumni.

Helpful?
Thank GT24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is another restaurant I was told to try after I moved to the area, and I was not disappointed by the quality of the food. This is some of the best pizza I have ever had! The only problem is the price, easily two times what I would ordinarily pay. It's definitely worth it, though. If you like a nice, deep-dish style pizza, this place is for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Del's Pizza also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing