We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Champaign
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here in Jan/2013 for one night. Good hotel decent location (about 15-20 minutes from UofI campus - depending on where you're going). Friendly staff - can't really complain.

Why 4 stars - well location, is on the north side of I-74 (where most of the budget hotels are) so if you're going anywhere near campus it can take 15-20 minutes).

They have a new newly renovated lobby - like the style that all Courtyard's are getting I guess.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barramundi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
17
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stopped at this hotel with no reservations late evening after a long drive from MN to OH. We chose this hotel because we've always had a great stay at Marriott (Courtyards) whether it was planned (for business) or spontaneous while on a personal trip. We had just a horrible experience at another name brand chain on the trip OH to MN and were hyper wary and critical.

The front desk was polite, friendly, efficient, and even looked up our Rewards number. She gave us a quiet room (like we requested) upgraded us to a king bed room (I had inquired about), and recommended a restaurant for the type of food we were looking. We dropped off our bags, inspected the room, and went to dinner, by the time we returned, she had left message in the room to confirm everything was satisfactory.

The room was clean, crisp sheets (love the double sheet duvet) the location was quiet and towels were soft and big. Good coffee in the morning in the lobby, front desk at checkout was polite. I have had consistently great service and rooms with Courtyard Marriott.

I will choose a Marriott over any other chain given the geographical opportunity!
89870

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This hotel is located a few minutes off the highways in a major shopping district. The lobby/dining area is very attractive, clean and comfortable. I found the front desk staff friendly and welcoming, though not terribly efficient. Our first room had a technical issue with the heating, but we were able to change easily enough. My sense was that the rooms felt small - we had a 2 queen room, and these do feel smaller than those with kings. Dining facilities at Courtyards do vary - this one has call-order servery/bar. I used the bar in the evening and sandwiches/pizzas appeared to be available until 10 pm. We also used the servery for breakfast, which was delivered speedily and at a reasonable price (having said which I much prefer those Courtyards that offer a breakfast buffet).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChampaignCYD_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Champaign, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you for bringing the heater & slow front desk issues to our attention. I apologize you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed. We have taken several steps to help ensure these situations don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Champaign Courtyard by Marriott another try if you find yourself in the Champaign/Urbana area again.
Sincerely,

Steven Steinhauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard for a few days while visiting family. The room was spacious, and one of the newer properties in Champaign/Urbana. The lobby is very warm and inviting, and has a modern feel to it. Check in was a breeze, and the staff was attentive to my requests at check in. The pool area and fitness area appeared to be in good condition. The laundry area was clean and the machines were in good working condition (one washer/one dryer). The room itself was very spacious, and the bed quite comfortable. The standard room came with a flat screen tv and wifi. Note that although the website claims this property has wifi and ethernet in the room, only wifi is available. The wifi internet connection was fantastic, and streaming movies and gaming was no problem.
The bathroom was straightforward, and very clean. A small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker is provided.
Breakfast was offered, but you have to pay. Starbucks coffee is offered for a fee, and basic breakfast items are available for different prices.
I would highly recommend this property. The hotel is in good condition, very clean, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zapataii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I was in Champaign for work and stayed there for 3 nights in early December. Overall, this was an excellent hotel, given it is in Champaign. I would say this is a typical Courtyard property. The check in was fast and the lady who served me was polite. The room was huge (with 2 beds) and spacious. The decor is modern, but the coach looks a bit old. The room comes with a fridge and to my surprise, a microwave (that's the first time I have ever had a microwave in my hotel room). The washroom area was spacious and clean. The sink and mirror are actually outside the bathroom, right across from the mirror closet. The location is decent and it is close to the freeway and a pretty large mall. My only complain is that the bathroom lighting was dim, which made it hard to see things. Overall, it was a great place to rest after a couple days of work and long travelling.

Room Tip: Booking might be tight if there is a big game or sporting event in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyzzaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the courtyard Marriott the week of thanksgiving while visiting family and we were very satisfied. The hotel is clean, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the room was great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed at on a ten day trip and the ONLY one that was truly designed for someone in a wheelchair. The bathroom was well set up and had room for the chair to turn around. The sink was the right height and was roll under. There was enough room between the beds for the chair. The final feature that demonstrated the attention to detail was that the clothes rod in the closet had been lowered so the person in the chair could actually hang up their clothes. Hooray for Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsydv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champaign hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Champaign
Residence Inn Champaign
#11 of 25 in Champaign
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Champaign

Property: Courtyard Champaign
Address: 1811 Moreland Blvd, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1223
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Champaign 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Champaign Hotel Champaign
Champaign Courtyard
Champaign Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing