We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair but disappointing overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fair but disappointing overall”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Main floor room was clean and bed was comfortable. Extrememly dark, however, as window faces parking lot at eye level and we had to keep blinds closed for privacy. We brought some of our own food only to find that there were no dishes or cutlery whatsoever. Reading thru other revew just now, I see this has been a going concern yet to be addressed. There was a faint overall sense of the lodge being in need of some oomph and rejuvenation decor-wise.
Price of room was far too high for what it was.
We were looking forward to eating at Buglers, the on-site restaurant, based on the rather glamourous description found on the website. The pub menu & breakfast was quite good and the server was gracious. The dining room just was not as "swanky" as we'd expected but oh, well...However, our last meal there (an anticipated fancy dinner) was a bit of a gong show and I seriously doubt "the culinary team" referred to in the literature provided is still in residence.
We felt, actually, the whole dining experience had been grossly misrepresented. Food for dinner was sub par and expensive.
The natural setting and surroundings are the saving grace of this lodge.

Room Tip: Request a room anywhere other than facing parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureNut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Nature Nut,
Thank you for staying with us at the Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort recently. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.
I have talked with the management, and we now have cutlery in all of our guest rooms, to go along with the fridge and microwave.
I can see that your room would have been dark, having the curtains closed. We strive to ensure that each guest is comfortable and safe.
I look forward to ensuring your next stay is in a room on the 2nd floor!
We do have trained and certified chefs at Buglers Dining Room and lounge and our focus is on local and fresh cuisine.
Thank you again!
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    51
    21
    21
    13
See reviews for
70
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stopped for a night on our way home from Calgary. The place was almost empty because it was the end of the long weekend; however, there were guests in the next room. This place isn't very sound proof. The room was decent and spacious, but we should not have taken a pet friendly room because of allergies. I'm not sure if the allergic reaction was from the room or the pollen in the air? Anyway, we did enjoy a walk along the beach followed by a swim in the pool and a soak in the hot tub. I would stay here again, but definitely would want a room that never had pets in it.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the ice machine and be careful if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hi Laurel!
Thank you for staying in the Cypress Hills, at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort! It is unfortunate that you experienced allergies during your stay, but we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the scenery!
We look forward to having you come back and stay in a beautiful room, where pets are not allowed!
Thanks again,
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lethbridge
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My first time to Elkwater and I live about 2 1/2 hours away. Its a great little place not to far from home so I'd like to come back again for a mini holiday. Some fun hiking trails around - easy, medium and a few harder ones (but nothing like the Rockies of course!). We had a large group and stayed for 3 nights. Our room was on the ground floor with no deck or walk-out - which next time I will try for one of those. Some of our group also had a few of the rustic cabins rented - and it was lots of fun to have campfires and cook smokies and smores in the evenings. The rustic cabins look like they would be fun to rent also - and perfect for two of you! although they do sleep more. Our groundfloor room had a small fridge and microwave - so plan ahead and bring some snacks as there is not much open (late May) and the restaurant on-site was closed by 8:30. Had a quick swim in the salt water pool - not very deep but still fun to check out. We also sat in the hot tub. It holds about 5 people. It was fun to check out but could see it would get crowded and busy possibly in the high season? We went hiking and it was nice to go sit in there afterwards. We ate at Buglers Restaurant quite a few times - the staff was great and the food was good - but the pork tenderloin was very good. I tried a body wrap in the spa and it was lots of fun and I was glad I gave it a try. We even caught a few trout in Reesor Lake one afternoon. I would have like to drive some of the backroads and explore, and try a few more hiking trails. Overall, the getaway was fun, the staff was very nice and accommodating, it was fun to try the spa out and go hiking and fishing. I don't know how busy this place gets in the summer, but the end of May was a great time to go and just hang out for a couple of days. If you can keep yourself entertained with quiet, walks/hikes, fishing and exploring - plus bring some snacks or lunch along - and you will like it here.

Room Tip: it would be nice to have a 2nd level deck to sit out on and relax in the mornings or evenings - or i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi Nirt!
We are so glad you were able to make it to Elkwater, it is so beautiful and serene here!
Thank you for writing a lovely review for our property as well.
We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Elkwater.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just 45 minutes from Medicine Hat, the Elkwater Lake Lodge is a great place to escape for the weekend. The room was nothing great, (thin walls, older TV, front lights outside the balcony that shine in your room all night and bed right beside the hallway door) but it was clean. The restaurant was very good - excellent service, clean & excellent food. Just up the road is another local spot, 12-34 Cafe & Pub - great new facility.

Room Tip: If you stay here, request a room on the East side; we wanted to keep the window or patio door open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quartag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi Quartag5!
Thank you for honestly reviewing the Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort. We appreciate every opportunity to improve, and will certainly use your input as a learning lesson.
We strive to ensure that our rooms are clean, and we appreciate your feedback in that regard, we have won the housekeeping award many years in a row!
We also appreciate your feedback regarding the lights, televisions and noise level in the rooms.
I do hope you will come back and enjoy a different room, which does have flat screen televisions, is away from the main lodge and will certainly be a quiet respite for your staycation.
Thank you kindly,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stay at the resort in the Winter, it was very quiet the whole time we were there. The town is nealy completly shut-down, except for the grocerystore/bar/offsale store and a gas station. we stayed in the hotel suites, which were in great condition. The pool was closed for maintenance which didn;t affect us, we don;t swim much. The staff was very freindly as well. OVER ALL: Great place. Price is reduced in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mt_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I brought my wife here for a romantic, kid-free getaway. It's been great.

The walls are a little thin. Our neighbours weren't unreasonably loud, but we could still hear them. It wasn't too bad, though.

Our room was beautiful and clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. We ate in the restaurant, and the food and service were excellent. The spa on site was such a wonderful thing to try. We each had a hot stone massage, and it was wonderful.

The pool and hot tub were great, too.

If you want to disappear for a few days, this is where to go. Take advantage of all amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyrelMcLelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 went skiing at Hidden Valley for the day & stayed the night at Elkwater Lake Lodge in a loft suite. I was not sure what to expect. I brought a lasagne, salad & garlic bread to cook in the oven. I also brought paper plates & cutlery as I did not know what to expect. The loft was awesome. It was stocked with plates, cups, cutlery, oven mitts, pots & pans! I was surprised! Also had dishwasher for easy cleanup the next morning. The loft was very spacious & fit our needs well. We brought a single blowup bed for one child but there was plenty of space to set it up. We did bring our own blankets & it turned out we needed to as there was only 1 extra for the pull out couch. The hotel is beautiful and the kids loved the pool and we soaked our bones after skiing which was great!! In the morning we seen wildlife outside the hotel. So nice!! We will return for sure!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rizzy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Property: Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Address: 401 4th Street, Elkwater, Alberta T0J 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Elkwater
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkwater Lake Hotel Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing