We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bug Alert” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bed Bug Alert”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

For our family reunion, we rented 2 units. One was a King Jacuzzi which was fine - the other was considered to be a condo and the bed was infested with bed bugs. The staff took the complaint and assured us that the manager would call us right away. After not hearing from the Manager, we called the former owners of the lodge - who assured us that there were new owners but that they had escalated our concern. The Manager then called back to say that they were investigating and that the new owners had had the unit inspected and did not find bed bugs. I asked for the name of the new owners and also od the company who inspected the bed. The manager said they would call us back. When they did, it was to tell us that the condos were not owned by the lodge and that the owner of the condo had lots of experience with bed bugs and had inspected it himself. I am very angry that the lodge would not take responsibility at all. Poor service!! By the way, my adult daughter saw a doctor about her bites. The doctor validated that it appeared to be bed bug bites.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 252kathyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for staying at Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort recently.We appreciate your input regarding the situation with bed bugs, we have addressed this situation with professional exterminators. We value your doctors opinion regarding his diagnosis of bed bugs,however, our professional found zero traces of any type of infestation in the rooms they inspected. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and wish you the happiest travel in future.

Best Regards
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    49
    20
    21
    13
See reviews for
70
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rosthern, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in room # 609 which had a queen bed on one side of the bathroom, and a hide-a-bed in living room on the other side of the bathroom. We booked in with a wedding and the price was $144 per night. This room was in a condo right behind the hotel and was very close to the pool. As a family with children, we made good use of the pool. The pool temperature varied from day to day. I found it cold the first day, but the next day it was nice. I could touch the bottom in the deep end, which was nice as I could watch the kids easier. The hot tub was too hot for anyone to use.
Our room was in the basement so we had a flight of stairs to deal with every time we left the room. It is built into the hill so we could walk out at ground level on the balcony side. The room was nice and clean. It had a nice gas fireplace and the air conditioner worked great. The room was decorated with dark grey, black, and browns which made it dark, even with the blind open. We didn't mind this as we were not in our room, except to sleep. The scenery is beautiful. A forest in the middle of the prairies. We did not bring our dog on this trip, but the place is pet-friendly and there are lots of beautiful trails to take your dog for a walk on. They even had a dog food and water dish in the room under the bar sink. As was mentioned in previous reviews, the kitchenette has a set of dishes as well as cutlery. They also have dishsoap, dish cloth, and a tea towel so you can wash your dishes. There was a large flat-screen TV which we managed to screw up. We called the front desk and they sent someone over right away to fix it. The bathroom had a nice big tub and a curved shower rod giving it even more space. The carpet was nice and soft and clean. We attended a wedding that was catered by the hotel, and the food was very good. We picked up some pizza from the gas station restaurant and it was ok, but not great. There is also a grocery store by the information booth where we picked up some microwave popcorn and pop.

Recommendations:
- If you have young children that you have to carry, get a room at ground level
- bring your pet!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way back from Banff. We had no plans on stopping on the Alberta side of the Cypress Hills but the Saskatchewan side resort was sold out. As we drove my wife read reviews of this property on Tripadviser so we decided to take the 30 minute drive south off Highway # 1. We could not get over how well kept the property was and how helpful the staff was that checked us in. Once we got settled in our room we went for a long bike ride around the park. It was a very quiet camping area with the rugged beauty of the Cypress Hills as a back drop.
After our bike ride we ate at the Restaurant on the Hotel Property. The meal was excellent. There was a wide variety of gourmet dishes to choose from and an excellent wine list. Breakfast the next morning at this same venue was also well prepared.
Our spacious Hotel room had a balcony and gas fire place along with a very comfortable bed. The room rate was very reasonable for this type of quality lodging at $ 160.00 per night CDN.
We hope to come back to this Hotel for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaskatchewanViking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night in Early August. Our room was had 2 double beds and a small balcony which was perfect for sitting down and enjoying the warm late afternoon and evening sunshine that the balcony faced.

The hotel is very comfortable and kept up to date. The lobby and other main areas were clean and comfortable.

Reception was very courteous. She explained the hotel amenities and pointed out other places we could eat other than the hotel's dining ( Called Bugler's) We did decide to have our morning breakfast at Buglers and have to say the food and service there was great. We recommend it.

The television in our room was still the older tube type, but the picture quality was ok and the satellite cable service gave a good choice of channel selection

A pleasant walk from the hotel to the lake. A longer 10 minute walk to the town center , but it was enjoyable. This is a beautiful area of Cypress Hills.

The hotel does have a swimming pool and hot tub, which was very nice. We felt the hot tub jets were either set way too low, or they were not working, which took away from the very reason to enjoy it.

We really enjoyed our short stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in this area.

Thankyou Elkwater Lake Lodge Staff for a very short but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a family reunion at Elkwater Lake Lodge and it was a wonderful experience for everyone. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lodge's catering service was helpful and efficient. The Bugler restaurant served very good food--we were impressed! The lodge is in Cypress Hills provincial park, which is an oasis of beauty amid the Alberta prairie. The park services are excellent, and there are several beaches for kids and adults (it was pretty hot in July!). Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in a king bed room, the bed spread looks dated and the table and chairs in the room were patio furniture. The room is quite dark, I don't think brown wall paper helps. The small fridge came in handy as we needed to keep a few things in there before joining the rest of our family who was camping nearby. The rooms are kept clean. The outside of the lodge looks nice and I used the outdoor seating area to read.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear sipari_traveller,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it is a great way for you to share your opinion with other travellers. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the bedding during your stay, we are constantly looking for ways to improve the services and amenties for our guests, we will take your comments into consideration. I am curious as to having patio furniture in your room, we do have some guest rooms which have wicker furniture, but not patio. Our maintenance personel will be looking into this today. Also, we will double check to ensure patio furinture from the deck is put back outside if it is brought indoors.
We are glad that you found your room to be clean, we are very proud of ourselves for winning the Housekeeping Award 6 years in a row.
We are also glad you enjoyed the outdoors to read your book! I bet that was truly relaxing.
Thank you again for taking the time.
All the best,
Management & Staff at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Butiful location in the middle of a prairie comes an oasis of trees lakes and mountains.

On my trip I stayed in two rooms. One was the hotel style to and one was the loft.

The hotel style room was a shame because it offered no kitchen, cutlery or plates. Only a mini fridge and a microwave. Very basic room.

The loft on the other hand was very well furnished with a full kitchen and two bathrooms. It also had two floors with a bed on the top floor and a sofa bed on the bottom floor.

The restrant at the hotel was overpriced but the one on the other side of town is regularly priced. The amenities at the pool are good with a salt water pool that is often buisy. There is generally no tpwls on weekends.

There is not many people staying on weekdays. And is a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123matt456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Property: Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Address: 401 4th Street, Elkwater, Alberta T0J 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Elkwater
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkwater Lake Hotel Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing