We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosalie Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is an incredibly beautiful spot on an unbelievably beautiful island. Staff are constantly cleaning and sprucing up the rooms, facilities and grounds. We recommend paying extra for an oceanfront room - it is worth the backporch view and the sound of the ocean. We don't recommend the resort if you have small children, as the pool water is natural salt and dark in color, and the ocean is rough and isn't an option for swimming (but it is absolutely gorgeous to watch). The open air restaurant overlooking the river and ocean is beautiful and so relaxing. The frequent rain showers keep everything green and refreshing.One downside is actually an upside in a way -the resort is far from any other restaurants, stores, but that also makes it incredibly private and peaceful. There are hummingbirds, and beautiful plants and colorful flowers are everywhere.
Only negative experience is that you can end up spending a lot more money here than the cost of your room. We had the sense that the free activities offered there were an opportunity to try to sell their tours, though it was soft sell approach and nothing pushy. The tour guides for the hotel were fantastic, but being more offering of basic info about buses, local stores to buy supplies, and arrangements with cab drivers would be appreciated. You probably want to rent a car if you stay here - though bear in mind that the infrastructure on the island is constantly in disrepair and driving can be pretty scary. The staff at Rosalie Bay is largely Dominican, and the culture and people of the island are so beautiful, dignified, and community oriented. It is hard to fully express the positive impact of the natural beauty and people of this island. We will carry the vibrations with us for a long time
.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
117
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quiet and peaceful with lovely views of ocean,large attractively designed gardens, and very friendly and well-trained staff especially in dining room and pool bar. Just spent a week there and a great place to relax and unwind after exploring the roads and trails in this unspoilt natural island.
The food and service in the dining room is excellent and enjoyed the special Valentine's day dinner. Beautiful views of the ocean on deck surrounding the dining room.The rooms are spotless and garden room lovely to sit outside on deck and watch the humming and other birds.
Everyone friendly when out walking in the area and stop to greet you and have a chat. Snorkelling good at Champagne Reef and recommend a guide as know where the fish,etc, are.
Highly recommend this hotel if like quiet and peaceful locations.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I recently returned from a one week stay at Rosalie Bay and it is a wonderful hotel. The location is remote and gorgeous, and the soundtrack of the property is the Atlantic crashing on the beach and the tropical birds calling out in the evenings. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to anticipate information and assistance we might need given our schedule. For example, the night before we checked out, they provided us with some sandwiches and fruit since we had to leave for the airport before the restaurant opened the next day. Everyone we spoke to on the staff was eager to find out how our trip was going, what sites we had seen, and were planning on seeing in the next few days. Beverly, the owner, made a point to check in with us to see if we'd successfully hiked Boiling Lake (we did, and it was amazing).

The food at Zamaan's is delicious. The breakfast included in your room price typically comes with lots of local fresh fruit and juices, and tasty homemade oatmeal, granola or porridge. It's more than enough to get you out the door and through the morning if you are spending your days exploring the hiking and other outdoor activities the island has to offer.

More generally, on that note, Rosalie Bay offers a great spot to rest and recharge each night if you are going on an active, eco-tourism vacation. We found that all of the wonderful things we read about Dominica's national parks and marine reserve were very much true: it is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. But with that beauty comes some very challenging hiking, lots of sun and wind, and, at the end of the day, a few sore muscles (betware hiking Morne Diablotins if it is pouring rain), muddy socks, and the like. It was a real treat, at the end of each day, to be able to come back to such a comfortable room to clean up, relax and get a good night's sleep with the ocean right outside your door.

One thing to bear in mind is that Rosalie Bay truly is away from it all, on the sparesely populated Atlantic side of the Island. This is one of its great benefits, but it also means that for most of the hiking, snorkelling, diving and other things you might want to do, you will be looking at a drive of one to two hours to get to the other side of the island and the trailhead, park entrance, beach or dock you're looking for. In my opinion, this trade off is worth it, and merely requires that you budget your time wisely in the morning. Once you have gotten the hang of driving on Dominica (which does take a day or too, and yes, you should read up on it and come prepared for the challenges), the drive from Rosalie Bay to wherever you're going inevitably takes you through beautiful rainforest and mountains, with some amazing views. We came to really enjoy our morning drive after breakfast each day.

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Rosalie Bay. Our only regret is that we were too early in the season to see the sea turtles. I would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone visiting Dominica.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strone, Argyll
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Dominica is a beautiful island in the Caribbean and Rosalie Bay Resort was an excellent choice for our stay there. It has great views of the sea through the silhouette of palm trees. Fantastic when it is framing a full moon rising over the sea. Very relaxing and friendly. Beautiful colourful humming birds in the garden. Husband got outstanding photographs of these colourful birds flying into the tropical colourful flowers. Would definitely return if we are lucky enough to visit Dominica again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room. We could watch the sunset coming up through the palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I will echo what my husband said below--could not have asked for a more amazing vacation. Dominica (and Rosalie Bay) are well worth the trip. The staff is amazing, the resort is breath-taking and peaceful, the food fantastic, the excursions are outstanding. You will not be disapponited-we will head back next year.

One suggestion-take one night to head to Riverside for dinner--one of the best meals and experiences I have ever had--the owner/chef Anne is amazing!

Room Tip: The ocean view suite was fantastic and great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

To be short and to the point, Rosalie Bay was absolutely amazing. We just returned from Dominica today and I had to quickly leave a review. I have never been to a more beautiful, friendly place than this. Relaxation, hiking, amazing local food that makes the body and mind well. Spa was delightful. Rooms were gorgeous with detailed work and cleaner than one could
Imagine. Can't speak highly enough about Rosalie Bay. A must experience. We will be going back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Osu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Mid-december trip one week trip was great. Grounds were spotless and other guests were there but rarely seen.

Food was excellent ( which is key since other options are impractical ) and the spa was just right. Pool was nice for a swim ( as the Atlantic Ocean and rocky coast make swimming a non-starter ). All the staff was very friendly and the guides ( esp Zahir ) were very flexible and looking to tailor hikes and excursions to your needs. The residents of Dominica are not well off economically but seemed genuinely happy to see tourists and were helpful.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank warren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
19.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
10.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
21.1 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Property: Rosalie Bay Resort
Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing