We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rainforest experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful rainforest experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We feel fortunate to have the Williams as our neighbors and will encourage all visitors in the area to make Mermaid’s Secret a stopping point. They have become good friends, as you will experience first hand when you stay with them.

We moved to Dominica in June and met the Williams family for the first time. When we found ourselves between accommodations with nowhere to go, they invited us to stay at Mermaid’s Secret before they were even open for business. This truly characterizes the warmth of this family.

Since then, we have watched the transition of their property from a “work in progress” to very nicely furnished self-contained cabins, a yurt and camping space, with more amenities on the way.

They have a very festive outdoor bar area overlooking the river called, “Vegas.” The setting is really picturesque and the Mermaid Pool is an outstanding deep river pool to relax, swim or dive off the rock. Tim and Samantha are fabulous hosts. We have seen them go out of their way to accommodate their guests’ needs. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Victoria&Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
108
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romford,Essex,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Mermaids Secret is a work in progress. When finished it should be very nice. When we arrived, we were made very welcome by the young couple who own this property. The cabin we were allocated was spacious and clean.
The natural surrondings are fantastic. For those of a more adventurous nature Mermaids Secret is ideal. Surronded by forest, and just a short trip away the Atlantic Ocean. The owners are helpfull and fun. Worth a visit, just for the swim in the natural river pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Although we didn't stay at the cabins, we had the chance to spend some wonderful nights at the hotel's delightful outdoor bar. Tim, the owner and our barman, provided us with tasty cocktails, and refreshing cold beers served at his wonderfully constructed Mermaid's Tail Bar, which is located next to a river that has the most amazing natural pool that you can swim in for hours (The Mermaid's Pool).

Their resort location is perfect for exploring Dominica, hiking to nearby waterfalls or simply relaxing in a beautiful rain forest setting. You could even walk for about 20 minutes, and be at the ocean to enjoy a great day at the beach.

I did peek into the cabins, and they were clean, tastefully decorated and well equipped. Tim was a great host, and I'm sure he and his wife would make your stay truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hiptojive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 18 January 2015
Thanks folks for taking the time to tell people about us. This new adventure is provoing to be quite an exciting experience for us and we are amazed already how supportive everyone is being to help get us off the ground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Fantastic! We found the secret of “MERMAID’S SECRET” one of the best family accommodation’s on the Caribbean Island DOMINICA. We enjoyed a unique experience of staying in one of their luxury cabin’s in the middle of the rainforest.
It is a new small family run resort, and Tim & Sam along with their two boys made us very welcome. They have just one self-catering cabin available at the moment but will soon have two more cabins and Yurts, each with its own private kitchen and bathroom.
The site is set in the rainforest alongside 3 rivers with the beautiful fresh water Mermaids Pool forming a pure and natural swimming pool.
Truly a haven amidst the rain forest it is an experience not to be missed, with humming birds and much more flora & fauna to enjoy. The Commonwealth Island of Dominica is a place of discovery especially for the adventure minded.
Tip:- If you hire a vehicle four wheel drive is a must.
We will be returning next year and it will be interesting to see how the site develops, we highly recommend that you check them out www.mermaids-secret.co.uk.
It won’t be a secret much longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DougWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

If you are looking for a unique location to experience living in the rain forest, and the perfect base from which to explore the East coast of Dominica, the Mermaid's Secret is the place. The crystal clear river pool on the property was a rare pleasure for daily swims after hiking and the owners could not have been more kind and welcoming. We made daily explorations to various wonderful sites within a short drive, like the Caribe territory and the secret beach (Bord La Mer) which was 100% all ours for the day......a rare privilege in todays world! Our trip was finished off with the owners of Mermaid's Secret organizing a horseback ride along the coastal cliffs and into the river for our sons.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MarkAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 18 January 2015
Thanks guys for our very first trip advisor review. Glad you had a good time and enjoyed our little corner of paradise:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
9.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
146 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
321 reviews
9.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Property: Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing