We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Sam and Tim are wonderful hosts and have created a beautiful, relaxing sanctuary. Great value set aside the gorgeous Rosalie river. There are many activities for those who like to adventure off the beaten track. Try the coconuts:-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rinaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do this review - we are glad that you enjoyed the coconuts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend a weekend at Mermaid's Secret recently. In a country of over 300 rivers, the river pool at Mermaid's Secret is absolutely the most beautiful. The water is cool, crystal clear, and can be entered by wading, rope swing or jumping from a rock.

Sam and Tim were the perfect hosts offering a wide variety of beverages and great food.

Thanks for a great weekend and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizziemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

A great time was had by all - You are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We've stayed in several places on the island, but Mermaid’s Secret was the best, by far! It’s in the middle of the jungle, with lovely fully equipped cottages and a nice yurt and very friendly hosts. Tim and Sam have lots of tips about things to see and do on the island (Tim will even pick you up at the ferry terminal/airport if needed). It was nice to sit on the veranda of our cabin after a long hike, while Time brought us a jellynut with rum (you should really try it!). They also have a very nice river to cool off. You can join them at breakfast, dinner or for a drink (at a nominal fee) or you can cater for yourself. We had some really nice evenings with the hosts and other guests (playing games etc). Don't miss this place when your on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aaaa41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

There is no shortage of Jellynuts or rum here at Mermaid's Secret and we are just so pleased that you had such a great time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Spent a magical day at 'Mermaid's Secret' nature retreat in the Dominican rainforest. We
loved the peacefulness of the place and its closeness to nature. Tim and Sam are so friendly
and professional as hosts and they made our visit really enjoyable. The Yurts and holiday
cabins where tasfully furnished with all modern ammenities which reflected the surroundings.
In the surrounding gardens there was numerous exotic plants and fruits growing which
attracted humming birds, blue herons and parrots. There was also pineapples growing with
sugar cane and bananas. For the first time we tasted coconuts straight from the palm, laced
with rum and drank with a straw in the top of the nut. In the afternoon we all swam in the rainforest river which was crystal clear and refreshing. They even had a rope to swing like Tarzan. For people who appreciate nature or who like walking through
rainforests I can recommends Mermaid's Secret as a first class experience. Tim and Sam went
here with a dream and it has now reached fruition.

Room Tip: Yurts or roundhouses look interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

We are so pleased that you loved the nature that surrounds us and discovered a true taste of Dominica here at Mermaid's Secret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Comfort meaning having everything we needed, not less or more ie. no overly airconditioned rooms when the breeze of the rainforest was just enough, home cooked breakfasts & dinners on request, a perfectly refreshing dip in the beautiful natural pool, help with planning and arranging some fabulous hiking and other adventures and activities readily available from our hosts Tim & Sam, and finding just the right balance of hanging-out/fum, and privacy. Charming meaning a tastefully but simply furnished 2 room cabin with kitchen facilities, lovely bath and porch. If I close my eyes I can imagine being in the hammock on the deck above the river listening to the sounds of the rainforest and looking up at a brilliant night sky. Joan B.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank krystaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

We are pleased that we lived up to our 'slogan' of Rainforest, rivers and relaxation and really glad that you also discovered charm and adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I spent one night in the soon-to-be-famous Yurt at Mermaid's Secret. It was a quick getaway for my husband, myself and my teenage son and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

We were lucky to be there during the Pig Roast celebration which was an added treat as I had never experienced cooking a pig in a pit. It was totally delicious, but even better was all the fun we had...

Swimming in the refreshing Mermaid Pool in the river, playing games at the riverside bar (Giant Jenga, Liar's Dive & Cribbage to name a few) and basically just relaxing and enjoying ourselves.

We were there in February and the Yurt was delightfully cool at night (had to sleep with a duvet). The early morning light gently glowing through the canvas and the sound of the river rushing by made it a very peaceful and enjoyable experience. There is plenty of room in there - I had never luxury-camped before, so this was a great introduction. I especially liked the private bathroom & kitchen area in a cabin adjacent to the hut, which made dealing with the necessities of life very easy and convenient!

I hope to get back to Mermaid's Secret before too long and spend more time in the Yurt, watching the ducks stroll by during the day, star-gazing at night, and thoroughly enjoying myself at the Mermaid's Tale Bar & Restaurant in between!

Thanks Sam & Tim.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wendoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for choosing to sample what we have on offer here at Mermaid's Secret and taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I try not to have high expectations on trips to avoid disappointment and found myself delightfully surprised by the charm and beauty of the Mermaid's Secret and it's lovely hosts! We felt totally spoiled by Sam and Kate's cooking, Doug and Tim's bartending and everyone's stories and also assistance with our trip planning.
I'm a vegetarian and found that Sam rose to the occasion by providing me with delicious and satisfying meals! I thought I'd be using the kitchen in the cabin but never needed to.
I found that we had just the right amount of interaction with our hosts, who would appear whenever we had a question and would give us all the privacy we might need or wish for as well.
Our cabin was pretty and I loved the sound of the river, which, together with the fresh, not too hot tropical night air, easily lulled us into restful sleep.
We are hoping to return to Domenica to see more of it's treasures and we'll be staying at Mermaid's Secret again if we do (also so I can have a re-match at Shove Ha-Penny, their traditional English Pub game and show Tim that Sam and my team are the true Champions!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

You would obviously be welcome back anytime. Thank you for the great recipes and letting us try out our vegetarian cooking skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
17.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
15.6 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range: £11 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing