We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time, great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
popejohnpaul3
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time, great hosts”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent three days at Mermaid's Secret early April. It was a great place to stay. Tim and Sam make you feel welcome right away (even when arriving at midnight, like we did). They are great hosts and staying with them, and having dinner with them, was a very pleasant experience indeed. The site itself is magical; tucked away in the Dominican 'jungle' and close to a marvelous river/pool.

We'll be back in a few years time to once again enjoy their home made marmalade (and sample their banana bread)!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LW1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wright a helpful review of your stay with us. The banana bread is coming on nicely with practice. You'll have to bring some of yours to compare as we would love to welcome you back of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
108
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just when we thought we couldn't do any better choosing our accommodations in Dominica we arrived at Mermaid's. We do not have much more to add to the kind words of others who stayed in this place and I always skip Tripadvisor reviews that are too long. So in short:
- Cabin: neat and clean, private and jungle view (and Tim promised to put in a bottle opener)
- Environment: beautiful
- Mermaid's pool: beautiful spot, lovely water
- The best of hosts; caring for guests and Dominica

No bad words, but some things to take note of:
- Mermaid's is on the undeveloped side of Dominica. You can buy some bread in neighbouring villages, but take the rest from other places like Roseau.
- The last km to Mermaid's is a rather rough road. And this is an understatement. It seems about everybody has a 4*4 in Dominica so that shouldn't be a problem. Don't even think about tackling this stretch in a 'normal' car or doing it in the dark for the first time.
- This place not for people looking for a party, although Tim and Sam might throw in a BBQ now and then.
For us these remarks were no spoilers but added to the charm of the place. Just what we were looking for. We fell in love with the place. 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for giving an insight into life at Mermaids Secret. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Mermaid's secret is a good place to enjoy forest and rivers. The pool is so good!
We enjoyed swiming after hiking.
You need to see cyrique ravine near Rosalie. It's a secret fall on the beach, very nice!
Tim and Sam are very welcoming and always smiling.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fifw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
It is great that you enjoyed swimming in the Mermaid Pool as much as we do and well done for achieving the Wavine Cyrique Hike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Sam and Tim are wonderful hosts and have created a beautiful, relaxing sanctuary. Great value set aside the gorgeous Rosalie river. There are many activities for those who like to adventure off the beaten track. Try the coconuts:-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do this review - we are glad that you enjoyed the coconuts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseau, Dominica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend a weekend at Mermaid's Secret recently. In a country of over 300 rivers, the river pool at Mermaid's Secret is absolutely the most beautiful. The water is cool, crystal clear, and can be entered by wading, rope swing or jumping from a rock.

Sam and Tim were the perfect hosts offering a wide variety of beverages and great food.

Thanks for a great weekend and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizziemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
A great time was had by all - You are welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We've stayed in several places on the island, but Mermaid’s Secret was the best, by far! It’s in the middle of the jungle, with lovely fully equipped cottages and a nice yurt and very friendly hosts. Tim and Sam have lots of tips about things to see and do on the island (Tim will even pick you up at the ferry terminal/airport if needed). It was nice to sit on the veranda of our cabin after a long hike, while Time brought us a jellynut with rum (you should really try it!). They also have a very nice river to cool off. You can join them at breakfast, dinner or for a drink (at a nominal fee) or you can cater for yourself. We had some really nice evenings with the hosts and other guests (playing games etc). Don't miss this place when your on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaaa41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
There is no shortage of Jellynuts or rum here at Mermaid's Secret and we are just so pleased that you had such a great time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Spent a magical day at 'Mermaid's Secret' nature retreat in the Dominican rainforest. We
loved the peacefulness of the place and its closeness to nature. Tim and Sam are so friendly
and professional as hosts and they made our visit really enjoyable. The Yurts and holiday
cabins where tasfully furnished with all modern ammenities which reflected the surroundings.
In the surrounding gardens there was numerous exotic plants and fruits growing which
attracted humming birds, blue herons and parrots. There was also pineapples growing with
sugar cane and bananas. For the first time we tasted coconuts straight from the palm, laced
with rum and drank with a straw in the top of the nut. In the afternoon we all swam in the rainforest river which was crystal clear and refreshing. They even had a rope to swing like Tarzan. For people who appreciate nature or who like walking through
rainforests I can recommends Mermaid's Secret as a first class experience. Tim and Sam went
here with a dream and it has now reached fruition.

Room Tip: Yurts or roundhouses look interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
We are so pleased that you loved the nature that surrounds us and discovered a true taste of Dominica here at Mermaid's Secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
5.7 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
15.6 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Property: Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing