We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect jungle experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect jungle experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 9 nights on Dominica, both in the west and in the east of the island. In the east, we chose to stay in a yurt of Mermaid's Secret and we certainly didn't regret it! The owners, Tim and Sam Williams are the perfect hosts, full of British humour and very knowledgeable about the area. Mermaid's Secret has a number of cabins and a yurt (Mongolian tent), in a beautiful garden, surrounded by rainforest, plantations and rivers. The yurt was spacious enough for our family of four. We had our own private bathroom and kitchen facilities in a small building just a couple of metres away from the tent. This building also has a covered porch, so that you can still sit outside and read or listen to the sounds of the forest when there is a rain shower. A big plus for our daughters (9 and 11 years old) was Mermaid's Pool and river, just a few steps away. The swimming hole is surrounded by abundant vegetation and tree ferns. The pool is deep enough for real swimming, but of course there are also shallow parts. It was always the perfect refreshing reward after a long hike on this truly beautiful and unspoilt island. Our girls are rather careful, and reasonably good swimmers, we found Mermaid's Pool safe enough to let them play without supervision. The riverside bar is a good place to socialize, and enjoy a drink while you hear the music of the river and the sounds of the jungle in the background. Unfortunately, we didn't see any turtles, perhaps next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bado2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review Barts. We are glad you had a nice time here with your family. Its nearly time for our summer break so you might see me yet arrive in Ypre for the centenary of WW1. Thanks for the invite :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
107
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Tim and Sam showed us such sweet and helpful hospitality. My husband and I were there for our honeymoon in December and stayed in the yurt. It was so romantic and special. We are total yurt heads now. The property is amazing. The mermaids pool is ridiculous and just gorgeous. We really loved staying there and never wanted to leave. Tim and Sam are such an inspiration to us and are doing such a great job running this special retreat. It's unlike anywhere else we have ever been and definitely plan on going back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deehaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review folks. Really glad you enjoyed your stay here and I remember you making Eva(the Spanish lady) very happy by being able to speak Spanish to her.
Anyway we look forward to seeing you here again one day hopefully.
Best wishes

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our first few nights in Dominica were spent at Mermaid's secret in the Carib cabin. This perfect little resort was friendly, well maintained, clean, beautiful and romantic. Sam and Tim made sure that all our needs were met. Upon our lat night arrival, in fact, our jeep got stuck during a heavy rain. Tim hiked from the resort, organized help from the locals, and with the help of eight strong backs lifted the jeep from a bad situation. Sam's cooking is delicious and she mixes tasty rum drinks. There are many trials from the resort and make sure to hike to the nearby waterfall. Of the six places we spent over two weeks in Dominica, Mermaid's Secret is at the top of the list.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed our little corner of paradise. The pig roast was delicious and its a real shame you guys missed it. The picture of me holding the pig before it was roasted reminded me of the flavour and smells we enjoyed later that day. Im getting hungry already:)
Regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sam and Tim are excellent hosts and ensured that our stay was wonderful, by providing beautiful accommodations, delicious meals, great company and helpful advice. We stayed in the yurt, with a separate and private kitchen and bathroom. The location and accommodations were beyond what we expected. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks Vimala for your review of Mermaids secret. We hope you return soon too!
best wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Reflecting on our time in Dominica ( 2 weeks, end October - November 2013) staying at Mermaids Secret, I find that I am not able to express how incredible we found the whole experience. Myself and 3 kids aged 11, 9 and 7 stayed at Mermaids Secret, which is an ideal location to tour the island and the owners have great local knowledge to help you with your trips. From Whale watching to fabulous waterfalls, hikes and sulphur pools, or just chilling on site in the river and great accommodation and much more. Tim Williams and Sam Williams built a business which remains a home where guests are treated as family within the most incredible surroundings, great hospitality, (and considering the climate) fantastic care and cleanliness of their accomodation. They purchsed their land as an overgrown heap and have toiled, blood, sweat and tears AND against SO many odds (some of those odds I know others would have run well away from) building, moulding and expanding their piece of paradise! It is unlike anywhere you will ever go in your life.... promise!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks Claire for your review. We really appreciate your thoughts and are glad you enjoyed your stay. See you in 2015 if your plans to return take shape:)
best wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent one week on Dominica in January, of which the last 3 nights at Medmaid's Secret. Dominica is all we hoped for, and much more. Every day was an adventure: the Boiling Lake hike, muddy tracks with our 4WD, swimming at Victoria Falls, relaxing in hot pools at Trafalgar Falls, a mangrove trip by pedal boat, whale watching; and still there is so much more to explore.

Our 3 accomodations were booked via Barefoot Travel, and Mermaid's Secret immediately stood out: We received a warm welcome e-mail from Sam and Tim, inviting us for diner, and giving suggestions on hiking. Arriving at the place one week later, we were impressed. Located in the middle of the rainforest, it still has a very spacious layout. Also our cabin was big, in excellent condition, and with a nice porch looking out over the garden and jungle.

During our stay we enjoyed so many things about the place: morning swims in the river, dining with the family, drinking interesting cocktails, watching the un-photographable humming birds.. And not to forget the many good stories and laughs with our hosts and the other guests.

Dominica is definitely a place to come back to, and when I do, the first thing will be to book Mermaid's Secret again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf_Lange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks Rolf. It was fun having you guys stay. The humming birds have been posing for pictures ever since you left:) You know where to find them next time
best wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It was an absolute delight to stay at Sam's and Tim's Carnival Cabin. We started as guests and left after five days of amazing Dominican discoveries as great friends! The cabin is part of the Mermaid's Secret, a lodge developed by Tim and Sam in the rainforest on the East coast. 3 other similar cabins are on the site, a gathering place to share a dinner, have a drink and chat and the pool in the river adjacent to their property. What made the experience unique is really Sam's and Tim's personality, friendly, down to earth, always willing to help and give advices to combine the best combination of visits and explorations. You can choose to have the breakfast and dinner there and Sam's cooking makes both experiences another delight, Tim's positive attitude and funny stories are part of spending memorable moments! The other guests were very pleasant to discuss with and play a giant Jenga the last evening. The lodge is in a rural, beautiful part of the island, with various villages and places to explore, the people we met were all so friendly. Ask Tim to recommend Natalie's restaurant, the food is delicious, authentic of Dominica and her banana, raisins ginger muffins freshly backed were the cherry on the cake of one of our day hiking around. I think you'll understand that we gathered fond memories of our stay and will come back without an hesitations. We highly recommend the whole experience!

Room Tip: Get in touch with Sam or Tim the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Michel thank you very much for your kind review. It really was our pleasure having you and your family stay here with us. Dominica certainly is an incredible Island and we look forward to when you return to explore some more of its hidden treasures.
Best wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
479 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
5.7 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
812 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
15.6 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Property: Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing