We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return holiday after 5 years. What a wonderful transformation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A return holiday after 5 years. What a wonderful transformation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last month for 5 nights, it was a return for me, but my girlfriends first visit.
I knew that Tim and Sam would have been working hard in the intervening years but the transformation from beautiful spot with potential to the present set up was hard to believe.
The cabins are little spots of luxury and the bar area is such a wonderful place to sip a cocktail while chatting with whoever is around at the time.
Sam's breakfasts and evening meals are perfect ways to start and finish the days of trekking, snorkelling, sightseeing, turtle watching or just loafing.
The favourite part of our day was rolling out of bed after a long deep sleep and wandering down to swim in Mermaids Pool. What a way to start any day!
Tim and Sam are the perfect hosts with a deep knowledge of the island. Tim is more than happy to take visitors on adventures both big and small.
The boiling lake is a hard day, but a worthwhile one.
We will definitely be back. Hopefully next time it won't take 5 years!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerSarginson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for this review Rog. It was great to welcome you back and show you the changes we have made over the last 5 yrs. You were our first visitor back in the day. There is still more to do of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
104
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Mermaid's secret and we definitely have to say it is one of the best, if it is not THE best place on the island that we've been to. The surroundings make you experience the real jungle that you normally only see in the movies, and the cottages are so well done, you feel confortable and cosy as soon as you step into them. And what to say about Sam, Tim, Alex and Tom, the owners and "team"? They're just great! They Welcome you so friendly and make you leave the place with a big smile on your face! If you want a great holiday, don't hesitate: it is the place to go in Dominica! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey Meryl, thanks for this kind review. We enjoyed you being here and it was a nice surprise you came back later on to camp once your boyfriend had gone back to Switzerland. I guess its safe to say you enjoyed it here too! I hope you still remember the actions to the pirate song:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Would first like to thank Trip Advisor for helping us make the decision to stay at the Mermaid's Secret Riverside retreat. From all the positive feedback we knew we were in for a treat. We stayed in the Orange Cottage which was so comfortable and clean. The cottage was built by Tim and his family. You could tell he built it with a lot of care and pride as every other place on his land. The retreat allowed us a lot of privacy but when we wanted to socialize Tim and his Family welcomed us to their little bar were we had a few beer and beat the girls in cards. We did a few hikes from the camp by ourselves the trails were challenging but do able. Tim took us on a hike to Victoria Falls, Glassy Bay, Sari Sari , Wavin Cirique and the Boiling Lakes he was a very careful and enjoyable guide to hike with. No matter how hard the day of hiking was we always made time to swim in the Mermaids pool. That pool is a real treasure, what a find. All I can say is if you want an Affordable, clean,quiet and private place to stay that allows you to be in the heart of the rain forest of Beautiful Dominica then stay here. Ann-Marie and I will be back, but this time with our kids who were so jealous

Room Tip: I loved our Orange building. Wifi works better at the bar room but you can get it at the left corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for this lovely review Kal. We had fun with you guys here so we are looking forward to meeting the rest of your family on your next trip. Glad we made your time with us so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 9 nights on Dominica, both in the west and in the east of the island. In the east, we chose to stay in a yurt of Mermaid's Secret and we certainly didn't regret it! The owners, Tim and Sam Williams are the perfect hosts, full of British humour and very knowledgeable about the area. Mermaid's Secret has a number of cabins and a yurt (Mongolian tent), in a beautiful garden, surrounded by rainforest, plantations and rivers. The yurt was spacious enough for our family of four. We had our own private bathroom and kitchen facilities in a small building just a couple of metres away from the tent. This building also has a covered porch, so that you can still sit outside and read or listen to the sounds of the forest when there is a rain shower. A big plus for our daughters (9 and 11 years old) was Mermaid's Pool and river, just a few steps away. The swimming hole is surrounded by abundant vegetation and tree ferns. The pool is deep enough for real swimming, but of course there are also shallow parts. It was always the perfect refreshing reward after a long hike on this truly beautiful and unspoilt island. Our girls are rather careful, and reasonably good swimmers, we found Mermaid's Pool safe enough to let them play without supervision. The riverside bar is a good place to socialize, and enjoy a drink while you hear the music of the river and the sounds of the jungle in the background. Unfortunately, we didn't see any turtles, perhaps next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bado2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review Barts. We are glad you had a nice time here with your family. Its nearly time for our summer break so you might see me yet arrive in Ypre for the centenary of WW1. Thanks for the invite :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Tim and Sam showed us such sweet and helpful hospitality. My husband and I were there for our honeymoon in December and stayed in the yurt. It was so romantic and special. We are total yurt heads now. The property is amazing. The mermaids pool is ridiculous and just gorgeous. We really loved staying there and never wanted to leave. Tim and Sam are such an inspiration to us and are doing such a great job running this special retreat. It's unlike anywhere else we have ever been and definitely plan on going back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deehaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review folks. Really glad you enjoyed your stay here and I remember you making Eva(the Spanish lady) very happy by being able to speak Spanish to her.
Anyway we look forward to seeing you here again one day hopefully.
Best wishes

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our first few nights in Dominica were spent at Mermaid's secret in the Carib cabin. This perfect little resort was friendly, well maintained, clean, beautiful and romantic. Sam and Tim made sure that all our needs were met. Upon our lat night arrival, in fact, our jeep got stuck during a heavy rain. Tim hiked from the resort, organized help from the locals, and with the help of eight strong backs lifted the jeep from a bad situation. Sam's cooking is delicious and she mixes tasty rum drinks. There are many trials from the resort and make sure to hike to the nearby waterfall. Of the six places we spent over two weeks in Dominica, Mermaid's Secret is at the top of the list.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed our little corner of paradise. The pig roast was delicious and its a real shame you guys missed it. The picture of me holding the pig before it was roasted reminded me of the flavour and smells we enjoyed later that day. Im getting hungry already:)
Regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sam and Tim are excellent hosts and ensured that our stay was wonderful, by providing beautiful accommodations, delicious meals, great company and helpful advice. We stayed in the yurt, with a separate and private kitchen and bathroom. The location and accommodations were beyond what we expected. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks Vimala for your review of Mermaids secret. We hope you return soon too!
best wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
9.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
5.8 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Property: Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing