We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best bargin on the Island!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your view from the back door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view from the back door
good fishing ! Roadside view of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Your view from the back door
good fishing !
Roadside view of cottage
kitchen area
bedroom 1.
bathroom
orange creek beach -shallow swimming
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orange Creek, Cat Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kym B
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best bargin on the Island!”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Sarah's Cottage. This year we stayed for 3 weeks. Nick picked us up at the Airport and we ran a few shopping errands before arriving at the Cottage. Simple, basic, clean accomodation.With shopping and amazing sand beaches within a few minutes walk. We fished from the front yard and grilled our catch on the Hibachi. We are already planning next years trip. Nick is a fountain of information that will answer all of your questions about the North end of the Island.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you Kim, and glad you both enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again next year too. Nick Cripps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali b
Westport, Canada
2 reviews
“easily the best deal on the island”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Sarah's cottage for 2 weeks. This was our 3rd trip to Cat Island, and easily the best place we have stayed at there - also by far the cheapest! Everything worked, which was a first for the Out Islands. The cottage is near a good grocery store and Laundromat. Very simple, but everything you need - full kitchen, A/C (but we didn't use it because there were fans, plus lots of windows, all with screens to keep the dawn and dusk bugs out). Nick was readily available if needed, but never intruded in any way. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you Alison, and glad to have you to stay in this wonderful island,
Nick Cripps
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelspi...
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sarah's cottage for 2 weeks and it was everything we needed with owners Nick and Manette attentive and nearby if needed. Nick gave us a tour of the area and some history which was fun and helpful.

Comfortable, clean, great view, friendly neighbors, close to the airport and food market/laundromat, we felt like one of the locals. While there is no beach at the cottage itself, the views are incredible, there is a small ledge in back for fishing, jumping or snorkeling into deep water, a beach just down the street at Orange Creek where we spent a lot of time, and access to a huge private beach great for snorkeling and scuba diving. This is by far the best value on the island!!

Cat Island is a place where you relax and make your own fun. If you like nature, quiet, simplicity, miles of empty pink sand beaches all to yourself, and don't need the conveniences or luxuries of a typical touristy experience this hidden gem is for you. There is no public transport so you will definitely need a rental car during your stay, there is only 1 ATM on the island about an hour away, and most businesses don't take credit cards except the handful of resorts so plan ahead and bring cash.

We would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelspi...
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage, location, and owner - made our stay wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Nick was a great host, answered all our questions, showed us around the northern part of the island and some great snorkeling sites. The cottage was even better than we anticipated, had everything needed to cook and be comfortable, was a super value and located in a nice part of the community with friendly neighbors, and a short drive to the food market, and while there is no beach at the cottage (there is a neat, short cliff in the backyard with stellar views of a turquoise ocean and beautiful sunsets and a ladder to the water for swimming or snorkeling) the wonderful Orange Creek beach is just down the street and is a must-visit if you are staying here. Warm, shallow water that's fun to play in, great opportunities to watch birds, turtles, rays, and go bone fishing or snorkeling. Cat Island is one of the few undeveloped islands left in the Bahamas and is wonderful for those who love nature and exploring, seek peace and quiet and relaxation, want to get to know the lovely locals, and like to make their own fun. We explored the island by car (a MUST unless your goal is to stay hunkered down at a resort for your entire visit) and had lunch or dinner many times at various resorts along the way while visiting numerous beaches on both coasts. The island is so undeveloped the beaches are unused and totally open! Throughout our 16 day stay, only ONCE did we encounter other people on a beach and then it was a father/son returning from snorkeling. No fighting for a spot on a sand with other tourists but plenty of solitude and skinny dipping if that's your thing. The beaches stretch for miles, some have pink sand, beautiful shells, stellar views but you will almost always have it to yourself (unless you are at a resort). We would definitely come to Cat Island again and would recommend Nick and Manette's cottage without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The host was responsive and very helpful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Warren, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sweet spot and great value”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Sarah's cottage is simple and comfortable, located above the beautiful clear waters of Cat Island. We built a makeshift ladder over the sharp rocks in order to enjoy refreshing swims from the backyard. Hopefully it will last a season or two! The well stocked grocery store is a twenty minute walk, as well as the closest beach for swimming. Lovely snorkeling a short way down the shoreline and spectacular snorkeling near the far end of the closest beach. We did not have a rental car but found it easy to hitchhike, which we did often to the northern beaches around three miles away. Nick and Manette embody the welcoming spirit of Cat Island and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym B
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“North end Cottage”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were met at the plane by Nick and he drove us to the local store and Pub for provisions. A day later he drove us to pick up our rental car. When we left he also drove us back to the airport. The cottage was as portrayed, a cute 2 bedroom on highbank waterfront. Easy walking distance to 2 pubs/restaurants and a grocery store. If you are looking for a bargain this cottage and enjoy being self-sufficient and rustic Sarah's Cottage is unbeatable for Cat Island. Nick and Minette are gracious and accommodating hosts. We will definitely return here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, waterfront and proximity to villages
Liked least: no outdoor table and chairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing