We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet night on Rt. 3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Chester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet night on Rt. 3”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Standard BW continental breakfast with hot biscuits and scrambled eggs. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is a 2 story walkup with an atrium over the lobby. Friendly staff. 10% discount at Reids' Harvest House Restaurant which was filled with locals and is located 1/2 mile down the road. Only issue was a noisy heating system (fan) but ear plugs took care of that. They have an excercise room whose bycicle was vandalised. There is a picnic area out back with barbecue pits and a shelter which could be nice in the summer for a family.

This is an above average Best Western based on our experience.

Room Tip: Minimal traffic on Sunday so noise was not an issue except for the electric wall heating: fan was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balticrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reidsinnbw, General Manager at Best Western Chester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the condition of our exercise bike and have replaced it with a new one for you to enjoy hopefully on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    34
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
22
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here for work... Very clean hotel with wonderfull staff. Would stay here again. Room is clean, bed is comfortable! There is not much in town, however The Eagles is a great place for Steak. Another option is Tequilas for good mexican food. I can't say enough good things about this hotel in a small town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppsMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here 10/18/12. Upon check in the staff was welcoming. Everything was explained from the availability of wifi to the discount on dinner at the restaurant down the road. The room was clean and spacious. Everything worked just as expected. The location was beautiful. We had a room on the first floor facing the main road which was busy but we never heard the traffic. The continental breakfast was very filling. We both came away very content. We travel a couple times a year and would definately return to this Inn. Checkout went very smooth and we were on our way to finish our trip rested feeling as if we had just left home. Make reservations which helps when checking in. There is no elevator but it is only a two story building. There is vending machines for drinks/snacks very reasonablly priced. Next trip south we will see them again.

Room Tip: If you have special needs specify them when reserving room. If you need to keep medicines cold durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last three years. Every time I've stayed there, it's been amazing. The rooms are always clean, the beds are super-comfortable, and the showers always have great pressure (I love the massage setting). Free wi-fi and a continental breakfast is a huge plus for me. We always stay in town for two nights, so the breakfast keeps us from having to purchase three meals a day. Every stay, something is updated. They now have a waffle maker added to the breakfast, and a flatscreen tv in the rooms. The staff have always been super-courteous and very helpful. They've never not known the answer to any question. The a/c has always been in perfect working order, though we've never used the heat. The pool is always bright blue and clear. There are woods, a shelter, and barbecue pits behind the hotel. The view from the upstairs rooms is really pretty. There are several restaurants that are nearby, even the Reids Harvest House which has homestyle cooking in a buffet style. The hotel stay gives you a 10% discount there. This hotel has spoiled us. I now compare every hotel to this one, and seem to be let down. I highly suggest this hotel if you're going to be anywhere near here.

Room Tip: The second floor has a great view of the wooded areas surrounding the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
283 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

e hotel is some 3 miles east of the town. On a large site with outside barbaque and pool ( not heated ) and sitting area. Rooms are modern and spacious with large flat tv. Breakfast is standard continental and breakfast down the road may be preferable. Fast food close but standard restaurant down the road. Reasonable rates for a one night stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Great small town hotel. Clean rooms with a large flat screen tv. Staff is friendly with a family owned atmosphere. Only complaint is if you want to eat anything other than pizza you have to drive. But any drive is not far.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWG_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Not a bad hotel, but don't expect this to be like other best westerns! Air conditioners don't cool your rooms, the breakfast is the same as you find at any super 8. You are basically getting a super 8 in disguise! Not worth the extra money to stay here... If you do stay here head down to kenny's bbq!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whattodonoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
385 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sparta
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Perryville
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Sparta
15 reviews
15.6 mi away
Super 8 Perryville
Super 8 Perryville
#1 of 3 in Perryville
334 reviews
15.6 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#3 of 3 in Perryville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chester Hotel

Property: Best Western Chester Hotel
Address: 2150 State St, Chester, IL 62233-1100 (Formerly Best Western Reid's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel offers guests the perfect home away from home while they experience all that the area has to offer. History lovers delight in the many well-known historical attractions, such as Fort DeChartres, the Popeye(R) Statue River Outlook, the Cohen Mansion and author Pierre Menard's home. This Chester hotel is also close to Cole Memorial Park and the Elias Kent Museum. Within an hour's drive of Chester, guests can visit Fairmount Park, Gateway International Raceway and Six Flags(R) Over Mid-America in nearby St. Louis. This Chester hotel is a favorite among travelers who are attending one of the areas many music festivals and annual events, such as the Prairie DuRocher Rendezvous, the Grand American or shooting events at the World Shooting Complex in Sparta, IL. This Chester hotel is also a great choice for Popeye(R) fans, the beloved cartoon character originated here and the town is host to the annual Popeye(R) Picnic each fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing