We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Place for Dinner in a City with a lot of Competition”
Review of Columbus Tap

Columbus Tap
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbus Tap is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,127 of 10,141 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience and a fresh Midwest-focused menu that flirts with seasonal and regional ingredients, created to pair perfectly with the restaurant's unique and extensive beer selection. The result is a gastropub with a neighborhood vibe and sophisticated offerings for
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had dinner at the Columbus Tap recently. The food was fine (I had the short ribs) and nicely presented. The service was friendly and attentive and the environment is pleasant enough. I think this might serve best as a nice bar to come have a good beer and watch a baseball game. It's not that the food isn't good, it's just that the whole experience is not particularly inviting. I'd recommend giving it a try, but I will probably not go back for a meal, but more likely to have a beer and maybe the charcuterie or mussels.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank docboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Columbus Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear docboar,
Thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We would love to have you back for a ballgame. We just tapped a fresh keg of Rosa so come on in.

Hope to see you back soon.

Best,
Colleen Sweitzer
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here to have a drink and watch the hockey game. They have a lot of beers on tap and environment was that of a sports bar. On a Tuesday, lights up happened at 11:45pm and the bar closed at Midnight. Would go back for some eats!

Thank MissLoisLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Columbus Tap is loud ! There is no carpet on the floor or coverings for the windows. They have multiple TVs going at once, showing different sporting events. That is great if you are there for a drink or happy hour. If you really want to go to enjoy a dinner, this is not the place to go. The meals come out on metal trays, and they usually get the order wrong. If you happen to get the right food, the charred cauliflower is great. So are the homemade chips. It is too bad that the Fairmont Chicago does not have some gourmet dining. Most of their other properties do.

1  Thank ElektraVelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Columbus Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ElektraVelvet,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the feedback and we are disappointed that Columbus Tap was not what you were looking for. For your next visit, the concierge team would be happy to assist you with dining reservations. As the Bon Apetit's #1 Food City in America, I am confident that we can reserve the perfect dining experience for you.

Best,
Colleen Sweitzer
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

I have been here several times and anyone knows that hotel bars are a total rip off. This one is no exception as the prices are very high for what you get. The pretzel is good and some of the other snacks are good but expensive. I have also been here on several occasions where the entire wait staff is very cranky and make you feel like you are putting them out even for the most basic requests. If you are stuck at the Fairmont and have to go here the the best of luck. Better off going right down the street to Broken English. Not far and a better deal but can be loud.

Thank Riodesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Was in Chicago for a conference with 600+ people, all of whom were staying at the Fairmont Chicago (more on the hotel in another review). Columbus tap is a pretty typical sports bar but on a more modern footing that many of the dive type places I like to try. But it was good food, the drinks were all fine. An easy, convenient place to stop for a nightcap when heading back to your room. That said, with so much to explore in Chicago, I would encourage you to look for other, special places like Three Dots and a Dash. One of my favorites of all time. Yes, it's a 10 minute walk, but geez, get off your duff and hoof it. Well worth the calories.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Columbus Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Randy T,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Columbus Tap and I hope your conference was a success.

Come back and see us again the next time you are in the Windy City.

Best,
Colleen Sweitzer
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbus Tap also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;