We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee EVER”

Intelligentsia Coffee
Ranked #4 of 117 Coffee & Tea in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown / The Loop
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best coffee EVER”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Where can you have the best coffee EVER... Don't search too far, Intelligentsia is the answer!!! They have the best varieties you can ask for. The mood in these coffee shops are really cool. What's even nicer is that each one is different than the other.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimmyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    73
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best coffee!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Even though I have never been to Chicago... I do drink Intelligentsia coffee all the time!! I just log in to their easy to navigate website and order it. Whether it is whole bean or ground... they roast it as you order it!! You can even have a standing order! Fast and fresh!! I love their coffee!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hipster overdrive”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Ok, i just do not get it...I order a brew, something from the other side of the world, Africa I believe, with a fancy name, and wait 10 minutes. According to the card it has various hints of champagne and some other flavours that I do not associate with coffee. I get this in a 12 ounce mug, and also a little in a glass decanter cup. 'because you paid for 16 ounces; the vendor says. Makes sense, but not as much as putting it all in one 16 ounce mug perhaps? It is silly. The coffee was of course not bad, but had notes of flavours that suits a vertical coffee tasting better at the hipster coffee festival than your morning cup of joe that you need to wake up. Just so you know. I am back to my usual espresso, double. I presume it should be just fine there if they do not ruin it with trendiness...nice minimalist bar though, I'll give m that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivefromAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Coffee just the way it should be”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The title says it all. "Simply" great coffee, which is not so easy to find in the states. I was happy to wondered by and get in. I went back and they had another roast, from another plantation which was different, ut just as great as the first one. Please keep it this way ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Could there be more delicious coffee? nope.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The science of the perfect cup of coffee is on display and the result is the most smooth, perfect brew.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kcranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Intelligentsia Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing