We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and good hotel”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #53 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room and good hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I enjoyed the hotel and definitely the unique room. Floor to ceiling windows (corner king), nice bar on the roof (both internal and external) and great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavacrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,972
    939
    314
    120
    62
See reviews for
399
1,458
182
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Awesome hotel. Great location. Friemdly staff. Possibly the best all round hotel i've ever stayed in. Close to shops, bars, clubs, restaurants and easy access to rooftop bar oveerlookng the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parasm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This very clean hotel has a hip feel to it, but remains quiet. The location makes it convenient to walk to many loop/near north stores and restaurants. The el is only 3 blocks in either direction to take you further away. The staff was very helpful when service was requested and there is free wifi. We got our room on Expedia for a very good price. There is a Whole Foods around the corner so you don't have to pay a typical hotel price for breakfast, although the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWhitePelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was my second stay at the Dana Hotel and Spa and as usual, the hotel did not disappoint. My friends and I arrived at the hotel a few hours before check-in and the front desk had a room ready for us. All of the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was bright and spacious. We were given complimentary breakfast vouchers and we were surprised at the quality and quantity of food on the breakfast menu. I recommend taking advantage of the breakfast offerings at the hotel. The design is typical of a modern, boutique style hotel. I realize that some reviewers were put off by the design of the bathroom and some of the weekend noise at the hotel; however, these were non-issues for me personally. The location of the Dana can't really be beat. Just a couple of blocks from the Magnificent Mile, the hotel is surrounded by excellent shopping and dining. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly return on my next trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the nightclub on the rooftop ask for a room on floors 20 or belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlgrl7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here as a part of her birthday weekend in Chicago. We were put into a fifth floor room with a view to die for! The room had floor to ceiling windows that looked right down State St. The hotel is in the middle of it all, including a short walk to Michigan Ave and the Magnificent Mile. There is cocktail lounge located on the roof of the hotel which provides amazing views of the Chicago skyline, even in Februaury! The service was great and the staff seemed very attentive to the needs of the guests. The bathrooms are modern with a HUGE walk in shower that has an optional privacy curtain, meaning there is a see-through wall of glass betweeen the shower and the bedroom. Oh, and it is important to note that the floor to ceiling windows do have room darkening blinds for comfort and privacy. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel has an Amazing View... the Rooftop Bar is so cool and is open all year! I had the opportunity to stay at the Dana on a business trip to Chicago and it was one of the most interesting hotels I had ever experienced. Although it was one of the more expensive hotels in the area the floor to ceiling windows and the view from my room more than made up for it. If you stay at the Dana request a corner room... the view is great, the north side of the hotels view is better in my opinion.

The breakfast was great and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: As for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you happen to be in Chicago this is the place to experience. We were here for business and didn't know much about the hotel and wow, were we in for a surprise. Location was wonderful. The event we attended was on held on the rooftop and all of us were blown away by the skyline. Check out the photos on the website. The hotel looks exactly like the photos plus 10 times better.

Service is beyond belief. Experience it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mueller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,167 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing