We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a great experience at this hotel, our hotel room was great, clean and well kept, we were on the 20th floor and had no issues with any noise. I loved the decor, and the shower. The staff certainly went the extra mile for us, and it was appreciated.
The location is close to everything including the metro, and magnificant mile, and within walking distance to many restaurants and pubs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck_27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,006
    959
    323
    124
    65
See reviews for
409
1,471
185
854
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Booked here after checking the reviews. Did not like the concrete ceilings! Which gave the otherwise ok room an unfinished room. Staff very generally ok but decided to leave early as not happy to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHewitt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and i loved this hotel! its located very conviently on state right by grand subway station on the red line to get anywhere and a good short walk to jazz clubs, resturants, and great downtown attractions everywhere you turn! the doormen are GREAT super friendly "welcome to the best hotel in Chicago!" and they weren't kidding! the decor is awesome the tile mural behind the front desk is beautiful and it maintains its level of funky atmosphere and views everywhere you turn. Our room was on the 17th floor w a balcony which was a great treat! you can hear some street noise but it just adds to the wonderful buzz of downtown i love the sounds of the city! the showers and products are very luxurious (comes w conditioner!) and the beds are perfect to plop down in and get lost in a cozy cloud after a long day of walking or a late night! Perfect stay we will forsure come back to this jem next time we're in the windy city! (check out pops just a block away for some chamange to celebrate your first night in the city, start your night out on the roof top sky lounge and grab a bite at the purple pig for some good tapa style pork eats!)

Room Tip: balcony is awesome! get a higher room the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend. I'm in Chicago monthly and usually stay elsewhere. I will not stay here again. In fact, this may be the worse hotel I've stayed at in years, even though I paid extra for a nicer room. It took three days for laundry to arrive, though the hotel advertised same or next day service. The restaurant/lobby bar is closed (though they did not bother to mention this to me at booking). The bar on the roof is the most disappointing on in Chicago on every level--from cost, to pour, to crowd. And when you order room service, no one answers the phone. Call down to the front desk, and they tell you [seriously!] to leave a message and hope they'll bother to prepare your order. Never have I stayed at such an atrocious hotel. And I booked directly, at full cost. Don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyclex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very nice hotel: great staff, clean, modern, and comfortable room, good breakfast, and excellent location. We (my husband and I) arrived at 11:00 AM and we received an early check-in. We also received $10 value vouchers (2 per person for 3 days) for breakfast at the hotel, so we saved some bucks. We got a corner king room (it's worthy) on the 20th floor and the view from there was spectacular. The concierge was super friendly and very helpful in recommending us restaurants, bars, entertainment, places of interest, etc. The front door staff was great about helping us with bags, giving us directions, and getting taxis for us. Hotel is only three blocks away from Magnificient Mile, the nice shoping area on Michigan Avenue. We would definitely stay here the next time we visit Chicago. One last note: after checking many hotel websites, I got the lowest rate through Bookit.com

Room Tip: Corner units between the 15th and 20th floor are more spacious and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaydaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

great location, awesome staff, 5 star restuarant....would love to give it a 5 star rating overall but found the room though beautiful very noisy due to lack of acoustical finishings in rooms and hallways. Don"t take rooms across from the elevators as late night club revelers and early morning sightseers may keep you up as happened not only to us but to guests that we spoke to throughout our weekend stay. Also our shower leaked eveytime it was used making the washroom rather awkard to function in. One last thing the television didn't connect to movie system as was supposed to and although service was prompt on looking into these issues for us neither the shower nor the tv was fixed during our 3 day stay.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I expected a great hotel but was further impressed by the look, feel and service. The look is nothing short of breathtaking, the tall glass exterior is stunningly beautiful. The feel is professional, yet manages to incorporate that human factor. They literally make you feel appreciated! From the concierge, Anderson, who welcomes you thoroughly and lets you know just how much he enjoys his job and loves the city to the door men, especially Christopher who knows the city and can give you pointers like he were describing the back of his hand.
Again, the service. GREAT!! I can't think of the last time I had the pleasure of being happy to be around such magnificent personalities. My girlfriend and i truly didn't want to leave. Hence, the extention.
I'd mention the breathtaking lounge Vertigo a top the roof of the hotel or the deliciously snuck in yet sophisticated restaraunt A a but they are so great respectively that they all deserve seperate reviews.
Whoever wants their hotel staffers to get better training to be 5 star should send their employees here so they can understand what makes a place such as Dana, dare I say greatest thus so far hotel!

Room Tip: Mr room was a had an amazing view but I found out all do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,213 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing