We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION! Fantastic service!”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here in November for our anniversary. You can't beat the location, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and modern. The shower was odd, but in its own way, kind of neat. Vertigo was outstanding. Loved the view! Their rack rate would, in my opinion, be very overpriced, but we got an exceptional deal on bookit.com. You're definitely paying for the location. Very safe and clean area. Overall, we had a good experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Lee M, Thank you for a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed our location and the amenities in the hotel. Please visit again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,025 - 3,031 of 3,784 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed at the Dana the Wednesday before Thanksgiving! In our party were people of all ages including my 86 year old mother. We loved the view and all the windows. We had a Divine Double and our friends has a Corner King. We walked everywhere to shop, eat and drink! Had a drink early upstairs and loved the firepits and robes! Have stayed in dozens of hotels in Chicago for work and pleasure and this is absolutely a favorite and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear hope1Chicago, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and honored that we are your 'favorite hotel' in Chicago. Vertigo is a truly unique rooftop in Chicago, we are glad you had a nice experience there as well. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Being a fan of The Four Seasons, but needing a more price-friendly hotel for a one night stay, my friend found Dana Hotel &Spa, near the heart of the The Miracle Mile downtown. Only a 7 block walk to Tiffany and all the best shopping. Very safe and fresh neighborhood as well. Hotel Valet Parking $40/night. But at $250/night for two, I was worried it might be a dump as it seemed too cheap for Chicago.

The staff, from the doorman and bellman to restaurant staff were incredibly friendly and super accommodating. A great first impression!

The decor is totally hip and cool; modern and sleek, and interesting multi-levels for the bar, restaurant, lobby. Just an usual lay-out with great eye appeal. So far, so good.

The room was a fabulous surprise! I don't know if it was because it was a midweek night, but we were upgraded from a queen to king room without asking! We did reserve a corner room and it was FANTASTIC!

Ultra sleek black furniture, high quality all white linens and down comforter, nice desk set up and reading chair with a proper floor lamp, and floor to ceiling windows showing a great view of the cityscape. And being this is a nice neighborhood, nothing ugly to look at! There's two types of roll down shades offered: either a gauzy semi-view of the outdoors, or a total blackout shade.

The bathroom was beautiful. Double sink and enough counter space for two women with lots of make-up, to share the same space at once! A very large rainforest walk in shower with one wall being all glass, facing into the bedroom. But there is a curtain to pull across in the bedroom for shower privacy. Very nice shampoos and toiletries, all made with herbs. Good quality soft towels.

Very ample drawer space and closet space. Very cool lighting and lamps. Polished dark wood floor and rough cement walls with artistic shaping.

Sadly we had no time to use the spa. But the rooftop bar is so cool with 5:00 cocktails and munchies.

In conclusion, I was blown-away by this hotel. I would definitely return and not even miss my beloved Four Seasons at three times the price!

Don't hesitate to stay here. Dana is a boutique hotel with only two (maybe three?), locations in other cities. This might of been even more fun than the Madonna concert we came to see!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Carol C, it sounds like you had a fantastic stay, thank you for the great review. It was so nice to read your review and share with our staff, thank you for the lovely comments. You must come back soon to try the spa as well, just to make your experience complete ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding and weren't impressed on several accounts. For starters the elevators were malfunctioning to the point an employee had to be called to come up to your floor to get you, this was the case the entire 2 days we stayed. Our corner room was comfortable enough albeit a little cramped. The room was worn around the edges with chipped wood and paint in various spots, glitter on the desk chair (guessing some partying went on with a previous guest and some company). The bathroom was also a bit small. Being Chicago, there are far more hotel options and in my opinion far better options. I probably wouldn't stay here again. My preferred hotel is the Park Hyatt on the higher end and the Omni for a more affordable option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear drew3114, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and we are disappointed that you did not have a better experience with us. Please be assured that our elevator situation is completely repaired, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Great stay here for 6 nights in November! Service was great everywhere and all staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lovely and cozy rooms very much; there were nice toiletries as well which were replenished daily. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Only thing is that the floor to ceiling windows were not tinted so we had to draw all the blinds once we entered the room-especially at night- which meant we couldnt enjoy the views so much. The 24 hr gym was a plus. Overall, a great stay here and we were very pleased. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dnahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Dnahk, thank you for choosing dana hotel and spa for your six night stay in November! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and for the fabulous Trip Advisor review. See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I loved looking out at all the lights through the long glass windows in my corner room. the rooftop bar with the open pit fireplace was da bomb. I also liked the location and the hot trendy bar on the first floor. I would definitely go back and stay there and also because it is one block from MBurger which serves the best most juiciest burgers, fries and floats.

Room Tip: corner rooms give an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Hi Candice F, thank you for a great review. We are happy you enjoyed our location and amenities! Please come see us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The staff went the extra mile to accommodate all requests. The laundry service was very effective and the location is excellent, with a spectacular view both from my room and the terrace. However, these advantages could not unfortunately rescue the serious disadvantages. The hotel is badly in need of renovation. The bathroom was old and then I tried to use the plug of the bath tub the rusty old thing literally fell apart. A spectacular room with a view is a good idea but pulling down six double curtains with rusty manual tools every night was less good (an electrical system for pulling down all the twelve curtains would help a lot). The heating/air conditioning system was one of the most noisy I experienced, giving the choice from keeping it and suffer the noise or shutting it off and suffer the cold. The breakfast menu is poor and renouncing the usual breakfast buffet as this hotel does is only good if service is quick - which in my case was not, it took 40 minutes to have granola with yogurth and a fruit smoothie, priced - together with coffee and juice - an exaggerated $35. The great location and the very friendly staff deserve investments by the owners to renovate the hotel and improving how it operates.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank LordLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear LordLister, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and let us know about your experience. My sincerest apologies for the various deficiencies you experienced during your stay. We continually improve our product and your suggestions are helpful. If you would like to try us again, please call the hotel directly and speak to a manager in Reservations so they can make sure your next stay is perfection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £87 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing