We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
dana hotel and spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Chicago Hotel(Chicago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Felix(Chicago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,330)
Filter reviews
4,330 results
Traveller rating
2,553
1,148
389
156
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,553
1,148
389
156
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowsvertigo loungerooftop bartranquil suitecomfy kinggreat locationcorner kingsmall balconyrain showertop floorstate streetboutique hotelwhole foodsroom servicemini bargreat roomriver north
Filter
Updating list...
3,562 - 3,567 of 4,330 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the Dana a number of time. It has an upscale modern urban feel. Great decor. Cool roof bar. The rooms are small but unique with balconies. This last room was on the 7th floor and the room was definitely not level - you could feel it walking and the sliding door to the closet/bathroom kept sliding on its own. The showers are a cool glass room but the shower head in the last one was loose and couldn't focus (like an out of control hose), fortunately there are two heads so no real problem. The restaurant on the first floor was good for breakfast. Good food but they blast loud funk music from the '70s. It's so loud it detracts from the feel of the cool hotel. I would still try another stay, but I hope they cut the music volume and addres some minor maintenance issues. The location is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdubuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Pdubuque, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the various deficiencies you experienced. With the slower season upon us, we are ensuring all of our guestrooms are maintained at the highest standards. We appreciate you returning and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Living in Northwest Indiana, it is wonderful to have the city of Chicago 30-45 minutes away. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the city, and most of them have been excellent. I found out about the Dana Hotel and Spa from the travel and leasure magazine I was reading while I was getting my oil changed. I had an excellent stay. The room (a corner king) was fantastic. The floor to ceiling windows, really let you know you were in the city. They windows do have room darkening shades if you want to let them down. The bed was comfortable. The rainshower shower head in the bathroom, was great. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the staff was excellent. We happened upon a great irish pub (Pippins) within walking distance and had a great time. I will return to the Dana the next time I need a weekend overnighter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear steve m, how cool that you just happened upon our hotel! I am glad you read that magazine while you were waiting for your car :) So happy you enjoyed your stay and you are close enough to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Overall, we really liked this hotel, especially after being upgraded without charge to a corner room. It was a little disconcerting to walk in and have floor to ceiling windows ... I mean, no walls at all, all windows! With office buildings and condos and hotels right across the street, one was very much on display. But by closing some shades and keeping lights low or off, it was great. And the night view down State St was spectacular. Great location. Went up to Vertigo for just a quick drink ... early (about 10 pm) so just our speed. Almost no one inside; strolled outside and although the drinks were very expensive ($14 for a mojito) we loved the view and atmosphere. 40 degrees outside but because it has full height glass walls with heaters at the top, we were perfectly comfortable. My only complaint was that even on the tenth floor could hear traffic noise and the heat going on and off was rather loud. Other than that, great place - clean and comfortable and great decor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear suzanne721, thank you for your comments about our Corner King room. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the unique set up of the room. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Lovely lovely hotel,beautifully decorated and located in a nice area,5 minutes walk from the miracle mile with lots of good eating places all around.We were given an end room on the 20th floor with a lovely view through the all glass wall that was at the end of the corridor, unfortunately I do not like heights so there was no problem being moved to the 6th floor. Breakfast and dinner were fabulous if you wanted to eat there. The staff were lovely from the front desk, restaurant staff and bell boys. We stayed three nights there and on our last day we went to visit relations in the suburb as our Amtrak train was not leaving until 19.00...no trouble storing our luggage with them,three boys on the front door all helpful with smiles on their faces, a pleasure to find such a lovely place in a major city.Only minus was the size of the room not very large ...everything else perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear derek888, I am so happy that our service and smiles made your stay more enjoyable. Our Corner King rooms have really great views, I am glad we could accommodate the lower floor request so you could experience it! Thank you for such a nice review, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here in November for our anniversary. You can't beat the location, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and modern. The shower was odd, but in its own way, kind of neat. Vertigo was outstanding. Loved the view! Their rack rate would, in my opinion, be very overpriced, but we got an exceptional deal on bookit.com. You're definitely paying for the location. Very safe and clean area. Overall, we had a good experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Lee M, Thank you for a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed our location and the amenities in the hotel. Please visit again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews