We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A/C not cool”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #53 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A/C not cool”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Dana hotel and spa 4 nights. If it would not have been for the location, easy access to just about anything you could want, we would have been very disappointed. We ate breakfast once downstairs. We had eggs benedict or rather should I say cold eggs benedict and coffee. when we told the waiter that our eggs benedict arrived cold he removed the coffee from our tab. not what I would call a good trade. The room was niceish at first glance but the longer we stayed there the more problems we saw. There was a small, and I mean small balcony but the door swung open everytime we left the room. We were there during August so it was very hot. The AC system runs on a motion sensor which means it's very hot at night. No way to really cool the room off while you're sleepy is there? everytime we took a shower we had to have loads of towels on the floor because most of the water ended up on the floor in the bathroom. We went up to the rooftop bar one evening but felt like intruders. We were told to take a seat in a reserved area but that we would have to move as soon as the party arrived. It seems they cater to locals 25 years and younger. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmadesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear karmadesigns,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear your enjoyed the location. My apologies that you experienced several deficiencies during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and take it into consideration when we make changes to our property and policies. I hope you try us again the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,979
    942
    317
    120
    62
See reviews for
402
1,458
183
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel experience was a mixed bag for me. As part of a large corporate group, I heard mostly positive comments from my co-workers, but I wasn't quite so smitten with the Dana Hotel. The unusual decor certainly takes some getting used to, and I'm not sure that I completely got used to it. The floor is half hardwood and half carpet, which looks nice, but the hardwood floor gets slippery when damp (I'll explain later), and there's a piece of trim wood where the hardwood meets the carpet that hurts like heck when you step on it awkwardly in the middle of the night. The tv remote rarely worked, except from about four feet away from a certain angle, and only part of the time. The floor-to-ceiling windows have cumbersome double roller shades that, even when both layers are closed, have gaps so people in the buildi across the street can likely see into the room. The bed cover was very thick and hot, and the a/c, set at 65, never got below 70. The shower, with clear glass on one side and nothing on the other side, feels great, but allows water to cover the bathroom floor. The bellmen and desk clerks were very good, but the young female servers at the rooftop lounge were horrible, unfriendly, and unresponsive. The concrete ceiling is unusual, and the lighting is unusual and not very effective. The sound insulation to the outside isn't great, but inside is excellent. The location is good. All in all, it was a mixed bag. Hope is is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear David H,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and were happy to hear your co-workers had positive comments. We are sorry to hear that was not your experience. What you described is not a typical dana guest's experience, and we are investigating your concerns. We do hope you try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my GF stayed at the Dana Hotel and Spa in Chicago and were left speechless. Check in was super fast and easy. We stayed in a corner suite with floor to cieling windows that gave us a panoramic view of the city. The shower had a rainfall type of shower head which was perfection. The staff was great, the people of Chicago are super friendly, and the city itself is so clean and beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again. There is a roof top sky lounge called Vertigo which is right at the hotel. It's a really hip and chic hotel which caters to all age groups. Thank you Dana Hotel and Spa for your hospitality and for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Transportation: Take the train from the airport. It's super easy, fast, and will only cost you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

my wife and i made our first trip to chicago and found this hotel on trip advisor. as we visit nyc every year, we could not help but comparing. this hotel was amazingly centrally located, four times the quality and half the price of what we usually get in new york. the staff was overly attentive, the room was ample, clean, bright and very comfortable. it is in the middle of shopping, restaurants, touristing, etc. we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the Dana Hotel by myself for a meeting and hotel was wonderful. Many hotels have cracks in their armor when you take a close look but the room was great down to the smallest details. Very clean, nice layout which would accommodate a small family, great shower, quiet - pretty much everything you could ask for in a room. We found ourselves in the bar on the roof top which had a nice feel. All in all, a highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattieroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful corner king with two balconies, separate living room, and a walk in shower with two shower heads. Was on the 23rd floor. Very contemporary, sleek decor. We could walk to Starbucks on the same block, to lots of restaurants one block away and the Chicago River was about 10 minutes to the south..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My BFF & I are hotel snobs, so we were a little nervous about a new and unknown boutique hotel for our annual summer get together. The Dana Hotel did not disappoint! Classy, contemporary & comfortable with a 5 star staff who bent over backwards to make pur stay with them perfect. The rooftop bar, with the beautiful Mercedes serving us fabulous martinis & great guacamole is a must do again. The rooms are immaculate & beautiful, with comfy beds & down comforters, mini bar is affordable, location is perfect, the restaurant is very good and again, not pricey. Special thanks to the hotel manager for his professional handling of a small glitch in our room. I must mention the spa, where I had a great massage.........also loved the hotel room spa amenities we will be back next summer. Thank you, Dana Hotel. We love you..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandoralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#44 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing