We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of dana hotel and spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for a week during a conference. Hotel was in a pretty good location, within walking distance to the subway line. Check-in was easy. Had a corner king, which I think is smaller than the other king rooms, but afforded a pretty good view and had a balcony - it was on the 11th floor. The rooms are small, but clean. There were no bath tubs. The showers are nice (no shower curtains, only the glass-door). Interestingly, there's a window into the bedroom and the curtain blocking the view from the bed into the shower is controlled from the outside. There was a Keurig-style coffee maker in the room (may have been an actual Keurig I don't remember). Got a newspaper almost every morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hormuz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Hormuz85,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago! We are looking into why there was an interruption in service regarding your daily newspaper I am sorry that happen. It sounds like you were staying in our Comfy king which offers a balcony and the view is of North State street. I am happy to hear you also enjoy the view. We enjoy this view too and recommend If you have to wake up early in the morning make sure only the shades are drawn not the back out shades. There is something about waking up and seeing that view first thing in the morning that makes for a great start to the day!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,905
    902
    304
    118
    55
See reviews for
378
1,413
174
795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I don't have any major complaints about this hotel. The rooms are nice, but look much more impressive online than they do in person. The employees were very friendly. Parking is high and inconvenient, but that's the norm in downtown Chicago. The rooftop club's music choice was not my taste, but the view of the city is great. The crowd was relatively slow on Friday night, but picked up considerably on Saturday. The restaurant food was just ok. The hotel is close to some attractions, but we were hoping to stay in an area with more action. More people, more bars, and more clubs. I will probably explore another hotel in the future, but overall Dana is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Wpier7,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you are happy with our service. It is unfortunate that our location does not work for your needs. If that ever changes for you we would love to have you back.
Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Business travel has challenges during the holidays. Everyone at the Dana (from desk to restaurant and lounge) seemed to recognize this and met my few requests with efficiency and a terrific attitude. Simply for time reasons I usually take advantage of what ever food choices a hotel has to offer but eating at Freestyle become my preferred place to have afternoon apps, dinner and drinks (good craft beer choices available) and even entertain. I am going back to the Dana Hotel for all those reasons but also because everyone there was so friendly and made an effort to make it clear they appreciated my business. Location, service and amenities alone would have me going back but I like that they all wanted to earn my business with every interaction.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing views and floor to ceiling windows all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_dMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear D_dMac2014,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to downtown Chicago hotels and we appreciate you choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay and freestyle food and drink as your dinning option! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I travel to Chicago often and The Dana Hotel and Spa is one of my first choices. The location is great. The service is friendly. The accommodations are very comfortable and the showers are ridiculously incredible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear ScottB,
Thank you for making the dana hotel and spa your first choice when traveling to Chicago and thank you for sharing it with us! I agree with you the spa inspired showers are ridiculously incredible! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Dana Hotel. It has a great location, we were within walking distance of all kinds of great Chicago attractions. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and stress free. Also, loved the Keurig in our room!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSmith2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Dsmith2004,

Thanks you for choosing the dana hotel and spa and we are very grateful that you took the time to write this review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Keurig coffee maker in the room! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here at Christmas and had a wonderful time! Great location! Wonderful service! Restaurant menu was more interesting and appealing then most hotel food. Room was also different. Wonderful rain shower. Definitely a hotel to try!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leemarie_54, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Myra K,
Thank you taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Superlative! Excellent ownership of the hospitality equation at all levels. We were impressed as "everyone" seemed focused on providing value, addressing requirements, and making for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suite. Fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leemarie_54, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Jeff G,

Thank you so much for choosing the dana for your recent stay in Chicago! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing