We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
dana hotel and spa
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$575
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$649
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,248)
Filter reviews
4,248 results
Traveller rating
2,494
1,130
384
156
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,494
1,130
384
156
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowsvertigo loungerooftop bartranquil suitecomfy kinggreat locationcorner kingsmall balconyrain showertop floorstate streetboutique hotelwhole foodsroom servicemini bargreat roomriver north
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,173 - 3,178 of 4,248 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Found a great last minute rate for the Dana on the app Hotel Tonight. This trendy hotel in Chicago's River North neighborhood has some pros including the location and a great street level bar/lounge with a terrific Bloody Mary bar and friendly bartender. The Vertigo Lounge roof top bar is open year round, and is indoor/outdoor. Warm throws are provided in winter if you are hearty enough to sit around a fire pit in subzero Chicago or stand near the ice bar. Yes it's made of ice. Pros for the small rooms include the excellent amenities, robes, slippers, rain shower, sound bar for playing your own music and comfortable beds.
Cons: Bathrooms are exposed, as in glass walls/see thru shower. For privacy you must pull a curtain closed. Weird. Also this is hands down the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at in Chicago and I've stayed in dozens over the last 30 years. If you want to sleep between 12-6 am forget it. Between the rooftop bar becoming a nightclub, the drunk guests wandering the halls, doors slamming shut, traffic noise and the sound of 24 hour room service carts in the hallways, good luck. If you are in a hurry to get to your room or to the lobby, you'll have to wait, I'm guessing there are no service elevators as the guest elevators were always full of staff with carts of food, beer, bags of room linens etc.
Overall I would recommend the Dana for the great bar/lounge at street level but would definitely avoid staying here if you want to sleep. And this is not a hotel for children or families.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies. Ask for a room far away from the rooftop lounge and the elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear sddistel,
Thank you choosing the dana hotel and spa and for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to see you enjoyed Freestyle Food and Drink and Vertigo Sky Lounge. The thought behind leaving a glass wall between the bedroom and the shower was to give our guests the option of allowing natural lighting into the bathroom then added the curtain for when privacy is preferred. Regarding the sound carrying down the hallway. We worked with an acoustic engineer to assist us in muting any sound that travels through the hallway. We will be completed with this project in the spring. We would love to have you back and hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
Best regards,
Liana Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and had a pretty nice experience. The location is perfect. The rooms are a bit small but very modern and trendy. Check in was a breeze. Parking is steep but we've started using SpotHero app, we reserved parking just two blocks from this hotel for about half the price for the entire weekend. Only negative would be sound from the night club on the top floor, if this may bother you, then request a room a the lower floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Marc1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Lisa_Marc1015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's nice to see you enjoyed your time at the dana hotel and spa. We are working with an acoustical engineer to help us mute the sound that travels from Vertigo Sky Lounge and will have this completed in the spring. Thank you for staying with us we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Liana Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for a week during a conference. Hotel was in a pretty good location, within walking distance to the subway line. Check-in was easy. Had a corner king, which I think is smaller than the other king rooms, but afforded a pretty good view and had a balcony - it was on the 11th floor. The rooms are small, but clean. There were no bath tubs. The showers are nice (no shower curtains, only the glass-door). Interestingly, there's a window into the bedroom and the curtain blocking the view from the bed into the shower is controlled from the outside. There was a Keurig-style coffee maker in the room (may have been an actual Keurig I don't remember). Got a newspaper almost every morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hormuz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Hormuz85,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago! We are looking into why there was an interruption in service regarding your daily newspaper I am sorry that happen. It sounds like you were staying in our Comfy king which offers a balcony and the view is of North State street. I am happy to hear you also enjoy the view. We enjoy this view too and recommend If you have to wake up early in the morning make sure only the shades are drawn not the back out shades. There is something about waking up and seeing that view first thing in the morning that makes for a great start to the day!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers,
Liana Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I don't have any major complaints about this hotel. The rooms are nice, but look much more impressive online than they do in person. The employees were very friendly. Parking is high and inconvenient, but that's the norm in downtown Chicago. The rooftop club's music choice was not my taste, but the view of the city is great. The crowd was relatively slow on Friday night, but picked up considerably on Saturday. The restaurant food was just ok. The hotel is close to some attractions, but we were hoping to stay in an area with more action. More people, more bars, and more clubs. I will probably explore another hotel in the future, but overall Dana is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Wpier7,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you are happy with our service. It is unfortunate that our location does not work for your needs. If that ever changes for you we would love to have you back.
Best regards,
Liana Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Business travel has challenges during the holidays. Everyone at the Dana (from desk to restaurant and lounge) seemed to recognize this and met my few requests with efficiency and a terrific attitude. Simply for time reasons I usually take advantage of what ever food choices a hotel has to offer but eating at Freestyle become my preferred place to have afternoon apps, dinner and drinks (good craft beer choices available) and even entertain. I am going back to the Dana Hotel for all those reasons but also because everyone there was so friendly and made an effort to make it clear they appreciated my business. Location, service and amenities alone would have me going back but I like that they all wanted to earn my business with every interaction.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing views and floor to ceiling windows all around.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_dMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear D_dMac2014,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to downtown Chicago hotels and we appreciate you choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay and freestyle food and drink as your dinning option! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews