We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and the best rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #49 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views and the best rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Dana Hotel and Spa stands out as an individual hotel in a great location in downtown Chicago. Stylish and comfortable accommodation, friendly staff, and within walking distance of city sites. Vertigo on the top floor is for the younger 'hip and trendy' set, but certainly good for an early evening drink before heading out. Amazing views! Nice to find a central hotel that's not corporate and impersonal.

Room Tip: The extra space if taking a suite is well worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear ScotKris,
Thank you for your review of the dana hotel and spa! We are grateful you choose to stay with us.
Please let us know the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. We would be happy to have you as our guest again.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    902
    304
    118
    56
See reviews for
379
1,414
174
795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had 2 rooms at this hotel. My brother and his girlfriend stayed in a comfy king and my husband, my mom and my cousin and I stayed in a divine double. The rooms were pretty spacious and very clean. My brother's comfy king room had a small angled balcony which was big enough for 2 people to stand out on. Our room had floor to ceiling glass windows that gave us great views of the buildings around us. It was pretty foggy the night we stayed there and so some of the views were great still.

The staff were super friendly! We arrived at like 9:00 a.m. because of an early flight. Our rooms of course weren't ready, but we still checked in and just left our bags and went and explored the city. We came back about 3:00 p.m. and our rooms were ready. It was great because both rooms were only about 2 rooms apart. The bathrooms were great and the shower was large. It almost felt European as there isn't a door on the shower, just a half glass wall. There is also a curtain that you can pull to cover the glass between the sleeping area and the glass for the shower. I would say the room is designed more for a couple with some small children or just a couple. My cousins little girl kept pulling on the curtain every time someone was in the bathroom. She thought it was funny. It was very convenient to Michigan Avenue. We also caught a Cub's game so the distance from the hotel to the Chicago stop on the red line was only about 2-3 blocks. We caught the redline straight to Addison and it was only about a 20 minute ride.

Would highly recommend this hotel. There are some great restaurants around. Macy's is only about 6-7 blocks south on the same street (State Street).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stpattysgirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Stpattysgirl1982,

We appreciate you and your family for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of our location and see all Chicago has to offer! We would love for you and your family to stay with us again. We offer a couple other guestroom and suites options that would help eliminate the impromptu game of peek-a-boo. Give us a call directly and we would be happy to tell you about them. Thank you again for choosing the dana and for taking the time to write this review.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A nice hotel with a very good restaurant at the bottom of it. The room was a good size, spacious and clean. The only issues for me were the blinds in the room let in a lot of light down the sides (unfortunately I discovered I needed darkness) and the glass window in the shower was a little bizarre. But there is every chance I might be too old to appreciate the style.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWS3and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello KiwiJWS,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a nice review for us. Our glass shower design is a bit different than a typical hotel’s. It is designed to allow natural light into the bathroom to get a spa-like effect. Overall it sounds like your stay was enjoyable and we do hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Dana, only my 2nd time in Chicago. Super friendly staff at check in, and the doormen had lots of great suggestions on where to go. I had a one bedroom suite that was nice. I love a great bathroom. The huge stone surfaced had 2 rainfall shower heads and a place to sit...too bad i was there alone. What a waste. Great food in the restaurant, roof lounge was loud but a good time. This is a hotel for people looking to have a good time out late. I wouldn't bring the kids here. The Dana is a party and a good one at that.

Room Tip: MY suite was really nice. Great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi James M,

Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of Vertigo and freestyle food + drink. I’ll be sure to pass on your wonderful compliments regarding our front desk and door staff. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed one night when in town to see a show. Booked this on hoteltonight.com. Loved this boutique style hotel. Staff was very attentive. Rooms were nicely appointed (a little small; but typical size for many boutique hotels). Location was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaMorganHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Got a good price through Expedia. Knew to ask for room on lower floor based on other reviews and was fortunate to get a room on the 6th floor. Doormen were awesome - friendly and helpful. I also had issues twice with room keycards but staff fixed promptly. Doors closing were very noisy. Bed and pillows were very comfortable! We had massages in Spa - one masseuse was wonderful and the other was just ok. Location was great. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Micheeel,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments regarding our hotel and our team. We are working on solutions for our doors. We are in the process of testing a few options that is on our list to resolve quickly. I am happy to hear we fixed the key card issue promptly. we are sorry that you experienced issues with your key cards. I am glad to hear they quickly fixed the issue. We hope to see you again! Let us know the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago!
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Cool, fun hotel in a great location. Tim, our concierge , was excellent. He was very helpful and knowledgable. All staff members were very friendly. All of the breakfast items we ordered were delicious. Really neat outdoor lounge with fire pits on the rooftop with good views of the city. The indoor rooftop lounge music was a little loud late at night but didn't keep us from getting a good nights sleep. We were on the 22nd floor and the lounge is on the 24th floor. If you are a light sleeper it may be a good idea to request a lower floor. Good restaurants are within walking distance. Magnificent Mile shopping is a few blocks away. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooftop lounge music is loud late at night so light sleepers may want to book lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasfunbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Tim our concierge and the rest of our team! I am happy to hear you enjoyed freestyle food + drink as well as Vertigo Sky Lounge during your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the dana for your stay in Chicago. We hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing