We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what a boutique hotel should be”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is what a boutique hotel should be”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This my type of hotel. Hip, furnished with items that wouldn't look out of place in your own home, with a great view of Chicago. Nice top floor club, good breakfast, professional service from all. Pleasure to stay here for price paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Greg M,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! We’re so pleased you enjoyed the dana. We loved hearing that you feel our fixtures are something that your would find in your own home. That was very important to us during development of the dana hotel and spa to get as close as possible to feeling like your home away from home. This continues to be important to us as we go through refreshing the rooms just as you would in your own home.
We hope to see you back again soon!

Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,975
    941
    316
    120
    62
See reviews for
399
1,458
183
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I traveled to Chicago for a wedding in July for five days and the Dana was the perfect location to travel around the city. As others have mentioned, there is a rooftop lounge that is pretty happening. When I checked in, I requested a high floor but one where I wouldn't hear the music since I'm young but not that young to be listening to music pulsing thru my room when trying to sleep. Even on the 22nd floor, you could hear it but luckily I had plenty of late nights out so it wasn't a big deal. Also, the bathroom is cool but there is a noise factor if you are sharing the room as the bathroom door doesn't offer much privacy. The room had a few areas to address with tiles loose in the bathroom, the blackout shades not working and bubbled wallpaper - nothing that was too much of a hassle but showcases a lack of attention to detail but I also didn't report this things as I wasn't in the room that much. I will say the staff were excellent from the doorman to registration, really first class. I would stay here again but will really focus on the location of my room next time since I was near the elevator which club goers congregated at and also allowed the music to filter down to lower floors.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very pleased to hear our staff is living up to the high standards we hold ourselves to. I do want to apologize for the condition of the room. Those issues are currently being addressed as we are refreshing all of our guestrooms and suites. Please let us know the next time you are in Chicago so we can show you that even the smallest details are important to us. Our in house reservations department can help personalize your next stay.

Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I found this hotel to be clean and the staff pleasant and friendly. The location is conveniently located near the subway and a divvy bicycle rental is right across the street. You can easily walk to the shopping district. It's just over a mile to Navy Pier -- an easy walk or rent a bicycle to get there quicker.
I would stay here again. Note: the bathroom layout is a bit awkward, so, if you are sharing a room, make sure you are comfortable with who are sharing.

Room Tip: Room has floor to ceiling windows. Bathroom shower has a glass wall that faces into the room -- ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144JCopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 144JCopp,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and for such a wonderful review! We’re pleased to hear you are such a fan of our River North location, close to so many amenities! We hope you got to take advantage of those many options while you were here. Hopefully we will see you in Chicago again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My two night stay was excellent. I had no problems with noise from the top floor club mentioned by others. My room was three levels below it and was not large but was big enough for two. The price was well below what all the nearby older hotels were charging. Definitely on my list as the first place to check for my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi mark s,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a delightful review! We hope you come back and see us again soon


Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the DANA from a Monday through a Thursday for business. I had a cozy king room with a balcony and despite the very busy hotel my room was completely quiet and private. I love the view from the bed and enjoyed the luxury bedding. The staff was helpful. The breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was perfect and the doormen were awesome at remembering me (and that I needed a taxi early in the morning)

Getting there by train was super easy.
One thing to note; as the week grew the roof-top night club scene intensified. It's easy to avoid but the vibe is certainly there. I did not use the spa- maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Janell V,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree with you regarding the view from the cozy king room. The spa is definitely a must the next time you are in town! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Liana Clark
lclark@danahotelandspa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The Dana was everything we expected and more. Great location...right in the center of everything. The staff was friendly and helpful...directions, recommendations etc. The view was spectacular. We loved everything about our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cardz_fanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear cardz_fanz
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you visit Chicago again soon, we’d love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a Great stay at the Dana. It is situation directly in the middle of everything you need to visit, eat, and see while in Chicago. You can walk to basically anywhere in the city, no problem. The room was very nice with full windows giving a nice view of the city. I can see if you have kids the shower window would be awkward but me and my fiance' enjoyed it!!! The rain shower was great and provided enough pressure. The bed slept really well for a hotel bed with nice pillows. The air conditioner acted up one night but eventually fixed itself. The mini bar refridgerator did not cool very well even when set on lowest setting. We tried the downstairs bar and restaurant for breakfast and was satisfied with the service and the food, as well as the portions given. We checked out the SkyBar one afternoon and was impressed with the bar and the great views. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Chicago!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the floors near SkyBar if you go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Scott D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us! We’re glad to hear you loved our great location as much as we do! Thank you for mentioning the wine coolers, After 6 years we are in the process of replacing all of them. We will take a look f them to make sure what we have in our rooms and suites is cooling properly. We do hope you do come back to Chicago and visit us again!

Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#44 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing