We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the shores of Lake Michigan, Shedd Aquarium brings you eye-to-eye with more than 32,000 aquatic animals - from whales to snails, tarantulas to turtles, angelfish to zebra sharks!
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

First and foremost, if you are going to Chicago to see museums and the aquarium, I highly recommend getting the City Pass. It saves you money and time. We didn't wait in line to get into the aquarium. It was awesome! Our group of 4 had a lovely time here, the aquarium itself is beautiful and in a beautiful location. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the exhibits are wonderful. All in all a fantastic time had by all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Tlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,298
    2,279
    1,140
    318
    155
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, walk about indoor aquarium.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Pay attention to the entrance fee. It is not clearly posted as you enter. We noticed some people had pre-ordered tickets and were able to go right in. We waited in line as they let only small groups enter to approach the pay counter people. Didn't take too long though....and you have a view of the lake outside. The aquarium building is full of various areas of the world-type fish, etc. Some very large tanks where we watched a variety of ocean fish while sitting on a bench. GLAD there were benches in several places! Convenient bathrooms and a nice gift shop. Outside there were a few hot dog and ice cream stands and a lovely park that faces the lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family fun with 21 month old”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with 21 month old using stroller, no problems getting around and he LOVED it. Dining options were good value and HEALTHY, sides for my son's meal were carrots and homemade applesauce.

Advice: buy tickets online. Get there at 9am. Use side accessible entrance. See special exhibits first and general ones on way out.

Helpful?
Thank tdm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Splish Splash”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a world renown aquarium and fun for the entire family. I am over 70 and it was not that much fun for me. There are lots of stairs and big crowds with lots of kids. I think they should have a senior day or at least an adult only day. I have to rate it 5 star however because it is. Plan at least 3 hours and be patient with the kiddies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“long lines and big crowds”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we waited in a long line to enter, and once inside, waited some more to see exhibits. I liked seeing the belugas, but overall wasn't blown away. We may have been spoiled by a visit a few years earlier to an aquarium in Gatlinburg of all places, that was outstanding. That aquarium created a sense of awe. The Shedd also triggered some thoughts, but mostly it was "wow, and people complain about lines and crowds at Disneyworld!" We've been to Disneyworld many times, and never spent as much time in lines as we did at the Shedd. The aquatic show was surprisingly unimpressive. Go to MSI instead -- they've got some crowds too, but nothing like the Shedd, and those exhibits are worth the wait

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kyrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shedd Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Shedd Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing