We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguins!”
Review of Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the shores of Lake Michigan, Shedd Aquarium brings you eye-to-eye with more than 32,000 aquatic animals - from whales to snails, tarantulas to turtles, angelfish to zebra sharks!
Maryland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Penguins!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stood in line almost two hours to get in, half of it in the hot sun. The issue was not having enough cashiers to handle the demand and people deciding which package to get. Basic admission is very limited and doesn’t allow entrance to most of the featured exhibits, so try to figure out what you want before you get to the head of the line. Now, was the wait worth it? Yes! We’ve been to several aquariums – Waikiki, Tampa, Baltimore, etc., and this one ranks up there with some of the best. Sharks, dolphins, and touching stingrays never gets old. But, the best part – the penguins! Aside from National Geographic, never thought I’d see them in real life on this side of the arctic. Truly worth the extra $ -- you must see the penguins. Tip – military members receive greatly reduced admission to the museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lost175lbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,291
    2,277
    1,140
    318
    154
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful - Disney quality”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved this place. The detail is incredible. Wonderful exhibits and show! Went in 2011 although Trip Advisor won't let me choose that date.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Where-next2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great day trip!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently visited the Shedd with my fiance, my aunt and uncle and their young kids (aged 7 and 5). It was a great morning! Make sure to arrive there early - we arrived right when it opened (9 am) and there was no line whatsoever. By the time we left at around 2 pm the line-up was out the door and all the way down the main steps outside.

Although it's not a cheap excursion, you get what you pay for. This is definitely a world-class aquarium. One of the highlights for the kids was the stingray touching display, which was held outside and is offered from May through to October. Very cool!

Also a plus was the Starbucks at the cafe. Definitely hit the spot after a few hours with the little ones. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank To142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, will go again”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I absolutely loved Shedd Aquarium, particularly the Jellyfish exhibit & dolphin show. Probably best to go closer to opening hours. It is very popular & gets quite crowded, but *most of the other visitors respected their boundaries & tried to give others space to take pictures with family. Loved dining outdoors at one of their restaurants. Very pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ourroaminghearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking aquarium!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Be prepared to spend all day...this is a unique aquarium with a HUGE amount of aquatic life. This is a long line to wait for tickets, so try to have them ahead of time-we bought the City Pass and it helped our trip tremendously! Once inside, there are several "wings" for the types of animals plus special events all day. This is beautifully maintained and has a wonderful view of the lake. I would go back in a heart-beat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shedd Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Shedd Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing