We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend away. It was a great location with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Taxis were easy to come by, but we walked quite a bit, too. Michigan Avenue was an easy walk for us, just a few blocks away. There was free breakfast, though very crowded with families on this particular weekend. We'd consider staying here again, especially with our children. There were video games available in the lobby-that seemed to be a hit with the kids staying there. The staff was always friendly and all staff members greeted us with a smile and a hello no matter the time of day or what they were doing. Our room was small, though very clean, updates and nicely decorated. While we didn't mind the extra "noise" of the families, you may wish to consider another Marriott property if you are looking for a quieter getaway.

Room Tip: Noisy on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mommax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
1mommax3-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you and your husband were able to get away for the weekend! Spring Break tends to bring a lot of families to our property, but thank you for being patient! I hope you enjoyed the shopping on Michigan Avenue as well. We hope to see you again soon, maybe with the kids!

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    344
    85
    23
    18
See reviews for
319
149
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't outragiously priced and had a pool (a rarity in Chicago). We were taking our 9 year old son for a Spring Break/Birthday weekend. The SHS was great for the price! Comfy bed, clean rooms that were very spacious, and great service from the front desk. Every questions was met with a smile and answered with detail. They had great knowledge of the city and the best way to get where we were going. The pool was a bit small and it was very crowded because of Spring Break. My only negative was the elevator system...it took forever to get an elevator! If you were on the top floor, it stopped on every floor all of the way down to the lobby. Not sure what was going on there. Overall, I would recommend it as it was a great location as well. Walking distance to alot of great restaurants with Harry Carey's right across the street!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
BridgeIndy-

Thank you for bring your gamily to our city for SpringBreak. I am happy to hear your son enjoyed his Birthday weekend in the city as well. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were able to spend a couple of nights here with 5 of us in one room. The additional space and sleeper sofa make this a room that can accomodate 5 people for a few days without going crazy!

The staff was friendly and helpful even with a sold out hotel!

We normally ate breakfast within 30 minutes of the buffet closing...it was very busy and crowded...probably should have been eating earlier!

Room Tip: The elevators can get crazy, so a room on a lower floor would allow use of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKSeelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Ckseelye-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page! I am happy to hear you and your family had a comfortable stay with us. Breakfast can get busy, especially around Spring Break times, so coming down a little earlier definitely helps! We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location in River North. Plenty of bars and restaurants all around. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Gym facilities were great with great views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
walshy007-

Thank you so much for your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nice, affordable family place. Everything was clean inc parking. Free yummy breakfast & internet. Pool/hot tub ok. Too much chlorine, but with kids we wanted a pool. Courteous, helpful staff. Did not hear that much noise like some others posted. Very long walk to Shedd, we drove. Can walk to shopping and many nearby restaurants and clubs. It's like the Steakhouse district!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Trippjunk-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with your family and hope to see you all again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was here with colleagues for conference and it was a great location to other areas nearby. We were right by Bin 32, House of Blues, Rockit, and Howl at the Moon. The hotel was very nice and clean. I really liked the breakfast area, it was HUGE. Plenty of seating and plenty of options for food. We also had pretty good view from out hotel room. The only downside is you have to take two different elevators to get to your room. I wish you could have taken one up all together. The gym is very nice and we did utilize it one day. You also are not far from Mag Mile and the river! It is just an excellent location for many things to do and you can walk basically anywhere or take a taxi/train.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyouneedistara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Tvirgil-

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you were able to mix business and pleasure. We hope to see you again next year for the conference.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed here twice for business trips and both times I felt comfortable, safe and well cared for. The breakfast hostess (Veronica?) was a real treat with her upbeat song and great service and personality! Rooms are good size and clean. Modern furnishings and a the complimentary breakfast does not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Joan C-

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you especially for mentioning Veronica. She is a wonderful person and a valued employee.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing