We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Springhill Suites! The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The decor and furniture was modern and sleek. The free breakfast was fantastic but crowded on the weekends. The only bad thing was expensive parking - but that is to be expected in Chicago.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on a high floor to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starcaster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for the 4-Star review! I'm very happy to see you enjoyed your stay!

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    344
    85
    23
    18
See reviews for
319
149
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I used to stay at the Springhill frequently for work and the rooms were great but this hotel is definitely starting to show its age. The rooms and lobby are in serious need of an upgrade. The front desk staff is very friendly and they have chupa chups which makes it all worth it.

Room Tip: Hotel is in downtown Chicago so you're going to want a room that's higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherita711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry you feel our hotel is getting old and outdated. I truly believe our SpringHill Suites has a very modern and clean looking room and lobby. Being a 5 year old hotel, our team does a great job of keepinng the condition of the hotel looking new as much as possible. We also take pride in being the cleanest hotel in downtown Chicago. I truly hope you enjoyed your stay and would like to see you again on your next business trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed here over four day weekend with friends. Great location. Easy walking distance to all the major sights. Staff helpful. Comfortable and friendly. I don't know what else I can say to add some more characters...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank annacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for the very nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
339 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We are Marriott members and needed to be in this location so we used our points to get a King Studio for one night. The rates that night hovered around $200 which is expensive considering this is a lower class of property within the Marriott chain.

Service was friendly and accommodating. The room, technically, should not be called a studio as it is the size of a standard hotel room. The small 1/2 room divider between the desk/sofa and bed, is designed to create an illusion of two separate spaces but in the end it is just one room. The fridge and microwave with wet bar was a plus. Everything was very clean and fresh, but again, it didn't take much to remind you that you are indeed staying at a budget property. The towels were quite thin, decor was non-existant, and the bathroom was pretty bare bones.

We prefer just a shower, so this was a plus for us but those seeking a tub may need to make additional inquiries. The location was great....there was the Loop, State Street shopping and Millenium Park to the South, and Gold Coast & Magnificant Mile to the East and North. Of course, the neighborhood that the property is located "River North" had plenty of restaurants and stores for your convenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llpupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Being a part of the Marriott Rewards program truly is a bonus when staying in downtown locations. Using points for free nights is always a plus. I'm glad you found your room very clean. The River North location truly is an ideal location as we are within steps of great restaurants, bars, & city attractions! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

For a business trip, this was adequate. The room was comfortable with plenty of soft linens, but the room had a sterile kind of feeling with a "modern" space age look, which included lots of glass and chrome. For a stay any longer than 3 or 4 days I'd suggest going to someplace that offers more of a home like flair. My bed was comfortable, but the box spring was in serious need of being replaced or rotated because everytime I moved, a spring would pop or groan. Wi-Fi worked great, which is unusual for a hotel. However, on the downside, my room didn't get very good cell reception so I found myself frequently making calls with my nose up against the 4 x 6 window or in the lobby. Consequently I after 4 days, I knew most of the desk staff by name. The business center offer little to no privacy and is located in the lobby and most of the time the computers were down for maintenance. Overall, everyone from concierge to room service was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: get a room with a view, which will also give better cell reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star revfew! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The SpringHill Suites brand is part of Marriott's Modern Essentials collection and offers 25% more room than your typical hotel room and is designed to have a modern feel. I'm sorry the bed wasn't that comfortable. I will inform my engineer of the issue you had during your stay. I'm also sorry we had one of our business center computers down during your stay. We have recently replaced this computer with a new one as of yesterday. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste Marie, On
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights while visiting Chicago. The hotel is centrally located to the many attractions that Chicago has to offer. The rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. Great shower! An excellent breakfast is offered in the price. The best part is the friendliness of the staff. They were very helpful on recommending restaurants and how to get there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunbelters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! The Chicago Downtown / River North location truly is a great place to be near everything. There is so much to do within walking distance. I personally want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our guest service and cleanliness. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in Chicago and I believe you may have noticed during your stay. Thank you agian and I hope to see you at our hotel again the next time you visit the area!

Dan Harwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 days during a convention. Great central location. Rooms were clean and staff was eager to help in any way. Close to food and walking distance to shopping. Although the clubs in the surrounding areas on a Friday and Saturday nights are loud, but fun and just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful 5-Star review! We truly have a hotel that is clean, friendly, & in a great location. Thank you agian and we hope you choose us again during your next convention.

Regards,

Dan Harwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing